For best results, click this link for accessible version
Panther ProwlerRod Library University of Northern Iowa

Databases A-Z

196 databases

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W |
Search a complete database comprising full-text business periodicals and news sources from ABI/INFORM Global, Dateline, and Trade & Industry, as well as the Wall Street Journal
Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from several hundred periodicals. Human speech, physiology, artifacts, history, environment, and social relations are described, analyzed, interpreted, and compared within the human and animal realms.
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from many leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Academic Search Elite, an EBSCO database, is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
Full text of every article ever published by ACM.
Search the journals of the American Chemical Society.
Area Education Agency 267 serves over 66,800 students in 60 public school districts and 25 non-public school districts and over 5,000 educators with services in special education, school technology, media and instructional/curriculum support.
Abstracts of social gerontology and aging-related articles, books, and reports.
Includes journal articles, book chapters, short reports, and reprints.
America: History & Life is an index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Since 1932, Annual Reviews has offered comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
The Anthropological Index to Current Periodicals in the The Anthropology Library at the British Museum (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute library).
State, regional, national, and international photographs from the Associated Press.
Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in over 390 leading English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere. The database includes trade and industrial publications, journals of professional and learned societies, and specialized subject periodicals.
This database is a bibliographic database that cites articles from several hundred periodicals published throughout the world.Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, it indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
ARTstor is a digital library of nearly one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
arXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. The contents of arXiv conform to Cornell University academic standards. arXiv is owned, operated and funded by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution. arXiv is also partially funded by the National Science Foundation.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database (ATLA). This database is a collection of major religion and theology journals selected by some of the major religion scholars in the United States. Coverage of this database dates back to 1949.
Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Major studies, short reports, and periodical articles on a variety of business topics
Business Source Elite provides full text for nearly 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.
Cambridge Journals Online is the online content delivery service for Cambridge University Press’s collection of leading journals across the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
Serving Allen College, Cedar Falls Public Library, Hawkeye Community College, University of Northern Iowa, Wartburg College, and Waterloo Public Library.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery.
For collection development, readers’ advisory, and curriculum support. Children's Core Collection covers fiction and nonfiction works, story collections, picture books, graphic novels, and magazines recommended for readers in preschool through sixth grade. Professional literature for the children's librarian, both periodicals and books, is also covered. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The catalog also includes an annotated list of recommended web resources for children and professionals working with children.
Provides access to children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, including selected reviews.
Contact Reference Desk for password. Subject index to more than 65 magazines for elementary and middle school students and carefully selected Web sites.
Contact Reference Desk for password. Provides reviews, ratings, and order information for over 5,000 currently available interactive children's media titles (CD-ROMs, videogames, children's Internet sites, and smart toys - toys with interactive electronic capabilities).
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is a comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also a source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
Gain access to informative health literature with CINAHL, the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, this database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains: Indexing for over 1,200 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982. Over 250,000 records. Abstracts for over 250 journals, including over 450 author-supplied abstracts. Indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Internal subject thesaurus with over 7,000 terms—2,000 unique to CINAHL.
The ComAbstracts database contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.
Searches for books, journals, dissertations, scholars, institutions, and web resources in the area of communication disorders. Also includes information about professional societies and conferences.
Computer Science Index (formerly Computer Literature Index) offers abstracting and indexing of academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources at the highest scholarly and technical levels of computer science. The collection covers more than 670 periodicals and books, with coverage going back to the mid 1960s.
Modeled after CQ Researcher, CQ Global Researcher provides students with in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad." By exposing students to a wide range of viewpoints CQ Global Researcher provides a comprehensive snapshot of today's most pressing issues.
The CQ Researcher is a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
Criminal Justice Abstracts, the criminology database from SAGE Publications, contains comprehensive coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines.
Search a comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from core journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.This is the up-to-date CIS database.
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from core journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources.The Legacy database is updated through 2003.
Index of the Des Moines Register created by the University of Northern Iowa
Search journal articles at the 'one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals'.
Contains citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses submitted by the University of Northern Iowa and published in UMI's Dissertation abstracts database; UNI users may download the full text of the dissertations from 1996 forward.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
The American Economic Association's electronic database, this is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature. EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. It provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press. These sources bring the total records available on the database to more than 825,000. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for nearly 250 journals indexed in EconLit (at no additional charge). Users of EconLit will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database
Education Full Text brings you coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks.
Education Index Retrospective provides a vast record of important education literature in a format easily searchable for your patrons, with indexing of more than 800 periodicals and yearbooks. Find information on societal trends affecting education, for example segregation, multiculturalism, feminism, economic developments, and more.
A powerful business research tool that provides critical information when it is most needed. Users have instant access to over 35,000 full text articles from Emerald's international management portfolio, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans a spectrum of management disciplines including: strategy; leadership; library and information management; marketing and human resource management; plus a substantial number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
Compendex is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world with over 9 million records referencing 5,000 engineering journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
Gain immediate access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index with ERIC.
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources.
A comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
A database of reference information for elementary and middle school students, parents, and educators.
Provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present, indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history and social work. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides public access to Government information submitted by Congress and Federal agencies and preserved as technology changes. This advanced digital system will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government.
Federal Reserve System economic research.
This database contains over 400,000 article citations from more than 330 periodicals. It offers in-depth coverage of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library's powerful delivery platform puts your reference content into circulation. Researchers will have the power to Search and share results, Create mark lists, Track research through search history, Share articles using InfoTrac InfoMarks® and more.
Gender Studies Database combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Gender Studies Database covers gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Gale Group database for research in all academic disciplines. Combines indexing, abstracts, full text and images.
Bibliographic references to important journals in the fields of physical and human geography, geology, mineralogy, ecology and development studies.
GeoRef is a comprehensive database in the geosciences and grows by more than 70,000 references a year.The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
A consumer-health database.
This resource provides more than 580 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Clinical Nursing Research, Creative Nursing, Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child + Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Family Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Journal of the Society of Pediatric Nurses, Nurse Practitioner, Nursing, Nursing Diagnosis, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, Nursing Management, Patient Care for the Nurse Practitioner, Western Journal of Nursing Research, and many more.
HighWire's approach to online publishing of scholarly journals is not simply to mount electronic images of printed pages; rather, by adding links among authors, articles and citations, advanced searching capabilities, high-resolution images and multimedia, and interactivity, the electronic versions provide added dimensions to the information provided in the printed journals.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
The History Cooperative is a pioneering nonprofit humanities resource offering top-level online history scholarship.
The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies. Resources are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and subject-matter specialists.
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering public and non-public companies and key executives.
Searches holdings of CARLI, a consortium of 76 Illinois academic and research libraries.
Provides industry and market research reports for numerous markets.
The IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading organization of computer professionals. Founded in 1946, it is the largest of IEEE societies. The IEEE Computer Society's vision is to be the leading provider of technical information, community services, and personalized services to the world's computing professionals.
In the First Person is a free index of close to 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories.
Indexes publications by and about UNI.
ingentaconnect.com is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers.
Current and archival tax research material.
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (IIMPFT) is an outstanding resource for music periodicals available on the web. It enables you to find articles on a comprehensive variety of subjects about music from a wide range of scholarship.
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) is a dynamic resource for the performing arts that provides indexing and abstracts for more than 210 international journals.
Search electronic journal articles from the Institute of Physics.
Enables researchers in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) to access citations in journal, book, and reviews databases.
JSTOR   more information searchable by UNI Xerxes
JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.
Federated search of European and North American national libraries as well as German universities.
An elementary/middle school interface that searches across six databases (Middle Search Plus, Primary Search, Newspaper Source, TOPICsearch, Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, and EBSCO Animals. Also features a dictionary and image search.
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Some full text articles available online.
Legislation.
Statistical Information in multiple disciplines.
Indexes articles and book reviews in more than 400 key library and information science periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included as far back as 1997. Books, chapters in collected works such as conference proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed.
The Library of Congress Online Catalog is a database of books, serials, computer files, manuscripts, cartographic materials, music, sound recordings, and visual materials in the Library's collections.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts provides full text of journal articles and indexing of books, research reports and conference proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic publishing. LISTA with Full Text coverage extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
The definitive database on the nature and use of language, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts covers three fundamental areas: research in linguistics (the nature and structure of human speech); research in language.
This comprehensive database, designed specifically for high school libraries, contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines including America's Civil War, American Heritage, American History, American Visions, Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers + Colleges, Civil War Times Illustrated, CQ Weekly, Discover, Economist, History Today, Nation, National Review, New Republic, New Scientist, Popular Science, Science News, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II, etc. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for 88,000 biographies and 60,000 primary source documents. Additionally, MAS Ultra (School Edition) contains more than 540 pamphlets, nearly 150 reference books (including the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book and World Almanac + Book of Facts), an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps + flags, color PDF and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes: Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week. Full text dating as far back as January 1990 abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984. Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews. Essential Documents in American History—a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature of the past 61 years. It provides Web access to reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Review and Current Mathematical Publications. It provides links to original articles and free access to Featured Reviews.
A searchable catalog of library materials from the 10 UC campuses, the California State Library, the California Academy of Sciences, the California Historical Society, the Center for Research Libraries, the Giannini Foundation of Agricultural Economics Library, the Graduate Theological Union, the Hastings College of the Law Library, and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Library.
Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. All MMY entries contain descriptive information (e.g., test purpose, publisher, pricing) and edited review(s) written by leading content area experts.
For libraries serving readers in grades five through nine, Middle and Junior High Core Collection, provides indispensable help with collection development and maintenance, curriculum support, readers' advisory, and general reference. You will find thousands of entries for nonfiction works, fiction, and collections for children and adolescents, plus review sources and other professional aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The Catalog also includes entries for recommended electronic resources.
Middle Search Plus, designed specifically for middle school libraries, contains full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets. Additionally, Middle Search Plus contains primary source documents including Essential Documents in American History, reference books including the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia and American Heritageョ Dictionary, 4th Edition from Houghton Mifflin, the Encyclopedia of Animals and an Image Collection.
Provides market research reports for numerous goods and services.
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects consist of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
A consortium of Missouri academic libraries.
Morningstar Investment Research Center combines stock, fund, industry and ETF information necessary for in-depth research and smart portfolio construction. It includes screening and report building tools and extensive help and education materials.
Indexes articles in music.
Indexes articles in criminal justice, law enforcement, and corrections.
NetLibrary is an eContent service, provided by OCLC, that supports content from leading publishers, many types of media — including eBooks and eAudiobooks — and many types of libraries.
This version of The New York Times includes full-text and full-image articles since its beginning year. Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are available in downloadable PDF files. In addition to news stories, the database includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. It is possible to display the complete image of any page in any issue or even browse individual issues page by page.
This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more.
A consortium of Ohio academic libraries.
A full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues, from Terrorism to Endangered Species, Stem Cell Research to Gun Control. Drawing on the series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center brings together information that’s needed to understand an issue: pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, full-text magazines, academic journals, and newspapers, primary source documents, government and organizational statistics, multimedia, including images and podcasts, links to hand-selected web sites, and more.
Oxford Art Online offers users the ability to access and search the content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location.Oxford Art Online's search and browse capabilities allow users to refine their results by source and subject categories. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. This functionality allows users greater access to the more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 5,000 images contained within Grove Art Online. Thematic timelines and learning resources also provide users with powerful tools for navigating the content, and context-sensitive help pages are available throughout the site to guide users through the features and functionality.
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Search journals published by Oxford University Press.
Oxford Music Online offers users the ability to access and cross-search the resources of Oxford's music reference in one location. The cornerstone of Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Online, has been completely redesigned with a number of functional enhancements and new content.Oxford Music Online also features Colin Larkin's Encyclopedia of Popular Music — online for the first time. A comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, the Encyclopedia is a biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present.Search and browse capabilities allow users to refine their results by source, and specific era or subject category. Users can also choose to view biographies, subject entries, or images when searching or browsing. Advanced search capabilities, including biography and bibliography searching, provide users with tools for content navigation. Product-specific timelines and topical guides provide users with pathways into the content.
The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
The Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. Records cite journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews. Nearly 570 journals are cited, from 43 countries, in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, Czech, Hungarian, Polish and many other languages. Topics covered include: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
The PILOTS bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Access to full text of over 400 newspapers from 68 countries in 37 languages.
Primary Search contains full text for more than 50 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for over 100 student pamphlets. Additionally, Primary Search includes the Encyclopedia of Animals, and features the Funk + Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, which provides students with easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids. This database also provides the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, 3rd Edition from Houghton Mifflin, and an Image Collection of 91,000 photos, maps and flags.
The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children's health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice.
Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. MUSE began in 1993 as a pioneering joint project of the Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at JHU. Grants from the Mellon Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities allowed MUSE to go live with JHU Press journals in 1995. Journals from other publishers were first incorporated in 2000, with additional university press and scholarly society publishers joining in each subsequent year.
APA's Full-text Journal Articles Database.
Search for articles in the journals published by American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
This database contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Journal coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35 languages.
PubMed was developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). It was developed in conjunction with publishers of biomedical literature as a search tool for accessing literature citations and linking to full-text journals at web sites of participating publishers.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada.
Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
The ReferenceUSA database contains, in module format, detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses and 210 million U.S. residents
Regional Business News provides comprehensive full text for regional business publications (including titles from Crain Communications). This database has full text for more than 50 sources.
Current and archival tax research material.
The database covers musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, analysis, composition, instruments and voice, performance practice and notation, liturgy, dance, aesthetics, criticism, music therapy and education, and iconography. Abstracts are drawn from articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews.
Contains information for all of the two-dimensional and many of the three-dimensional pieces in the library. Some pieces belong to the library; the majority belong to the Permanent Art Collection or the Art Gallery.
Search RSC journals, including the flagship journal Chemical Communications.
Search SAGE journal articles.
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Scirus is the most comprehensive science-specific search engine available on the Internet. Driven by the latest search engine technology, it enables scientists, students and anyone searching for scientific information to chart and pinpoint data, locate university sites and find reports and articles quickly and easily. It was launched by Elsevier Science, the leading international publisher of scientific information.
Scitation is the relaunch of the Online Journal Publishing Service (OJPS), a leader in online sci tech publishing and journal hosting since 1996. The name "Scitation" was chosen because it more accurately describes the platform's services to the scholarly community. Scitation includes links to many rich sources of information, including ISI's Web of Science, MEDLINE, Chemport/Chemical Abstracts Service, SPIN database, INSPEC, EDP Sciences, X ArkiV, SLAC SPIRES, and other Scitation journals, among others.
An animated interface with a dinosaur theme for three elementary and middle school databases (Middle Search Plus, Encyclopedia of Animals, and Primary Search), a general encyclopedia, a dictionary, and pictures.
This selective list of books recommended for young people in grades 9 through 12 is invaluable for collection development and maintenance, reader's advisory, and curriculum support in the high school library. More than 40,500 entries in the WilsonWeb online version and over 6,200 works in the print format for fiction and nonfiction works, as well as recommended CD-ROMs, offer an abundance of choices, including listings of review sources and other aids for librarians and school media specialists. Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available.
Iowa's Union Catalog.
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Social Work Abstracts offers coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW), the database provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Includes scholarly and professional perspectives on subjects such as therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD comprises 20 Book collections by theme, containing all our monographs and reports; 24 periodicals; a reference title; and the OECD statistical databases.
This database offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. With full bibliographic coverage, monographs dating back to 1949, and journal coverage to 1975, this database contains over 565,000 records and over 200,000 dissertations and theses. The content also consists of multidisciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre. Premier Package customers will have instant access to full text for nearly 300 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus (at no additional charge). Users of SPORTDiscus will be excited to learn that this is now a "full text database".
Provides students in secondary schools with appropriate research tools for obtaining the information that they seek, according to their needs and search abilities.
Provides study guides and interactive online practice tests for college entrance examinations (such as the GRE, GMAT, MCAT, LSAT, and MAT) and for various licensing examinations such as Praxis and law enforcement exams.Providing information from the Peterson's college guides, Testing & Education Reference Center will also help you find information on graduate and professional programs, distance education, financial aid, and detailed information on colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.
Gateway to Europe's National Libraries.
Provides directories of companies by product or service and location.
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
MNCAT - Library catalog of the University of Minnesota System.
MADCAT - Searches one of the largest library systems in the United States, with collections distributed across 50 libraries.
Designed for vocational and technical libraries servicing high schools, community colleges, trade institutions and the general public. This collection provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Waverly Public Library:Your Electronic Library on the Web
Wiley InterScience is a leading international resource for quality content promoting discovery across the spectrum of scientific, technical, medical and professional endeavors. Wiley InterScience reaches a worldwide audience of close to 25 million users in 87 countries and features must-have content from more than 2,500 journals, books, reference works, databases, laboratory manuals and The Cochrane Library, which is the world's best-known resource for evidence-based medicine.
OCLC WorldCat database is the OCLC online catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings.
WorldCat is the largest library network in the world. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their free resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. WorldCat's coverage is both deep and wide. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. You can also link to many new kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks you can listen to on many portable MP3 players. You may additionally find authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; abstracts and full-text articles; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.

Contact Rod Library Web Coordinator to report problems.