Library User's Guide Social work professionals strive to “enhance human well-being and help meet the basic
human needs of all people, with particular attention to the needs and
empowerment of people who are vulnerable, oppressed, and living in poverty.” (Code
of Ethics, National Association of Social Workers, 1999). Due to its interdisciplinary nature, information from a number of other
disciplines such as psychology and sociology may also be of interest to those
doing research in the field of social work.
A WORDS search will allow you to search for specific words that appear
within the title, subject, or notes fields of the online records. WORDS searching is a powerful feature of the UNISTAR
system, but a thorough search for information on any subject should include
searches using relevant subject headings.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work (20th ed.) Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America (2005)
The Social Work Dictionary (5thed.)
Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Social Work
Black's Law Dictionary (8th ed.) Current Psychotherapies
(8th ed.) Child Victimization:
Maltreatment, Bullying and Dating Violence, Prevention and Intervention
Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy The Early Intervention Dictionary: A Multidisciplinary Guide to Terminology (2nded.)
Encyclopedia of Child Abuse (3rd ed.)
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior (2nd ed.) National
Association of Social Workers (NASW) Code of Ethics Social Work Speaks
Statistical Abstract of the United States
LexisNexis Statistical The State of America's Children Crime in the United States
World Development Indicators
If you know the names of social workers or social reformers and wish to identify
books about them, do a SUBJECT search in UNISTAR and type in each person’s
name (last name first). For help in identifying social reformers in the United States,
consult the following books which contain brief biographies of noted reformers and
provide subject access to areas of the reformers’ interests.
Activists, Rebels, and Reformers
Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers
American Reform and Reformers: A Biographical Dictionary
Biographical Dictionary of Social Welfare in America To identify articles in social work, consult the following indexes and abstracts. To search
those available through the Rod Library home
page, select the desired index or abstract
title from the
Databases A-Z listing
under Journal and Magazine Articles (Panther Prowler). Social Work Abstracts Coverage: 1977-
Social Services Abstracts Coverage: 1979-
Academic OneFile Coverage: 1980-
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Child Abuse, Child Welfare & Adoption Database
Coverage: 1965-
Family and Society Studies Worldwide Coverage: 1970-
Gender Studies Database Coverage: generally 1972-
PAIS International Coverage: 1972-
PsycINFO Coverage: 1806-
Sociological Abstracts Coverage: 1963- The following two databases index and abstract criminology and criminal
justice theory, research, and practice appearing in journals, books,
governmental reports, dissertations, and other publications. Although
there is overlap between the two databases, for criminology topics both
databases should be searched because each database indexes unique journals.
Aged -- government policy
Human services
Child welfare
Public welfare
Family services
Social advocacy
Conflict management
Social policy
Homeless persons
Substance abuse
ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES
UNI Reference HV 35 S6 2008, 1995, and 1995 supplements (most recent 2 editions in UNI Reference; Earlier in UNI Stacks)
Scholarly essays written by top social work practitioners or professors analyzing 400 topics in social work theory, practice, and research. Co-published by The National Association of Social Workers, this encyclopedia covers social work practice and interventions and social conditions. Also includes 200 biographical entries. This title continues the Social Work Year Book (UNI Stacks HV 35S6) which was published in 14 editions between 1929 and 1960. Consulting the earlier volumes is a convenient way of exploring the evolution of social work.
UNI Reference HV 12 E497 2005
also available electronically through UNISTAR's link to Gale Virtual Reference Library
Explores the current and historic status of social welfare in the United States, Canada, and Mexico. Events, developments, and the lives and work of some key contributors to social welfare are described. Sample topics examined in each of the countries include family violence, food assistance policy, poverty, and social reform.
UNI Reference HV 12 B37 2003; Earlier editions in UNI Stacks
Definitions of nearly 8,000 terms, concepts, organizations, and events Also includes brief biographical entries.
UNI Reference HV 12 B53 2000
Defines 412 key terms in social work theory and practice. Entries range from 1,000-word essays to concise definitions, and reflect
a British perspective.
UNI Ref Desk CBT KF 156 B53 2004
Authoritative definitions of legal terms and concepts.
UNI Reference RC 480 C87 2008
A handbook of important
psychotherapeutic approaches. Each chapter is devoted to one system of therapy
and provides for each an overview; history; discussion of the theory, process,
and mechanisms of the approach; applications; case example; summary;
bibliography of relevant works; and citations to books or articles presenting
case studies.
UNI Reference HV 6626.5 C52 2005
Provides recent research
and insights from noted experts about the nature, scope, and impact of child and
adolescent abuse and neglect; ways of recognizing, intervening, and
preventing abuse; and systems and policies for addressing child abuse.
UNI Reference RC 489 B4E485 2005
Volume one of this three-volume set discusses behavior modification and
cognitive behavior therapy with adults; volume 2, with children; and volume 3,
in educational settings.
UNI Reference HV 891 C63 1999
Defines terms used by those providing services for children from birth through age three. For more detailed discussion
of psychological concepts, see the Handbook of Child Psychology (UNI Reference BF 721 H242
2006).
UNI Reference HV 6626.5 C57 2007
An interdisciplinary resource with more than 500 entries covering a broad array
of topics in child abuse and neglect. Although the statistical tables and
legal charts focus on the United States, international information is presented
under country names or included within topical definitions.
UNI Reference HV 5804 E53 2001 volumes 1-4
Provides essays written by experts in a range of disciplines dealing with substance use
and abuse. Appendices include directories of state, federal, and private drug related agencies and programs.
http://www.socialworkers.org/pubs/code/default.asp
This professional code of ethics is intended to serve as a guide to the everyday
professional conduct of social workers. The Code is organized into four
sections: the Preamble, summary of the profession’s mission and core values; the Purpose, an overview
of the Code’s main functions and a guide for dealing with ethical issues;
Ethical Principles, broad ethical guidelines that inform social work practice;
and Ethical Standards, specific ethical standards to guide social workers'
conduct and to provide a basis for adjudication. Consult the
NASW Office of Ethics and
Professional Review Website (http://www.socialworkers.org/nasw/ethics/default.asp) for additional information and links to each state’s licensure board.
UNI Reference HV 88 N36 (most recent);
earlier editions UNI Stacks
Contains the policy
statements adopted by the most recent National Association of Social Workers
Delegate Assembly. NASW policy statements on affirmative action, child abuse
and neglect, cultural competence in the social work profession, end of life
care, homelessness, youth suicide, and other issues are printed in full. Each
entry includes background material, an issue statement, a policy statement,
legislative history, and references. Brief summaries of these statements are
available through the NASW Website at
http://www.socialworkers.org/resources/abstracts/default.asp.
UNI Reference Desk HA 202 U58 (Most recent; earlier editions in UNI Reference)
Library has: 1878-1892, 1894-1926, 1928-
A convenient starting place when looking for statistics about life in the United States. Over 1,400
tables present statistics about the United
States in 30 categories such as education, employment & earnings, health & nutrition, law enforcement, population, and social insurance & human
services. Consult the index at the bottom of Web page or at the end of the book for detailed subject access.
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Electronic access to statistical publications produced by the United States, state, and
international governments; by intergovernmental agencies; and by commercial
publishers. Search summaries of these statistical publications by subject, title, author, or in other ways.
You may then link to the full-text of selected publications.
Most recent online
http://www.childrensdefense.org/site/PageServer?pagename=publications_greenbook_default
UNI Stacks HV 741 C5375 1991-2004
Compiled by the Children's Defense Fund, a youth advocacy organization, this
annual publication contains statistical tables, charts, and commentary about the
status of children and adolescents in the United States. Topics include
family income, child health, child care, children and families in crisis, and
juvenile justice. Consult
http://www.childrensdefense.org/ for additional information.
Most recent online
http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm
UNI Reference HV 6787 A3 Library has: 1998-2004
The U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation's compilation of criminal statistics
reported by federal, state, and community authorities, includes murder, rape,
robbery, burglary, arson, hate, and other crime data at the national, state, and
community levels. For analytic comments consult the beginning page of each
section. Formerly published as Uniform Crime Reports (UNI Reference
HV 6787 A3 1946-1997)
UNI Reference HC 59.15 W656 2008; earlier editions in UNI Stacks
Compiled by the World Bank, contains statistical tables, graphs, and text depicting social conditions and development
in countries throughout the world. Access the Data & Statistics section of the Web page (http://www.worldbank.org/)
for additional data.
UNI Reference HN 17.5 E534 2001 volumes 1-3
Essays about 68 social reformers. International in scope.
UNI Reference HQ 1236 R29 2001 volumes 1-2
Biographies of more than 400 women from 64 countries who have been activists
in areas such as social welfare/poverty, children's rights, immigrant rights,
and political/legal reform. Includes references to further readings.
UNI Reference HQ 1412 A46 1996
Essays profiling the life-and-times of 38 major American reformers and the reforms they
most directly affected.
UNI Reference HV 27 B57 1986
Biographies of 300 "doers and activists" with a select bibliography of sources
by and about the individual.
Rod Library Databases A-Z
UNI Index/Abstract HV 1 A2 Library has: 1965-1993
Indexes and summarizes articles about social work theory, research, and practice appearing in over 400
social work and social welfare journals. International in scope; published by the National Association
of Social Workers. If using the print version, identify relevant material by consulting the subject and author
indexes.
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Indexes and abstracts articles from 1,300 journals on human services, social
work, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community
development. Also included are abstracts of dissertations and citations to book
reviews.
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from social work, psychology, sociology, and
related social science journals as well as from popular magazines. Use the Subject
search to browse subject headings or select Keyword for more search options.
UNI Index/Abstract HQ 1060 A18 Library has: 1991-2007
Provides subject and author indexing and abstracts of journal articles on aging and the elderly.
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and other resources on the physical,
emotional, psychological, and sexual abuse of children; child neglect; child
welfare; therapy; and services. Does include resources on adolescents and adults.
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Indexes and summarizes journal articles, books, government reports, and other publications in family
science, domestic violence, human ecology, and human development; Covers research, policy, and
practice.
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Indexes and abstracts
journal articles, books, and other publications in gender and sexual diversity
studies, including women’s, men’s, and GLBT studies. Topics in social welfare,
family, divorce, child custody, prejudice, reproduction, sex roles, violence and
abusive relationships, and political/social activism are included. Also provides
links to relevant documents on the Web.
Rod Library Databases A-Z
UNI Index/Abstract H 96 P89 Library has: 1915-1996
Indexes journal articles, books, government documents, and other publications relating
to business, economic and social conditions, public policy and administration, and international relations.
Rod LibraryDatabases A-Z
UNI Index/Abstract BF 1 P65 Library has: 1927-2002
Indexes and abstracts journal articles from 1,300 journals in psychology and related
behavioral and social sciences, including social work. Use the Thesaurus or
Suggest Terms
features for assistance in identifying appropriate subject headings.
Rod LibraryDatabases A-Z
Provides subject and author indexing and abstracts of journal articles and books in
sociology and related disciplines.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Coverage: 1968-
Rod Library
Databases A-Z
Criminal Justice Periodicals
Coverage: 1981-
Rod Library Databases A-Z
Administration in Social Work
![]()
Alcoholism Treatment Quarterly
![]()
Child Abuse and Neglect
![]()
Children & Schools
![]()
Clinical Social Work Journal
![]()
Families in Society
![]()
International Social Work
![]()
Journal of Ethnic & Cultural Diversity in Social Work
![]()
Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
![]()
Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare
![]()
Policy & Practice of Public Human Services
![]()
Reflections: Narratives of Professional Helping UNI
Periodicals HV 1 R45
The Social Service Review
![]()
Social Work
![]()
Links to selected Internet sites in Social Work may be found on the Library’s Web page. Under Web Resources, click on Selected Internet Resources and then on Information by Subject. Next, choose Social and Behavioral Sciences, and then Social Work.
Return to top
Return to List of Library User's Guides
Return to Rod Library Homepage
|
Copyright © 1997-2008 Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, 1227 W. 27th St., Cedar Falls, IA 50613-3675 Tel. (319) 273-2838 | FAX (319) 273-2913 | TTY (319) 273-7299 http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/guides/socialwork.shtml Last updated: Tuesday, Aug 26, 2008 |
Last Revised: 25 August 2008 BW
Written: March 2000 B. Weeg, T. Kessler
The University is an equal opportunity employer with a comprehensive plan for
affirmative action.