Library Users Guide Politics International Comparative

Politics - International/Comparative

Subject Guide

Table of Contents

Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Yearbooks, and Handbooks UNI Sources Indexing International/ Comparative Political Science Topics
Biographies Internet Sources of International/Comparative Political Science Information
History Internet Sites with International/ Comparative Political Science Information Links
Statistics News Sources
Political Parties Search Engines/Directories
International Politics/Relations International Organizations
Sources of Regional Information Political Science Associations

Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, Yearbooks, and Handbooks

Canadian Parliamentary Guide
UNI Reference  JL 5 .C3
Who's who in the Privy Council, Senate, and House of Commons.  Also included are historic and more recent election results.  Current administration of the provinces is also shown along with some historical election statistics from the provinces.

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments see World Leaders below

DOD’s Parliamentary Companion  
UNI Reference  JN 500 .D7
Includes members of the Parliament, House of Commons, House of Lords, public offices, Scottish Parliament, National Assembly for Wales, Northern Ireland Assembly, Greater London Authority, European Union, and UK government representatives and overseas representation in UK.

International Yearbook and Statesmen's Who's Who
UNI Refer JA 51 .I57
1958, 1960-1980, 1982-
This publication profiles the "structure and functions of the world's major international and national organizations.... "  It provides an "overview of the political, economic and social landscape of the world's countries" and includes addresses, e-mail, and internet addresses.  

Encyclopedia of Democracy
UNI  Refer JC423 .E53 1995
This four volume publication includes "417 original articles on countries, geographical regions, historical eras, important individuals, philosophical concepts" and other issues related to the understanding of democracy.  Articles are arranged alphabetically.  Many of the articles include bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Stateless Nations
UNI Reference  D 860 .M56 2002
This volume includes information on the location, people and culture, language and religion, and national history of ethnic and national groups from around the world.  Native American groups are included here. 

Political Handbook of the World
UNI Reference  JF37 .P6
This reference source includes articles arranged alphabetically by country.  The articles cover the government and politics of each country.  Also included is an alphabetical listing of intergovernmental organizations.  Appendices include a chronology of  "major international events, 1945-," and a list of United Nations members.

Peace Movement Directory
UNI Reference  JZ 5514 .B46 2001
A directory to peace organizations, programs, museums, and memorials in the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

Statesman's Yearbook: the Politics, Cultures and Economies of the World
UNI Reference JA 51 .S7 (older editions in UNI Stacks location)

UNI Rod Library has a variety of yearbooks for foreign countries located in the reference collection. The easiest way to find these is to do a UNISTAR keyword search for <country name> and (yearbook or annual or almanac). 

 

World Leaders - Central Intelligence Agency
Select desired country from the alphabetical listing.  Each entry includes the chiefs of state and cabinet members of that country.
 

Table of Contents


Biographies

African States and Rulers
UNI Reference DT 31 .S786 1999

Biographies of Politicians

Citizen Action Encyclopedia
UNI Reference  JS 303.5 .H35 2002
This book profiles 160 organizations that "succeeded in effecting changes in the legal system, societal values, or the political landscape."  Also included are 88 citizen activists who achieved prominence in some area of activism or dissent.

Encyclopedia of Revolutions and Revolutionaries: from Anarchism to Zhou Enlai
UNI Reference D 21.3 .E53 1996

Fifty Key Figures in Twentieth-century British Politics
UNI Refrence DA 28.4 .L39 2002

International year book and statesmen's who's who
UNI Reference  JA 51 .I57
Professional biographical information is provided for round 7,000 international figures, among which are included "heads of state, politicians, and diplomats to eminent banking executives and industrialists."

Mexican Political Biographies, 1935-1993
UNI Reference F 1235.5 .A2C35 1995 

Political Leaders of Contemporary Western Europe: a Biographical Dictionary
UNI Reference D 839.5 .P62 1995

Table of Contents


History

Foreign Relations of the United States  by University of Wisconsin, Madison
Includes a search engine for searching the text of Foreign Relations of the United States from 1900 through 1918.

Foreign Relations of the United States  by the Office of the Historian, Department of State
This is a growing digitized collection of the Foreign Relations of the United States.  The site currently includes selected volumes of the Kennedy and Johnson administration, the Emergence of the Intelligence Establishment under Truman, as well as Foreign Relations of the United States, 1958-1960 under Eisenhower which covers Eastern Europe Region, Soviet Union, and Cyprus.  Click on Volumes Online  for an up-to-date listing.

Historic World Leaders
UNI Reference D 412 .H57 1994 

International conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945-1995
UNI Reference  D 842 .B46 1997
This volume is a product of the International Conflict Management project (University of Canterbury in New Zealand). Included here are "conflicts between states that involved actual military hostilities of significant shows of force...;"  internationalized civil conflicts if they had "verifiable and significant international aspects" such as foreign troops or aid;  "cases of secession or attempted secession" where the seceding party was recognized; and militarized disputes with "potential for wider and more serious conflict..."

OECD Historical Statistics = Statistiques Retrospectives de l'OCDE
UNI Reference HC 10 .O183

Warfare and armed Conflicts: a Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other Figures, 1500-2000
UNI Reference D 214 .C54 2002

Table of Contents


Statistics

Demographic Yearbook
UNI Reference HA 17 .D45 (older in UNI Stacks location)

Elections in Africa
UNI Reference  JQ 1879 .A55 E44 1999
This source is arranged alphabetically by country.  Each entry includes an historical introduction, the evolution of and current electoral provisions, statistics and a bibliography. 

Europa World Year Book
UNI Reference JN 1 .E85 (older in UNI Stacks location, previous title: Europa Year Book)

Instat: International Statistics Sources
UNI Reference HA 155 .I58 1995

International Encyclopedia of Elections
UNI Reference JF 1001 .I57 2000
Alphabetically arranged source of articles about elections across the world.  A chart is included of the countries of the world showing voting age, electoral system, constituencies, percent of turnout, and the Rose proportionality index (among other factors).

State of the World's Children
UNI Stacks RJ 101 .S7

State of the World's Refugees
UNI Reference HV 640 .S675 (older in UNI Stacks location)

Statistical Abstract of the World
UNI Reference HA 154 .S68

Statistical Handbook on the World's Children
UNI Reference HQ 767.9 K38 2002

Statistical Yearbook
UNI Reference HA 12.5 .U63 (older in UNI Stacks location)

World Population: a reference handbook
UNI Reference HB 871 .G47 2001

The World's Women, 2000: trends and statistics
UNI Reference HQ 1154 .W95 2000

Table of Contents


Political Parties

Political Parties of Asia and the Pacific
UNI Reference  JQ 39 .A45 P64 1985
This work includes parties of "varying membership sizes, longevities, bases of support and power, doctrinal commitments, and geographical scopes of activity."

Political Parties of Eastern Europe, Russia, and the Successor States
UNI Reference  JN 6598 .A1 P65 1994
Included in this source are pre-communist political parties, parties emerging from "dissident groups and opposition movements," nationalist parties, parties inspired by "western counterparts," religious parties, former ruling communist parties (rejecting Marxism-Leninism), "extreme parties of the right," and communist parties which "still adhere to Marxism-Leninism."

Political Parties of the Americas
UNI Reference  JL 195 .P64
This work includes information on the political parties of Canada, Latin
America, and the West Indies. 

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties
UNI Reference  JF 2011 .W67 1999 
A three volume guide to the "world's countries and where they stand in the spectrum of democracy and party politics."  "Who rules?"

Table of Contents


International Politics/Relations

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
UNI Refer  JA 61 .O95  2001  (2nd edition)
This publication, "provides a comprehensive guide to international relations and national domestic politics throughout the world."

International conflict: A Chronological Encyclopedia of Conflicts and Their Management, 1945-1995
UNI Reference  D 842 .B46 1997
This volume is a product of the International Conflict Management project (University of Canterbury in New Zealand). Included here are "conflicts between states that involved actual military hostilities of significant shows of force...;"  internationalized civil conflicts if they had "verifiable and significant international aspects" such as foreign troops or aid;  "cases of secession or attempted secession" where the seceding party was recognized; and militarized disputes with "potential for wider and more serious conflict..."

European Political Facts, 1900-1996
UNI Reference  JN 12 .C637 1998
The coverage of this work is from the Atlantic to the Urals.  It has also been expanded to included information back to 1900.


Information Resources on Domestic and International Human Rights
A handout on Peace, Human Rights, and U.S. Foreign Policy, from an Institute held by UNI College of Social and Behavioral Sciences, May, 2003.

International Law
Links to International Court of Justice, Treaties, International Criminal Court, and a research guide among other links.

Table of Contents
  

Sources of Regional Information

    African states and rulers
   
UNI Reference DT 31 .S786 1999

    The Middle East: a political dictionary
   
UNI Reference DS 61 .Z58 1992

    The Oxford companion to twentieth-century British politics
   
UNI Reference DA 566.7 .O88 2002

For additional regional sources, ask at the Reference Desk.

Table of Contents


UNI Sources Indexing International/Comparative Political Science Topics

To identify articles in international or comparative politics, consult the following indexes and abstracts.   Some of the indexes are available electronically through the Rod Library home page.   Select the desired index or abstract title from the Databases A-Z listing under Journal and Magazine Articles (Panther Prowler).

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online

CQ Global Researcher

Focused, single topic reports on vital world issues.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press

LexisNexis Academic
News articles and legal sources.
 
LexisNexis Statistical

Statistical information.

NetLibrary  database of electronic books
Search for subjects: political science, politics, international relations. Keywords and Full Text searching also available.

PAIS International  (via CSA Illumina)
"Indexes articles in public and social policy, business, economics, finance, law, international relations, public administration, government, & political science."

PressDisplay
Access to 500 newspapers from 70 countries. 60-day archive.

 

SourceOECD
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's online library of statistical databases, books and periodicals.

 

World News Connection
News service that monitors non-U.S. media sources.

 

United States Treaty Index
UNI Reference  JX 231 .U58 2001
Treaties in force to which the U.S. is a signatory during the year of publication.  A "comprehensive index for ... treaties and agreements, both by country and subject."

Table of Contents


Internet Sources of International/Comparative Political Science Information

Background Notes   by U.S. State Department
Includes information on the Geography, People, History, Government and Political Conditions, Economy, and Foreign Relations of the countries of the world.  This information is updated as it is received from regional bureaus.  For information on regions of the world, see U.S. State Department: Regions.

Constitutions, Treaties and Declarations   by Richard Kimber
Constitutions, treaties and declarations for a variety of countries.

Declassified State Department & Other Agency Documents  by U.S. State Department
A searchable collection of declassified documents from the U.S. State Department and some South and Central American countries.

Digital Librarian by Margaret Vail Anderson

Dispatch Magazine  by U.S. State Department
This site includes issues from 1997 - 1999.  For issues 1990 - 1996, see U.S. Department of State Electronic Archives (University of Illinois, Chicago), Electronic Research Collections.  Click on Dispatch Magazine under "Briefings and Statements."

Political Database of the Americas - Georgetown University
Primary documents on the constitutions, electoral systems and local governance most in Spanish.

Political Science Digital Library by Academic Info

Political Science Sources  by Academic Info
Includes many political science sources. 

Political Science - Foreign and International Politics  by Academic Info
This source covers many areas of the world- some of which include a digitized library.

Treaties and Agreements  (in force) by U.S. State Department
Treaties in force as of January 1 of each year.

The United Nations
Contains many full text documents on UN concerns such as: Peace & Security, Economic & Social Development, Human Rights, Humanitarian Affairs, and International Law.  Also of note is the UN News Centre  which has up-to-date news stories and releases on UN activities.

Table of Contents


Internet Sites with International/Comparative Political Science Information Links

Comparative Government  by University of Nevada, Reno

Foreign Affairs Online  by Dr. Robert J. Beck, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Foreign Government Resources on the Web
  by University of Michigan Documents Center

International Agencies and Information on the Web  by University of Michigan Documents Center

International Documents, Foreign Governments  by Northwestern University Library, Government Publications and Maps

International Governmental Organizations  by Northwestern University, Government Publications and Maps. 

International Relations  by University of Nevada, Reno

intute: social sciences - Politics - University of Birmingham

Online Publications - Recent publications of the UN

Poly-Cy Internet Resources for Political Science West Virginia University

Site Index (to the United Nations)

The Ultimate Political Science Links Page

York Political Economy (YPE) Online: Archive by York University, Windsor, Canada

Table of Contents

News Sources

LexisNexis Academic
Rod Library Databases A-Z

Ethnic NewsWatch
Rod Library Databases A-Z

OnlineNewspapers.com

Newspapers (The Internet Public Library)

OneWorld Select from among several world region sites.

Today's Front Pages (Newseum)


Search Engines/Directories

Comparative Politics  (Directory) Google

Foreign Policy  (Directory) Google

International Relations  (directory) Google

Internet Search Strategies  by Nelson Political Science site
Includes searching tips and additional search engines. (Canadian)

Political Information: a Search Engine for Politics, Policy and Political News

Table of Contents

International Organizations

Annual Review of United Nations Affairs
UNI Reference  JX 1977 .A1A5
Included in this four volume set are the General Assembly sessions, the Security council, The Economic and Social Council, The International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat.

Encyclopedia of the European Union  
UNI Reference  JN 30 .E52 2000
This work provides "discussions of the concepts, issues, developments, institutions, policies, events, negotiations, treaties, national interests, and personalities related to European integration."

Euro Guide: Yearbook of the Institutions of the European Union  
UNI Reference  JN 15 .A63
Part I includes the structure, operation and activities of the European Union.  Part II includes a directory of: institutions, bodies and agencies of the European Union.

Europa Directory of International Organizations
UNI Reference  JZ 4838 .E97
This volume provides a "comprehensive guide to international organizations and an essential understanding of the framework of international affairs."

Yearbook of International Organizations
UNI Reference  JX 1904 .A42 2002/03
A two volume alphabetical guide to "global and civil society networks."

Table of Contents

Political Science Associations

APSANET  American Political Science Association Online
"professional society for people who study politics, government and public policies in the U.S. and around the world."

International Peace Research Association
The purpose of IPRA is to advance interdisciplinary research into the conditions of peace and the causes of war and other forms of violence.

International Studies Association
The purpose of the Association is to serve the needs and enhance the capacities of scholars, practitioners, and others without regard to nationality--having a professional interest in expanding, disseminating, and applying knowledge of interrelations among nations and peoples.

IPSA/AISP  International Political Science Association/Association Internationale De Science Politique
Includes links to other political science associations and sites with many political science links.

Table of Contents

See Also: Comparative Politics

List of Library User's GuidesLibrary Home Page

Library User's Guide: Politics - United States

Library |  MyUNIverse |  Calendar |  Email |  eLearning |  My Library |  Contact Us |  Site Index |  UNI
Copyright © 1997-2009 Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, 1227 W. 27th St., Cedar Falls, IA 50613-3675
Tel. (319) 273-2838 | FAX (319) 273-2913
http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/guides/politicsworld.shtml
Last updated: Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Last Revised: 18 May 2009 CK
Written: 2003 B. Lutkenhaus, C. Kruckeberg