Owl: Linking to Rod Library Databases

Do you add links to Rod Library research databases on your web pages? You can now use a stable user-friendly URL called Owl. The Owl URL is a local redirect that keeps you pointed to the most recent URL for the listed database. If the database URL changes, we update the Owl redirect behind the scenes, and your Owl URL continues to work requiring no change by you.

Below is an alphabetical list of databases to which Rod Library subscribes and their corresponding Owl URLs. New entries are added occasionally so be sure to check back. Please submit problems with the list or URLs to the Web Coordinator.

DatabaseOwl URL
ABC-CLIO American Historyhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/abc-clio-american-history
ABC-CLIO World Geographyhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/abc-clio-world-geography
ABI/INFORM Archive (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/abi-inform-archive
ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/abi-inform-complete
Abstracts in Anthropology (MetaPress)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/abstracts-anthropology
Academic OneFile (Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/academic-onefile
Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/academic-search-elite
ACM Digital Libraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/acm-digital-library
ACS Publicationshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/acs-publications
AEA267 Media Center Cataloghttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/aea267-media-center
AGRICOLA (National Agricultural Library)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/agricola
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicalshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/air-university-military-periodic
America: History and Life (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/america-history-life
AMS Journals (American Mathematical Society)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ams-journals
Annee Philologiquehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/annee-philologique
Annual Reviewshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/annual-reviews
APS PROLA (American Physical Society)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/aps-prola
ARBA Online (Libraries Unlimited)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/arba-online
Art Full Text (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/art-full-text
ARTstorhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/artstor
arXiv (Cornell University Library)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/arxiv
ASEE Conference Proceedingshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/asee-conference-proceedings
ATLA with ATLASerials (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/atla-atlaserials
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Thomson Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/biography-genealogy-master-index
Biography in Context (Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/biography-in-context
Biography Resource Center (Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/biography-resource-center
Biological Abstracts (Thomson Reuters)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/biological-abstracts
BNA Tax and Accounting Centerhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/bna-tax-accounting-center
BooksInPrint.com Professional (Bowker)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/booksinprint-professional
Britannica Onlinehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/britannica-online
Britannica Online School Edition PreK-12http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/britannica-online-school-edition
Business Insights: Essential (Gale Cengage)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/business-Insights-essential
Business Insights: Global (Gale Cengage)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/business-insights-global
Business Knowledge Research (Conference Board)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/business-knowledge-research
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/business-source-complete
Business Source Elite (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/business-source-elite
Cambridge Journals Online (Cambridge University Press)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/cambridge-journals-online
Children's Core Collection (Wilson)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/childrens-core-collection
Children's Literature Comprehensive Databasehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/childrens-literature-comprehensive
Children's Technology Review (Active Learning)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/childrens-technology-review
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online (Columbia Universityhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/columbia-international-affairs
CINAHL (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/cinahl
Classification Web (Library of Congress)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/classification-web
ComDisDome (CSA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/comdisdome
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/communication-mass-media-complete
Computer Science Index (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/computer-science-index
Corporate ResourceNet (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/corporate-resourcenet
CQ Global Researcherhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/cq-global-researcher
CQ Researcherhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/cq-researcher
Criminal Justice (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/criminal-justice
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/criminals-justice-abstracts
Criminal Justice Periodicals (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/criminals-justice-periodicals
Des Moines Register (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/des-moines-register
Des Moines Register Index (University of Northern Iowa)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/des-moines-register-index
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Onlinehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/dictionary-of-literary-biography-complete
Directory of Open Access Journalshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/directory-open-access-journals
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Northern Iowa (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/dissertations-theses-uni
Dissertations & Theses: A&I (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/dissertations-theses-ai
ebraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ebrary
EBSCO Databaseshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ebsco-databases
EBSCOhost eBook Collectionhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ebscohost-ebook-collection
EconLit (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/econlit
Education Full Text (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/education-full-text
Education Index Retrospective (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/education-index-retrospective
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/educational-administation-abstracts
eHRAF World Cultureshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ehraf-world-cultures
Engineering Village 2 (Elsevier)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/engineering-village-2
ERIC (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/eric-ebsco
ERIC (U.S. Dept. of Education)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/eric-dept-education
ESG Manager on Campushttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/esg-manager
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ethnic-newswatch
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/family-society-studies-worldwide
FDsys (GPO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/fdsys-gpo
Fed in Print (Federal Reserve Bank of San Francisco)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/fed-print
Foundation Directory Online Professional (Foundation Center)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/foundation-directory-online
Gale Databaseshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/gale-databases
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Thomson Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/gale-virtual-reference-library
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/gender-studies-database
Google Bookshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/google-books
Google Scholarhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/google-scholar
GrantSearch (Grants Resource Center)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/grantsearch
GreenFILE (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/greenfile
Handbook of Latin American Studies (Library of Congress)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/handbook-latin-american-studies
HathiTrust Digital Libraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/hathitrust-digital-library
Health Source: Consumer (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/health-source-consumer
Health Source: Nursing/Academic (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/health-source-nursing-academic
Highwire Presshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/highwire-press
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/historical-abstracts
Homeland Security Digital Library (Dept. of Homeland Security)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/homeland-security-digital-library
Hoover's Company Records (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/hoover-company-records
IBISWorld United Stateshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ibisworld-united-states
IEEE Computer Societyhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ieee-computer-society
In the First Person (Alexander Street Press)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/first-person
Index UNI (University of Northern Iowa)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/index-uni
Ingenta ConnectCompletehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ingenta-connect-complete
IntelliConnect (CCH)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/intelliconnect
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/international-index-music-periodicals
Internet Archivehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/internet-archive
IOP Electronic Journals (Institute of Physics)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/iop-electronic-journals
Iowa State Universityhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/iowa-state-university
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissancehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/gateway-middle-ages-renaissance
Journal Citation Reports (ISI)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/journal-citation-reports
JSTORhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/jstor
Kids Search (EBSCO) http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/kids-search
LearningExpress Libraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/learningexpress-library
LexisNexis Academichttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/lexisnexis-academic
LexisNexis Congressionalhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/lexisnexis-congressional
LexisNexis Statisticalhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/lexisnexis-statistical
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/library-literature-information-science
Library of Congresshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/library-congress
Library of Congress American Memoryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/library-congress-american-memory
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstractshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/library-information-science-technology
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (CSA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/linguistics-language-behavior-abstracts
Literature Criticism Online (Gale Cengage)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/literature-criticism-online
Marquis Who's Who on the Webhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/marquis-whos-who
MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/masterfile-premier
MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/mathscinet
MEDLINE (Thomson Reuters)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/medline
Melvyl (University of California system)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/melvyl
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/mental-measurements-yearbook
Mergent Onlinehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/mergent-online
MetaLib (GPO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/metalib-gpo
Middle and Junior High Core Collection (Wilson)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/middle-junior-high-core-collection
Mintel Oxygenhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/mintel-oxygen
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/mla-international-bibliography
Morningstar Investment Research Centerhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/morningstar-investment-research
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S. Dept. of Justihttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/national-criminal-justice
Naxos Music Libraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/naxosmusiclibrary
Naxos Music Library Jazzhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/naxosmusiclibraryjazz
NBER Working Papershttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/nber-working-papers
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertationshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/networked-digital-library-theses
New York Times (1851-2009): ProQuest Historical Newspapershttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/nyt-proquest-historical-newspape
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/newspaper-source-plus
NewspaperARCHIVE.comhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/newspaper-archive
Nonbook Materials Core Collection (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/nonbook-materials-core-collection
OECD Libraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/oecd-library
Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/opposing-viewpoints-context
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Critical Thinking (Gale)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/opposing-viewpoints
OWLhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/list
Oxford Art Onlinehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/oxford-art-online
Oxford English Dictionaryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/oxford-english-dictionary
Oxford Journals (Oxford University Press)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/oxford-journals
Oxford Music Onlinehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/oxford-music-online
Philanthropic Studies Indexhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/philanthropic-studies-index
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/philosophers-index
PILOTS Database (CSA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/pilots-database
PMC (National Institutes of Health)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/pmc-central
PressDisplay (NewspaperDirect)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/pressdisplay
Primary Search (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/primary-search
Project Musehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/project-muse
ProQuest Congressionalhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/proquest-congressional
ProQuest Databaseshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/proquest-databases
PsycARTICLES (APA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/psycarticles
PsychiatryOnline Journals (American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/psychiatryonline-journals
PsycINFO (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/psycinfo
Public Affairs Index (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/public-affairs-index
PubMedhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/pubmed
Readers' Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/readers-guide-retrospective
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/readers-guide-periodical-literature
ReferenceUSA (infoUSA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/referenceusa
Regional Business News (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/regional-business-news
RIA Checkpoint (Thomson)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ria-checkpoint
RILM Music Abstracts (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/rilm-music-abstracts
Rod Library Art Collection (University of Northern Iowa)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/rod-library-art-collection
Royal Society of Chemistryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/royal-society-chemistry
SAGE Journals Onlinehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/sage-journals
SciELO Citation Index (Thomson Reuters)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/scielo
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/sciencedirect
SCIRUS (Elsevier)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/scirus
Scitation (American Institute of Physics)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/scitation
Searchasaurus (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/searchasaurus
Senior High Core Collection (Wilson)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/senior-high-core-collection
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/small-business-reference-center
Social Services Abstracts (CSA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/social-services-abstracts
Social Work Abstracts (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/social-work-abstracts
Sociological Abstracts (CSA)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/sociological-abstracts
SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/sportdiscus
SpringerLinkhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/springerlink
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantagehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/standard-poors-netadvantage
STAT-USA (U.S. Dept. of Commerce)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/stat-usa
Student Research Center (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/student-research-center
TeachingBooks.nethttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/teachingbooks
Textile Technology Index (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/textile-technology-index
ThomasNet (Thomas Register)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/thomasnet
TOPICsearch (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/topicsearch
UlrichsWebhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/ulrichsweb
UNISTARhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/unistar
University of Iowahttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/university-iowa
Value Linehttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/value-line
Vocational and Career Collection (EBSCO)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/vocational-career-collection
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/wall-street-journal
Web of Science All Databases (Thomson Reuters)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/web-knowledge
Web of Science Core Collection (Thomson Reuters)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/web-science
Wiley Online Libraryhttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/wiley-online-library
Wilson Databaseshttp://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/wilson-databases
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/worldcat-oclc-firstsearch
WorldCat.org (OCLC)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/worldcat-org-oclc
Zoological Record (ISI)http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/zoological-record