EndNote

Subject Guide

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a computer application that allows users to store citations and output them in various styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago Manual of Style for use in research papers and articles.  For more information on these and other styles go to Rod Library's Style Guides.  

EndNote lets you download your search results directly into a citation library, and can even create your bibliography while you compose.  EndNote is available for both Windows and Macintosh platforms at University Book and Supply. A free 30-day trial version of the software can be downloaded from the  Endnote Website.

What is EndNote Web?

EndNote Web is a web-based version of EndNote that makes it possible to store and access your EndNote data on the web from any computer connected to the internet.  This convenience allows you to do research on a library computer, and access your stored research later from a home computer or even another library computer.   EndNote Web does not require that you own the desktop version of EndNote.

EndNote Web is freely available to the UNI community via our subscription to Web of Knowledge.  To sign up for your account go to http://www.myendnoteweb.com. You must use your UNI email address to create your free account.

Look for "Direct Export to EndNote Web" when exporting citations from library databases. 

How do I use EndNote?

The Endnote Website provides a number of helpful online tutorials that can be accessed at the following URL: http://www.endnote.com/training/ .  Each tutorial  focuses on a single task or topic in a concise and easy to follow 5 - 10 minute video.  You can also register for webinars that are live, allowing for interaction from attendees including questions.  The site includes tutorials for the following versions of EndNote: X3, X2, X1, and EndNote Web. 

How can I use EndNote with the Rod Library databases?

Many of our online databases provide marking and exporting options enabling users to export preselected citations to EndNote as well as other bibliographic management programs such as RefWorks.  Our testing seems to indicate that Internet Explorer handles this better than Firefox.  In addition, popup blockers will interfere with this process so you will need to set an exception or turn off popup blockers when doing this. 

For a direct transfer of the citation to your EndNote Web Account, look for and select the option "Direct Export to EndNote Web" in Rod Library database citations. Not all library databases provide the EndNote Web option. If the database does not offer "Direct Export to EndNote Web," you will need to save the citations from the database to your computer's hard drive and then import them into your EndNote Web. The steps vary from database to database. Following are some instructions for specific library resources. 

UNISTAR

  • Perform a search from EndNote using a connection file.
  • From EndNote go to the tools menu.
  • Select "Online Search...".
  • Select U Northern Iowa from the select a connection dialog box.
  • Perform a search using the EndNote interface.
  • Results will be downloaded into the EndNote library.

Note: Version X3 by default only loads the 100 most popular connection files so U Northern Iowa will not appear in that list.  You must use the installation disk or the EndNote web site to obtain the connection file

Note: The UNISTAR server is restricted to certain Iowa IP addresses due to excessive use of this service by bots.  If you cannot connect, contact us and we will see if we can add an ip range that will work for you.

Panther Prowler

  • Perform a search from Panther Prowler.
  • Click on "Save this Record"  at the bottom of each record you want to save.
  • Click on the "My Saved Records" link at the top right.
  • Click on the "Download to Endnote, Zotero, etc. option under Export Options listed on the right.
  • Select "directly into Endnote, Zotero, or other citation management application"  option.
  • Click the "Download" button.
  • Select the desired Reference Library from the EndNote popup box.
  • The select references will be downloaded into the selected library.

EBSCO databases (offer "Direct Export to EndNote Web")
 

  • Perform a search from database.
  • Select records by clicking the  "add to folder" link.
  • Go to the folder by clicking the "folder" icon at the top of the page.
  • Reselect all the records you want to export from the folder.
  • Click on the export icon (a page with a green arrow).
  • Check " "
  • Click the "save" button.
  • Select the desired Reference Library from the EndNote popup box.
  • The select references will be downloaded into the selected library.

For questions about EndNote, contact John Wynstra at Rod Library.