Library Users Guide Weather Meteorology Atmospheric Studies Climate Studies

Library User's Guide

Weather,
Meteorology, &
Atmospheric Studies.


University of Northern Iowa

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Current Weather & Weather Forecasts Videos
Find Articles WWW Weather Resources
Find Books Weather Maps and Data - Online
Government Statistics - CD-ROMs
Reference Resources (Print)
Up in the Stacks
(Books on the Fourth Floor)




CURRENT WEATHER & WEATHER FORECASTS
 

Local
(Waterloo, Iowa)
National

International

   KCRG        KGAN        KWWL Weather.Com Yahoo! Weather
Weather Underground (Waterloo) Weather Underground Weather Underground (Global)
NOAA National Weather Service (Des Moines) NOAA National Weather Service Weather.Com (world weather)

 

Weather for Canada

Weather for Mexico

CBC Weather Mexico - Weather Map (CBC)
Meteorological Service of Canada Servicio Meteorologico Nacional (Spanish)
Weather Network Weather Underground - Mexico



 

FIND ARTICLES   

Applied Science & Technology G.P.O. (government publications)
Engineering Village 2 HighWire Press (some full text)
Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) (full text) Ingenta Connect (sciences) (some full text)
GEOBASE ScienceDirect (full text 1995-present)
GeoRef SpringerLink (sciences) (full text)
Google Scholar Wiley InterScience (full text)


 

FIND A BOOK   

UNISTAR - The UNI Rod Library Catalog - is used to locate the books, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in this library. UNISTAR - can be used to access or identify materials placed on reserve by an instructor.
UNISTAR - offers Interlibrary Loan - a service that allows students and faculty to order both books and articles not owned by the Rod Library. OhioLink and Mobius - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on soils not owned by the Rod Library.  These systems will often search the titles of book chapters.  Use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR.

 

VIDEOS   

After the Warming
(Ambrose Video Publishing - James Burke)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QC981.8 G56 A4 - 1990 Video no. 1-2
Community of the Skies
Living Planet – Episode 7
(BBC – David Attenborough)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QH541.13 L58 – 1988 Video
An Inconvenient Truth
(Paramount - Al Gore)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QC981.8 .G56 I53 - 2006 DVD
Cyclone!
(National Geographic)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QC944 C92 – 1995 Video
Aviation Weather
(Bray Studios – AOPA)
UNI Multi-Service Center
TL556 A95 – 1979 Video
Explorers of Hurricanes
volume 10 of “Forces of the Wild
(Partridge Films, DOCSTAR, and WNET)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QB631 F673 – 1998 Video
Basic Aviation Weather
(Bray Studios – AOPA)
UNI Multi-Service Center
TL556 B37 – 1980 Video
Fallacy of Global Warming
(BBC)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QC981.8 G56 F35 – 1999 Video
Climate Puzzle
Planet Earth – volume 7
(WQED – NSF)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE31 P53 – 1985 Video
Fragile Planet
(Films for the Humanities)
UNI Multi-Service Center
TD174 F83 - 1990 Video no. 1-6
Clouds: Messengers of the Weather
(Educational Videos Network)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QC921 C56 – 1994 Video
Nature's Fury
(National Geographic)
UNI Multi-Service Center
GB5005 N38 - 2000 DVD




  WEATHER MAPS AND DATA - ONLINE

 CLIMATE
Climate at a Glance. United States.
Temperature and Precipitation. 1900-present
(National, Regional, State and City)
Climates of the World
Climate Data for the World. Monthly 1948-present Climatological Data Publication.
By State. ~1900-present
 
DROUGHT
Drought Impact Maps. National Maps
Subdivided by State. 1998-present
U.S. Drought Monitor. 1999-present
Drought Information Center – NOAA
(Includes Soil Moisture and Crop Moisture Indices)
Other Drought Monitoring Tools
National Drought Mitigation Center
North American Drought Monitor  
    
HOT & COLD
Fire Weather Page. By Sub-State Regions Freeze/Frost Maps
Freeze/Frost Data Heating and Cooling Degree Days.
By State. 1992-present
    
PRECIPITATION AND STORMS
Precipitation Data. Hourly.
By State.1951-present
Storm Data. Storm Events by State and County.
1951-present.
Standardized Precipitation Index.
By Sub-State Regions. 1996-present

 

    
WEATHER MAPS - WEATHER BULLETINS
Weather Maps - Daily

Weekly PDF Files (past six months only)

Daily Weather Maps Online since September 1, 2002

Daily Weather Maps In Print 1988-2002

UNI Documents C 55.195:
Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin
current

archives 1971-present
1961-1990. National Maps. Annual Normal Temperature, Annual Precipitation, Annual Heating Degree Days, and Annual Cooling Degree Days.
WIND
Wind Climatology

 





WWW Weather Resources

Atmospheric Datasets Online (David Schultz)
Cooperative Institute for Mesoscale Meteorological Studies
National Weather Service
NOAA
Climate Diagnostics Center National Severe Storms Laboratory
National Center for Atmospheric Research NOAA
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
National Climatic Data Center STORM Project (University of Northern Iowa)
The Science Center for Teaching, Outreach and Research on Meteorology
National Hurricane Center
Tropical Prediction Center

 

 

 U.S. GOVERNMENT - CLIMATE, METEOROLOGY,
 and WEATHER STATISTICS on CD-ROMs JOURNALS   

1961-1990 Global Climate Normals
National Climatic Data Center

UNI Docs CD-ROM - C 55.281/2-2:G 51/2/CD

"... a collection of DOS ASCII files which describe the 1961-1990 global standard climate normals for over 4000 stations worldwide computed by more than 135 countries and territories ..."
Maury Collection : Global Ship Observations 1792-1910

UNI Docs CD-ROM C 55.54:M 44

"Contains collection of historical ships' weather logs, providing information about the marine environment, winds and weather for several regions."
Climatology Interdisciplinary Data Collection (CIDC) : Monthly Means of over 70 Climate Parameters for Research and Teaching

UNI Docs CD-ROM - NAS 1.86:C 61/V.1-4/CD

"Designed for study of global change, seasonal to interannual climate change, and other phenomena that require from one to dozens of interacting parameters. Also contains 3 heuristic scenarios dealing with monsoons, El Nino events, and global warming."
United States Snow Climatology

UNI Docs CD-ROM - C 55.281/2-2:SN 6/V.1-3/CD


"Includes data files, documentation files, and user friendly table files; shown as 1) NORMALS; 2) Snow climatology for stations in COOP network to support NWS real-time snow operations; and 3) RETURN statistics to support FEMA snow disaster declarations activities."
International Surface Weather Observations, 1982-1997

UNI Docs CD-ROM - C 55.54:W 37/V.1-5/CD

"Includes hourly and/or synoptic climatic data for approximately 1500 international stations; provides worldwide coverage of city locations.

 


 

REFERENCE RESOURCES (Print)

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Air
UNI Reference - QC854 .N48 2003
Facts on File Dictionary of Weather and Climate
UNI Reference - QC854 .F33 2001
Encyclopedia of Atmospheric Sciences
UNI Reference - QC854 .E5224 2003
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Weather
UNI Reference - QC854 .S74 2001
Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones
UNI Reference - QC944 .L66 1998
Oxford Dictionary of Weather
UNI Reference - QC854 .D86 2001
Encyclopedia of Weather and Climate
UNI Reference - QC854 .A45 2002

     
HANDBOOKS
Facts on File: Weather and Climate Handbook
UNI Reference - QC981 .A49 2002
Recent Advances and Issues in Meteorology
UNI Reference - QC861.3 .S74 2002



 

What's Up in the Stacks (Books on the Fourth Floor)
 

                         

 

  

Library |  MyUNIverse |  Calendar |  Email |  WebCT |  My Library |  Contact Us |  Site Index |  UNI
Copyright © 1997-2008 Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, 1227 W. 27th St., Cedar Falls, IA 50613-3675
Tel. (319) 273-2838 | FAX (319) 273-2913 | TTY (319) 273-7299
http://www.library.uni.edu/instruction/guides/weather.shtml
Last updated: Wednesday, Aug 20, 2008

Last Major Revision: 17 December 2004 CN
Last Updated 7/2/07