Library User's Guide to Soil and Soils - Soil Geography (Dahms)

Library User's Guide

Soil

University of Northern Iowa


TABLE OF CONTENTS

Customized Soil Resources Webpage Internet Resources
Find Articles Reference Resources (Print)
Find Books Soil Maps and Soil Surveys
Government Documents What’s Up in the Stacks - (Books on the Third & Fourth Floors)
Locating USGS Publications  

 

        FIND ARTICLES   

AGRICOLA (agriculture) GeoRef (geology)
Applied Science Technology (some full text) Google Scholar
Biological Abstracts G.P.O. (government publications)
Biological and Agricultural Index (some full text) HighWire Press (some full text)
Engineering Index (print index)
UNI Index/Abstract TA1 .E58378
Ingenta ConnectComplete (sciences) (some full text)
Engineering Village 2 ScienceDirect (sciences) (full text)
Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) (full text) SpringerLink (sciences) (full text)
GEOBASE (physical geography) Wiley InterScience (full text)


 

        FIND A BOOK   

UNISTAR - The UNI Rod Library Catalog - is used to locate the books, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in this library. UNISTAR - can be used to access or identify materials placed on reserve by an instructor.
UNISTAR - offers Interlibrary Loan - a service that allows students and faculty to order both books and articles not owned by the Rod Library. OhioLink and Mobius - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on soils not owned by the Rod Library.  These systems will often search the titles of book chapters.  Use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR.




     GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS

Agricultural Irrigation and Water Use
UNI Documents A 1.75:638
Soil Surveys of Iowa Counties
UNI Documents A 57:38:
Agricultural Statistics (1936 – present)
UNI Documents A 1.47: 936
Also -
http://www.usda.gov/nass/pubs/agstats.htm
Soil Taxonomy (1975)
UNI Documents A 1.76:436
Climatological Data – Iowa
UNI Documents 1926 – 1998
Also - http://www5.ncdc.noaa.gov/pdfs/cd/iowa/ 
U.S. Geological Survey Bulletin
UNI Documents I 19.13:
Geological Survey Professional Paper Series
UNI Documents I 19:16:
Indexed in Geographical Abstracts
Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin (current)

archives 1971-present
Guide to USGS Publications
UNI Reference QE 75 A11 G85 1996
Yearbook of Agriculture - 1894 - 1993
UNI Documents A 1.10:
 

There are over 1200 Government Documents in the Rod Library dealing with Soils!

To find these resources search UNISTAR and limit Location to
UNI-Documents.


 

        HOW TO LOCATE U.S.G.S. PUBLICATIONS

Search GeoRef - GeoRef includes a large number of USGS references
Search the USGS Library Catalog - http://library.usgs.gov
Visit - "How to Find USGS Publications Online" - an overview on locating resources from USGS.



  SOIL MAPS AND SOIL SURVEYS

The Rod Library has over 150 maps
and atlases dealing with soil.

To find these resources search UNISTAR
and limit Location to UNI-MAP.
The Rod Library has over 190 Soil Surveys.  Search UNISTAR by Keyword using the phrase "soil survey"

Iowa County Soil Surveys are found in the Government Documents collection at
A 57:38 





        INTERNET RESOURCES

    ASSOCIATIONS
Canadian Society of Soil Science Soil and Water Conservation Society
International Permafrost Society Soil Science Society of America
 
  BIBLIOGRAPHIES, DIRECTORIES, AND SEARCH ENGINES
AGRICOLA Scirus.com  (search engine for the sciences)
A Compendium of On-Line Soil Survey Information
(compiled by D. G. Rossiter)
Soilweb
 

                  

DICTIONARIES
Glossary of Soil Science Terms
(Soil Science Society of America)
 
   IOWA RESOURCES
General Guide for Crop Nutrient and
Limestone Recommendations in Iowa

Iowa State University Extension
Soil Management and Conservation Practices
Iowa State Agronomy Extension
Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship Soil Temperature Maps (4 inch)
Iowa State Agronomy Extension
Iowa Soil and Land Use
Iowa State University Extension
U.S.G.S. Iowa District
 
  INTERNATIONAL RESOURCES
Canada – National Soil Database Keys to Soil Taxonomy
Global Soil Moisture Data Bank
Rutgers University
National Resources Conservation Service
– World Soil Resources

(United States Department of Agriculture)
ISRIC – International Soil Reference and Information Centre

Soil Landscapes of Canada

 
  NATIONAL RESOURCES
AGRICOLA (Agriculture Database)
National Agricultural Library
Soil Texture
Univ. of Florida Cooperative Extension Service
Climatological Data – by State Twelve Soil Orders
Univ. of Idaho Soil Science Division
National Resources Conservation Service - Soils
(United States Department of Agriculture)
U.S. Drought Monitor
National Soil Tilth Laboratory U.S. Soil Moisture Monitoring
National Weather Service
NSSC Soil Survey Laboratory
Soil Characterization Database

 


 

        REFERENCE RESOURCES (Print)

ASTM Standards – 2001
Volumes – 4.08 & 4.09 Soil and Rock

UNI Reference – TA 401.A653 2001 SECT. 4
Principal Soils of Iowa
UNI Reference – S544.3 .I8 .I68
 
Dictionary of Geotechnics
UNI Reference – TA706 .S65
Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
UNI Reference – S592 .S59 2001
Dictionary of Soil Mechanics
UNI Reference – TA706 .A15 .B37
Thesaurus of Rock and Soil Mechanics
UNI Reference – Z695.1 .R63 J45 1984
Handbook of Agriculture
UNI Reference – S493 .Y88 1999

 


 

        What's Up in the Stacks (Books on the Third and Fourth Floors)


Thousands of books on a wide array of soil topics can be found
on the top two floors (third and fourth floors) of this library:

GB 641 – GB 648   Permafrost and Frozen Ground   over 20 books
         
S 589.8 - S 591   Potting Soils and General Soil Science   over 70 books
         
S 592 - S 595   Soil Surveys, Soil Classification,
Soil Physics, and Soil Chemistry
  over 110 books
         
S 596 - S 598   Soils and Crops   over 20 books
         
S 599   Soil Descriptions by Geographic Location   over  30 books
         
S 622 – S 627   Soil Conservation and Protection   over 70 books
         
S 631 – S 667 Fertilizers and the Improvement of the Soil over 30 books
         
TA 710 – TA 787   Soil Mechanics, Earthwork and Foundations   over  70 books
         
TD 878 – TD 880   Soil Pollution and Soil Remediation   over  20 books



 

 

Stacks - Third Floor
call numbers A-K

 

 

 

 

 

Stacks - Fourth Floor
call numbers L-Z

 

Library |  MyUNIverse |  Calendar |  Email |  WebCT |  My Library |  Contact Us |  Site Index |  UNI
Copyright © 1997-2008 Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, 1227 W. 27th St., Cedar Falls, IA 50613-3675
Tel. (319) 273-2838 | FAX (319) 273-2913 | TTY (319) 273-7299
http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/guides/soil.shtml
Last updated: Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008

Last Revised: 30 July 2004 CN