Anthropology library users guide

Anthropology
Library User's Guide

Table of Contents

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Biographical Sources
Atlases
Reviews and Current Literature
Finding Articles (Indexes and Abstracts)
Representative Journals
Finding Books (UNISTAR)
Anthropological Literature Guides
Handbooks and Guides
Government Sources
Bibliographies
Web Sources for Anthropology and Archaeology
Professional/Career Sources

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land
UNI Reference DS 111 A2N38 1986
"complete listing of archaeological sites in the Holy Land (Israel, Palestine, and Jordan)."  800 entries of varying length "arranged alphabetically by the name of the site or subject..."

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology
UNI Reference CC 165 .C3 1980b
Arranged by topic.  Includes references.

Countries and Their Cultures
UNI Reference GN 307 .C68 2001
This source has 225 entries organized by country and covers major issues, history, and social structure."...based on the collection of ethnographic information known as the Human Relations Area Files based at Yale University." 

The Dictionary of Anthropology
UNI Reference GN 307 D485 1997
"...analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories, and methodologies."  Includes cross references and a cumulative bibliography.

Dictionary of Anthropology
UNI Reference GN 11 D48 1986
Short articles.  Includes biographies of some 20th century anthropologists.

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology
UNI Reference GN 307 W57 1991
Lengthy articles with extensive bibliographies.

Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology; Including...Anthropology...
 UNI Reference B41 B3 1901
A composite dictionary and encyclopedia made up of vocabularies, definitions of terms, essays and articles.  Includes anthropology topics.

A Dictionary of Terms and Techniques in Archaeology
UNI Reference CC 70 .C48 1980b
A pocket guide aimed at laymen.

Encyclopedia of Anthropology (1976)
UNI Stacks GN 11 .E52
Short articles on basic information.  Includes some bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
UNI Reference GN 307 E52 1996 (4 volumes)
Emphasizes "the cross-cultural perspective, holistic approach, and practice of fieldwork that demark cultural anthropology." Includes "biological anthropology, and linguistics..."

Encyclopedia of Evolution: Humanity's Search for Its Origins
UNI Reference GN 281 .M53 1990
Concepts of evolution and human origins.  Includes discussions of relevant subjects and controversies.

Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
UNI Reference GN 281 .E53 2000
Comprehensive articles. Charts of primate classification and geologic periods.  Includes further readings and biographies.

Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
UNI Reference P 29 .E48 1994-
9 volumes alphabetically arranged by topic or name.  10th volume includes a glossary and lists of world languages.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures
UNI Reference GN 550 .E53 1991 (10 volumes)
Also: UNI Reference GN 550 .E53 Suppl. 2002 (Supplement)
Comprehensive treatment of cultures. Volumes are different geographical areas.  Includes ethnic names index.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages
UNI Stacks P 29 .C68 1992
Lengthy articles and a few biographies of major figures in this area.

Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook
UNI Reference GN 325 .L46 1998
This source describes the ethnic composition and ethnic relations of each country of the world organized alphabetically by country name within four major regions.

The Facts on File Dictionary of Archaeology
UNI Reference CC 70 .F32 1983
Basic source which includes extensive subject coverage of sites, cultures and biographies.

Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
UNI Reference E 184 .G14 2000
Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.

Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
UNI Reference E 77 .G35 1998 (4 volumes)
Nearly four hundred native groups (including the Maya and Inca) in thirteen geographic regions are covered.  Each group is represented by an article that includes historical and current issues of the tribe.

The Herder Symbol Dictionary: Symbols from Art, Archaeology, Mythology, Literature, and Religion
UNI Reference CB 475 .H4713 1986
"...guide to the meaning of symbols in religion, archaeology, mythology, art, dreams, fairy tales, and literature.."

Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology
UNI Reference E 77.9 .H57 1988
Short articles on prehistoric cultures, sites, and artifacts.  Somewhat difficult to use due to poor indexing but necessary since there are few sources in this area.

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
UNI Reference P 29 .I58 2003 (4 volumes)
This sources describes "many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts."  Includes a "large number of articles on specific languages or language families, from Akkadian to Zapotec."

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences (1968)
UNI Stacks H 41 .I58 v.1-
Includes biographies and bibliographies for further research.

Oxford Companion to Archaeology
UNI Reference CC 70 O96 1996
Covers "human fossils, historical sites, geographical areas, and the people, history, theory, and substance of archaeology."

Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East
UNI Reference DS 56 O9 1997 (5 volumes)
"...analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data ... [of] the ancient Near East."  "...covers the civilizations of Syria-Palestine, Mesopotamia, Anatolia, Iran, Arabia, Cyprus, Egypt, and the coastal regions of North and East Africa"  from prehistoric times through the early rise of Islam.

Oxford Illustrated Prehistory of Europe
UNI Reference GN 803 .O94 1994
Organized by time period.  Includes chronological tables and further readings.

A Thesaurus of British Archaeology
UNI Stacks DA 90 .A6 1982
Divided by period and research method.  British archaeology only.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Biographical Sources

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Rod Library Databases A-Z
To identify persons with biographical information in anthropological sources, click on Advanced Search form and enter the word: anthropologists in the Free Text field.  To find information on a specific anthropologist, enter that person's name in the search box on the first screen.

Biography Index
UNI Index/Abstract CT 100 B48
Library has: vol. 1 (1946)-
To identify anthropologists or archaeologists, check the index at the back of each issue for "anthropologists" or "archaeologists."  Next, look up the person of your choice in the alphabetical listing in the front of the issue.

International Dictionary of Anthropologists
UNI Reference GN 20 .I5 1991
725 biographies of persons born before 1920.  Length of articles vary but includes a list of subject's major works.

Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary
UNI Stacks GN 20 .W63 1988
20th century anthropologists.

For additional sources of biographical information, please see: Library User's Guide - Biography.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Atlases

Archaeological Atlas of the World
UNI Map Ref GN 1046 .E15W5 1975
Useful for finding specific site locations.

Atlas of Ancient America
UNI Oversize E 61 .A88 1986
Divided by region.  Includes bibliography and gazetteer.

Atlas of Ancient Archaeology
UNI Stacks GN 739 .H38 1974
Basic guide to locating sites.

Atlas of Classical Archaeology
UNI Map Ref G 1046 .E15A8 1977
Divided by region.  Includes descriptions of major cities of antiquity, a list of Roman emperors and some illustrations of Greek architectural types.

Atlas of Early Man
UNI Reference CB 311 .H35 1976
Sites and locations of early man with short descriptions of culture.  Includes North America.

Atlas of the North American Indian
UNI Map Ref E 77 .W195 2000 (rev. ed.)
Organized by subject and includes many illustrations and maps, lists of tribes, reservations, place names, and archaeological sites.

Atlas of World Cultures : A Geographical Guide to Ethnographic Literature
UNI Map Ref G 1046 .E1P7 1989
"
forty-one maps that physically locate for the researcher more than 3500 groups, tribes or peoples."  Includes a comprehensive index and a large bibliography for additional study.

Past Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology
UNI Map Ref G 1046 .E15P3 1988
More of a general overview.  "...from human origins to the beginning of the industrial age."

World Atlas of Archaeology
UNI Stacks GN 1046 .E15W6 1985
Long articles arranged by region, subdivided by subjects.  Covers early humans through historical times. Many illustrations, color pictures and excellent maps.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Reviews and Current Literature

Annual Review of Anthropology
UNI Internet (via Annual Reviews)
Also: UNI Stacks GN 1 .A623
Library has: vol. 1-
Topics and problems of current interest and recent publications.

Canadian Review of Sociology and Anthropology
UNI Internet (via Academic OneFile)
Indexes Canadian journals in the area of humanities, the social sciences, arts and culture.

Reviews in Anthropology
UNI Period A 5111 .R47
Library has: 1974-1994
Critical reviews of books with responses by authors.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Finding Articles (Indexes and Abstracts)

Information about topics in Anthropology can be found in a number of scholarly journals and magazines.  To identify articles on Anthropology, consult the following indexes and abstracts.   To search those available through the Rod Library web page select the desired index or abstract title from the Databases A-Z listing under Journal and Magazine Articles (Panther Prowler).

Abstracts in Anthropology
UNI Index/Abstract GN 1 .A15
Library has: 1972-
Divisions include archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and physical anthropology.  With author and title indexes.

Anthropological Index Online
Rod Library Databases A-Z
1960s-
An Index to current periodicals in the the Anthropology Library at the British Museum.

Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts
UNI A/M Index AM 1 .A1
Library has: 1966-2000
Includes such technical aspects as dating techniques, chemical analysis, conservation, and preservation.

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology
UNI Reference Z 7161 .I593
Library has: v.1-
Primarily socio-cultural anthropology. Publication of this index is several years behind.

America, History and Life
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Covers literature on archaeology, anthropology, Native Americans, paleontology, and ethnology.

Art Index
UNI A/M Index  N 1 .A4355
Library has: v.1 -v.43 (1929-1995)
Covers literature on museums and the art of cultures around the world.

Biological Abstracts
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Covers archaeozoology, human evolution, primatology, and anthropometry.

ComAbstracts
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Linguistic anthropology.

Dissertations & Theses (Dissertation Abstracts via ProQuest)
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Includes citations and abstracts for dissertations and master's theses, many with 24 page previews. Keyword and subject searching available.

Ethnic NewsWatch (via ProQuest)
Rod Library Databases A-Z
"...newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press..."

Academic OneFile
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Basic coverage of anthropology.

Gender Studies Database (via BiblioLine)
Rod Library Databases A-Z
"...combines... Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues."

Humanities Index
UNI Index/Abstract AI 3 .H85
Library Has: 1974/75 - 2001/2002 (Check UNISTAR for previous index titles back to v.1 1907-)
Covers religion and folklore.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts LLBA
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Covers books, journals, and dissertations on linguistic anthropology.

MLA International Bibliography
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Covers folklore, folk literature, customs and traditions.

PubMed
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Covers anthropometry, physical anthropology, genetics, and ethnopsychology.

Social Sciences Citation Index
UNI Index/Abstract H 1 .S617 Guide
Library Has: 1979-
Extensive coverage of the social sciences.

Social Sciences Index
UNI Index/Abstract H 1 .S623
Library has: v.1- (1974/75 - 1998/99)
Covers the core literature of the social sciences.

Sociological Abstracts (1963-)
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Covers anthropology.

Return to the Table of Contents

Representative Journals

Another way to locate articles on various topics in anthropology is to browse through current issues of journals and magazines. To learn which issues the library has and their locations, consult UNISTAR.  Here are a few examples of journals available:

Archaeology
BR
Biblical Archaeological Review
Journal of Field Archaeology
Journal of Linguistic Anthropology
North American Archaeologist
Practicing Anthropology

Many more journals are available electronically. See UNISTAR.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Finding Books (UNISTAR)

Use UNISTAR, the online catalog, to identify and locate books and other resources about anthropology or archaeology. To ensure that you use the right subject terms when you search UNISTAR, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings books which are located at the Reference Desk.  A wide range of subject headings may be used to find information in this area. Some examples are:

Anthropological ethics Ethnology Human Geography
Anthropological Linguistics Excavations Archaeology Language and Languages
Anthropology Forensic Anthropology Physical Anthropology
Antiquities Historic Sites Prehistoric peoples
Archaeology Human Evolution Social Structure

For additional assistance in identifying appropriate subject headings, please contact the Reference Desk.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Anthropological Literature Guides

Anthropology Journals and Serials: An Analytical Guide
UNI Reference Z 5112 .W54 1986
Annotated entries for a broad range of serials.  Divided by archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and physical anthropology.  Title, subject, and geographic indexes included.

Finding the Source in Sociology and Anthropology: A Thesaurus-index to the Reference Collection
UNI Stacks Z 7164 .S68B75 1987
Arranged by subject.

Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology, (2nd ed.)
UNI Reference GN 42 .W42 1998
Relevant international resources, however, entries are not annotated.  Includes general information on conducting research in libraries.  Also includes appendices of the Library of Congress classifications and lists of major anthropological collections, Canadian and U.S.

A New Bibliography of the Literatures of Spain and Spanish America : Including Many Studies on Anthropology Archaeology, Art, Economics, Education, Geography, History, Law, Music, Philosophy and Other Subjects
UNI Stacks Z 2691 .G88 1974 (7 volumes)
Alphabetically arranged index to "Spanish and Spanish-American" literature.  1974 reprint of 1940s edition.

Sources of Information in the Social Sciences
UNI Stacks H 61 .S785 1986
Extensive list of anthropological monographs and reference works.

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Handbooks and Guides

America's Ancient Treasures: A Guide to Archaeological Sites and Museums in the United States and Canada
(3rd ed.)
UNI Stacks E 56 .F64 1983
Geographically arranged, divided by state.  Topical articles interspersed with main articles.

The Archaeology Handbook: A Field Manual and Resource Guide
UNI Reference CC 76 .M38 1991
Serves as a source for addresses for museums, field schools, state archaeology offices, and archaeological organizations.

A Field Guide for Human Skeletal Identification
UNI Stacks GN 69.8 .B46 1987
Includes tables for use in human skeletal identification

Forensic Anthropology Training Manual
UNI Stacks GN 69.8 .B87 1999
Includes training in the description and analysis of human skeletal and dental remains with a structured approach to skeletal analysis and report-writing.

Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
UNI Reference E 184 .S75H365 1993
This four volume set explores four major areas: history, anthropology, sociology, and literature and art.  A comprehensive, scholarly work written largely by U.S. Hispanics.

Linguistic Cultures of the World: a Statistical Reference
UNI Reference P 35 .P29 1997
Helpful in cross-cultural studies.

Sex and Gender Hierarchies
UNI Stacks GN 479.65 .S484 1993
Explores the diversity in sex and gender hierarchies among both human and nonhuman primates.

The Student Anthropologist's Handbook: A Guide to Research, Training, and Career
UNI Stacks GN 42 .F7
Basic guide to becoming an anthropologist.  Somewhat dated.

Thinking Anthropologically: A Practical Guide for Students
UNI Stacks GN 33 .T45 2004
"Focuses on nine themes that are at the heart of anthropology."

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Government Sources

Handbook of North American Indians
UNI Documents SI 1.20/2:
Library has:  vols. 4 -12, 13,15, 17
Each volume covers a different group or topic.  Volume 13 covers the Plains and volume 17 covers Languages.

Smithsonian Institution Contribution and Studies Series
You may do a keyword, title, or author search for your topic among such publications as Smithsonian Contributions to Anthropology (UNI Documents SI 1.33:) 1965–present.  [UNI holdings are not complete for this title.]

Smithsonian anthropological journals
Do a Journal Title search in UNISTAR to see if a title listed here is available in Rod Library.

List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology
This site contains keyword searchable title lists of the following four titles:

Annual report of the Bureau of American Ethnology to the Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution
UNI Documents SI 1.2:
Library has: reports 1879-1963
You may do a keyword search of the titles included in report 1 (1879-80) through report 47 (1929-30) by selecting Annual Reports and then searching the titles using the "Find" option on the "Edit" menu of your browser.  Note: see title Smithsonian Year SI 1.1: for years 1965-76.

Bulletin (Smithsonian Institution Bureau of American Ethnology)
UNI Documents SI 2.3: 
Library has: Bulletins 1-200
You may do a keyword search of the titles included in bulletin 1 through bulletin 200 by selecting Bulletins and then searching the titles using the "Find" option on the "Edit" menu of your browser.

Contributions to North American Ethnology
UNI Documents I 17.5:
Library has: numbers 1-10
You may do a keyword search of the titles included in volumes 1 (1877) through  volume 9 (1893) by selecting  Contributions to North American Ethnology and then searching the titles using the "Find" option on the "Edit" menu of your browser.

Publications of the Institute of Social Anthropology
UNI Documents SI 1.16:
Library has: vols. 1-2, 5-6, 9-13, 15-16.
Each volume covers a different group or topic.

Note: The above four Smithsonian Institution ethnology publications may be found in two ways.  If you know an author or title, please consult the List of Publications of the Bureau of American Ethnology (U.S. Documents SI 2.5:961). This index covers the beginning to 1961. After locating your desired report by author or title, you will find the corresponding volume number of one of the series titles (listed above) to look in to find that report.  If you do not have a specific author or title, you may check by subject in the Cumulative Subject Index to the Monthly Catalog...1900-1971 (UNI Index/Abstract Z 1223 .A18 1900-71 Index).  This will refer you to the Monthly Catalog (UNI Index/Abstract A 1223 .A18) which will give you the appropriate volume number of the series title containing the report you wish to find.  If the report you are looking for is more recent than 1961, try to find it in UNISTAR or consult a reference librarian.  For reports older than 1900 for which only the subject is known, see a  reference librarian.

 

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Bibliographies

Body Composition in Biological Anthropology
UNI Stacks GN 66 .S46 1991
From a evolutionary perspective.  Sizable list of bibliographical references on pp. 257-339.

Films for Anthropological Teaching
UNI Stacks GN 42.3 .Z9H44 1995
Films for classroom use indexed by geographical area, subject, distributor, and persons.

The History of Anthropology: A Research Bibliography
UNI Stacks Z 5111 .K44
Helpful for beginning researchers in anthropological history.

International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology
UNI Reference Z 7161 .I593 (Library has: vol. 1-43)  Title changed to:
International Bibliography of Anthropology UNI  Z 7161 .I593 (Library has: vol 44-)
Annual index to monographs, periodical articles, and pamphlets.

Anthropological Bibliographies: A Selected Guide
UNI Stacks Z 5111 .A58
A guide to 3, 200 bibliographies, filmographies, and discographies in the area of anthropology.

Masters' Theses in Anthropology: A Bibliography of Theses from United States Colleges and Universities
UNI Reference Z 5111 .M2
Lists 3,700 theses is anthropology 1898-1975.

Sociology, Anthropology, and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of World Bank Publications, 1975-1993
Rod Library Databases A-Z  (select NetLibrary) This is an electronic book available through NetLibrary.
"..annotated inventory of publications ... of the noneconomic social science work done at the World Bank."

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Anthropological Theory / Philosophy

Anthropological Theory in North America
UNI Stacks GN 33 .A444 1999
"...documents the critical issues now being debated within the discipline..."

Anthropology : Theoretical Practice in Culture and Society
UNI Stacks GN 345 .H47 2001
"...
a collaborative, international project sponsored by UNESCO to offer an overview of social and cultural anthropology."

Anthropos Today: Reflections on Modern Equipment
UNI Stacks GN 33 .R25 2003
The author has assembled a set of conceptual tools--"modern equipment"--to assess how intellectual work is currently conducted and how it might change (in the area of anthropology).

A HIstory of Anthropological Theory
UNI Stacks GN 33 .E74 2003
The 20th century is the main focus, however, earlier periods are covered.  American, British and French "anthropological traditions" are covered.

An Introduction to Theory in Anthropology
UNI Stacks GN 33 .L37 1997
Aimed at undergraduates, this source offers an "analysis of the key theories, past and present, and traces the way in which they have been translated into anthropological debates."

Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts
UNI Reference GN 316 .R37 2000
A good introduction, defining and discussing anthropology's central terms.  Concepts included are: "cybernetics, ecriture, feminine, gossip, human rights, moralities, stereotypes, thick description and violence."

Visions of Culture : An Introduction to Anthropological Theories and Theorists
UNI Stacks GN 33 .M587 2004
"Key ideas of 21 major theorists are briefly described and linked to biographical and fieldwork experiences that helped shape those theories."

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Web Sources for Anthropology and Archaeology

General Anthropology Links on the Internet - (AAA)

Current News - Department of Anthropology, Texas A&M University

intute: social sciences - Anthropology - University of Birmingham

WWW Virtual Library: Anthropology

Yahoo Search Directory: Anthropology and Archaeology

Return to the Table of Contents
 

Professional/Career Sources

AAA Guide [American Anthropological Association]
UNI Reference GN 43 .A2G84 2003/04
Serves as guide to departments of anthropology.  Includes AAA membership directory.  Good for finding names, addresses, and statistics.

AAA Code of Ethics
American Anthropological Association

American Anthropological Association

National Association for the Practice of Anthropology (NAPA)

Society for Applied Anthropology (SFAA)

Society for Medical Anthropology (SMA)

Anthropology in Practice: Building a Career Outside the Academy
UNI Career GN 397.5 .N63 2003

Careers in Anthropology (AAA)

Great Jobs for Anthropology Majors
UNI Career GN 41.8 .C35 2000

Return to the Table of Contents

Library |  MyUNIverse |  Calendar |  Email |  WebCT |  My Library |  Contact Us |  Site Index |  UNI
Copyright © 1997-2008 Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, 1227 W. 27th St., Cedar Falls, IA 50613-3675
Tel. (319) 273-2838 | FAX (319) 273-2913 | TTY (319) 273-7299
http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/guides/anthropology.shtml
Last updated: Monday, Aug 18, 2008

Last revised: 04 March 2008 CK