Marketing
Subject Guide
 


C o n t e n t s 
Finding Books Consumer Behavior, Attitudes, Scales
Representative Journals Market Research Reports
Finding Articles and Government Publications Market Shares
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias Advertising & Media 
Directories University of Northern Iowa
Market Data  

The sources on this guide are a sample of important print and online marketing resources. They include books at Rod Library, online sources to which Rod Library subscribes (marked with *), and other Web sources which at this time are free or partially free. Call numbers are listed under the titles of print sources available at the library. Underlined titles can be accessed via the Web. If accessing a Rod Library subscription database from off campus, you will be prompted for your last name and UNI  ID number.

Other Library User Guides go into more detail on finding information on topics such as accounting, companies, economics, finance, financial ratios, industries, international business, and management.

Some of the databases on this guide also are available through the Rod Library Business Portal.


FINDING BOOKS  top

Use UNISTAR, the Rod Library online catalog, to identify books and other resources on the various aspects of marketing.  A wide range of subject headings can be used to find information about the various topics covered in UNI marketing courses. Here are examples of relevant  headings to try in the UNISTAR Subject index:

advertising campaigns export marketing retail trade management
consumer satisfaction evaluation marketing channels sales personnel
cross cultural orientation new products management service industries marketing
database marketing pricing target marketing


Another approach is to use the UNISTAR Keywords index to look for terms which may occur in titles and contents notes as well as in subject headings. For example, this search - (advertising or promotion) and objective*  - retrieves records with the words "advertising" or "promotion" as well as words beginning with "objective." The Keywords index also is good for finding specialized or new terms that might be in titles but not in subject headings.


REPRESENTATIVE JOURNALS
 
top

The following table lists several examples of marketing journals to which Rod Library subscribes.  Databases such as ABI/INFORM include the full text of articles from many marketing journals.

Use the UNISTAR Journal Title  index to determine whether the library subscribes to a particular journal in print or online and which years are available.  Accounting journals in print are located on the bottom floor of the library and are arranged by call number. Use the indexes listed in the Finding Articles section of this guide to locate articles on particular subjects or by particular authors.

Advertising Age Journal of Marketing
Direct Marketing Journal of Retailing
International Marketing Review Marketing News
Journal of Consumer Marketing Sales & Marketing Management
Journal of Interactive Marketing  


FINDING ARTICLES
 
top

The tools in this section index and in many cases provide the full text of articles in scholarly journals, in general business magazines, and in newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal. 

These links go directly to the source if you are accessing from on campus. If accessing from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and UNI ID number.  All of the online sources in this section are also listed under Databases A-Z and under Field of Study on the library home page.

Multiple databases can be searched simultaneously using Panther Prowler.

Also, many of the databases can be accessed via the Rod Library Business Portal.

The search forms for these databases - ABI/INFORM, Business & Company Resource Center, and Business Source Elite - include a box that can be checked to limit results to scholarly or academic or peer-reviewed journals. This method does not work perfectly, but it will produce results that are more likely to be from academic journals.

ABI/INFORM Global *
Indexes periodicals in marketing and all other major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. Covers academic journals, trade journals, business magazines and newspapers, doctoral dissertations, and Hoover's premium company information.

Business & Company Resource Center *  
Indexes periodicals in marketing and all other major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases.  Covers academic journals, business magazines, trade journals, and business newspapers. Also includes includes investment analyst reports and company and industry information from various other reference sources.  Market research reports from Datamonitor can be found by using the Advanced search form; in Advanced, specify Industry Overviews as the Content Area and look for the Market Research tab at the top of search results.

Business Source Elite*
Indexes periodicals in accounting and all other major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. It also includes about 10,000  company profiles from Datamonitor; many of these include SWOT analyses.

LexisNexis Academic * 
Sources section lists publications by industry that can be picked for searching.

ScienceDirect * 
Despite title, includes searchable database of Elsevier journals in various business areas such as economics, finance, and marketing. Provides full image online.

*Wall Street Journal via *ABI/INFORM
Wall Street Journal Asia and Wall Street Journal Europe via *Library PressDisplay
The ABI/INFORM database contains the full text of articles from the Wall Street Journal back to 1984. Today's issue is available early in the morning. After logging on, do a Publication Search to go to particular issues of the Journal. Alternatively, go to Advanced Search and specify that Wall Street Journal must be in the Publication Title.
Library PressDisplay has the latest 60 days of the Wall Street Journal Asia and Europe editions.


DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS  top

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
UNI Reference HF5803 .A38 2003

The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Marketing
UNI Ref HF5412.K43 2006

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
UNI Ref HF5837.E53 2000

DIRECTORIES  top

Encyclopedia of Associations
UNI Reference Desk AS22 .E5
Provides basic data on more than 23,000 state, U.S., and international associations. Largest single directory of associations. Business-related associations are listed in Business & Company Resource Center.

ASAE Gateway to Associations Online
Directory of web sites for several thousand associations.

The Advertising Red Books. Agencies 
UNI Reference HF5805 .A384  July 2007
Agency profiles include contact information, total billings, billings by media, executives, and major accounts.

Bradford's International Directory of Marketing Research Agencies
UNI Reference HF5415.2 .B66
Brief agency entries include address and other contact information.


MARKET DATA  top

Market data are gathered and distributed by organizations such as governments, trade associations, trade journals, brokerage firms,  market research consultants and firms, and commercial publishers. The sources in this section include compilations of demographic, geographic, economic, and sociocultural data. Some of these sources provide summaries while others provide massive compilations. Some provide data on small geographic areas such as cities, while others provide data at the national level for the U.S. and other countries. Later sections of this guide contain sources that cover specific topics such as consumer expenditures and advertising expenditures.

State and U.S.

American Factfinder
Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, this site includes demographic and economic data from the 2000 Census,  the 1997 Economic Censuses, and other Census programs for the U.S. as a whole, states, and smaller areas. 

County Business Patterns       
Contains data on number of employees, number of establishments, and payroll for SIC and NAICS defined industries for states and counties.

Demographics USA
UNI Reference HF5415.3 .D462 2007
Includes demographics such as population by age and race, effective buying income, and consumer expenditures for states, counties, and five-digit zip codes; also contains data on business characteristics, for the same geographic areas.

Editor & Publisher Market Guide 
UNI Reference HF5905 .E38
Provides basic marketing data on topics such as rail and air transportation services, number of banks and their deposits, principal industries, climate, shopping centers, and retail outlets for about 1,500 North American newspaper cities.

2007 Economic Census
Includes data such as sales, number of establishments, and number of employees for retail, wholesale, manufacturing, construction, transportation, and other major industries. Done every five years. The 2007 Census data forms were due Feb. 12, 2008. Data will be published in 2009 through 2011.

State Data Center of Iowa
Provides statistics, gathered primarily by the Census Bureau, on the population, economics, and social conditions of Iowa.

State profile, Iowa
UNI Reference HC107.I7 I5 (2 most recent); earlier in Stacks
Compiled by Woods & Poole, contains demographic and economic data and forecasts for the state of Iowa and its metropolitan areas, counties, and other substate regions.

Statistical Abstract of the United States 
UNI Reference Desk & UNI Reference HA202 .U58
Compilation of statistics on the U.S. , states, and smaller areas in areas such as population, labor, income, prices, banking, natural resources, and retail trade. Includes comparative international statistics on topics such as population, economics, and finance.

Statistical Resources on the Web
Provides links to statistical sources in areas such as agriculture, cost of living, health, and housing. Data are from various government and commercial sources. Compiled by University of Michigan Library.

International   top

Country Commercial Guides via Export.gov (Market Research Library)
Prepared annually by U.S. embassies, these guides report on the economic, political, and market environments of numerous countries.

Demographic Yearbook
UNI Reference HA17 .D45
Data from the United Nations on population, births and deaths, infant mortality, and marriage.

International Marketing Data and Statistics 
UNI Reference HF5410 .I5 2006 
Compiled by Euromonitor, a commercial publisher. Contains data on more than 160 countries on topics such as demographic trends, consumer expenditure patterns, and consumer market size.

Statistical Resources on the Web: Foreign Government Data Sources
Provides links to foreign government data sources. Compiled by University of Michigan Library.


CONSUMER BEHAVIOR,  ATTITUDES, AND MEASUREMENT SCALES 
top

The sources in this section provide data on various consumer and industrial market segments, consumer expenditures, public opinion, consumer confidence, and lifestyles.

American Customer Satisfaction Index
Provides national survey data on customer satisfaction with goods and services available to U.S. household consumers. The index rates satisfaction with individual companies, industries, and the economy as a whole. Data are gathered and analyzed by the University of Michigan National Quality Research Center.

Consumer Expenditure Survey
 
This U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics program collects and distributes data on the buying habits of U.S. consumers. Annual and two-year reports are published. Tracks expenditures for specific products, such as fresh fruits, by consumers in various demographic categories.

Generation X: The Young Adult Market
UNI Reference HC110.C6 M573 2001
Provides data on Generation X in areas such as attitudes and behavior, education, health, income, employment, living arrangements. Data come from various private and government sources. Books on other groups are available in the library collection and through online services such as MarketResearch.com Academic.

Google Groups
Search Usenet discussion boards for postings on products, companies, and more back to 1995.

Handbook of Marketing Scales: Multi-Item Measures for Marketing and Consumer Behavior Research
UNI Reference  HF5415.3 .B323 1999
This book is a compilation of measures used in areas such as individual differences, values, reactions to advertising stimuli, and post-purchase behavior. Entries for specific scales include details on their construction, development, and validity, as well as the scales themselves.

Household Spending: Who Spends How Much On What
UNI Reference HC110.C6 A68 2006 
Based on published and unpublished data collected by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The Gallup Poll
UNI Reference HN90.P8 G3
The Gallup Poll Briefing
UNI Current Period HM1236 .G34
Contain Gallup Poll questions and responses.  The Gallup web site includes some recent polls as well.

The Lifestyle Market Analyst
UNI Reference HF5415.33.U6 L54 2007
Provides demographic and lifestyle profile of television markets in the U.S.: occupation, education, income, hobbies, sports activities, etc. Also profiles more than 71 lifestyle interests, such as bicycling frequency, showing demographic characteristics of households interested in particular lifestyles. Also profiles demographic groups in terms of geographic concentration and lifestyle interests.


MARKET RESEARCH AND INDUSTRY REPORTS  top

These reports, written by commercial and government organizations, include data and analysis of the market for specific products such as beverages and also of specific demographic targets such as wealthy households. Many of the sources described in a user guide on industries also discuss markets.

Business & Company Resource Center *
Includes industry and Datamonitor market reports for specific countries, such as "China - New Cars."  These reports can be found by using the Industry or Advanced search forms; in Advanced, specify Industry Overviews as the Content Area and look for the Market Research tab at the top of search results.

IBISWorld*
Provides analysis of nearly 700 industries at the five-digit NAICS level. Reports typically contain key industry statistics; market characteristics such as market size, demand determinants, basis of competition, and life cycle stage; product and service segments and shares; barriers to entry, cost structure, regulation and technology factors; key competitors; and forecasts.

Mintel Reports*
Contains the full text of several hundred reports on products in categories such as automotive, clothing and fashion, drink, and electronics. Some reports focus on demographic categories such as high-income households. About half of the reports cover the U.S. and other half cover other countries, mostly in Europe.  Reports often cover topics such as market drivers, market size and trends,  market segments, supply structure, promotion, retail distribution, consumer profile, and forecasts. Must create personal password associated with email address when log on for the first time.

National Trade Data Bank via Stat-USA*

Includes various free and fee-based documents such as International Marketing Insight Reports, Industry Sector Analysis Reports, Market Research Reports, and Best Market Reports. Rod Library has access to the fee reports because of its status as a federal depository library; ask at the reference desk for details.


MARKET SHARE AND INDUSTRY LEADERS top

Articles and market and industry reports listed in other sections of this guide often include market shares and indicate industry leaders.

Business & Company Resource Center *
Company entries in this multisource database include market share and related data under the Rankings tab. Industry code searches lead to a list of companies, U.S. and others, ranked by revenue.

Market Share Reporter
UNI Reference HF5410 .M35
Compilation of market share data reported in periodicals. Arranged by industry; includes place, product, company, and brand indexes. Also included in Business & Company Resource Center.

ADVERTISING AND MEDIA SOURCES  top

The Advertising Red Books
UNI Reference HF5805 .A38
Company entries include information such as advertising expenditures, media used, and advertising personnel.

SRDS Business Publication Advertising Source
UNI Reference HF5905 .S723 

Provides advertising rate information for business publications, arranged by industry. Published by Standard Rate & Data Service. Rod Library collection includes SRDS volumes for other media such as radio and television.

SRDS Circulation
UNI Reference HF5905 .S724 
Analyzes newspaper circulation by county, metropolitan area, and television viewing areas.

Television & Cable Factbook
UNI Reference TK6645 .T45
Provides details about television stations, cable services, and other television related services.


UNIVERSITY OF NORTHERN IOWA

Department of Marketing
College of Business Administration

 

top  


Stan Lyle
stanley.lyle@uni.edu
Rod Library
University of Northern Iowa
February 13, 2009