EndNote Web

Subject Guide

What is EndNote Web?

EndNote is an application that allows users to store citations and output them in various styles such as APA, MLA, and Chicago Manual of Style for use in research papers and articles.   Rod Library subscribes to a Web-based version of EndNote that makes it possible to store and access your EndNote data on the Web from any computer connected to the Internet.  This convenience allows you to do research on a library computer and access your stored research later from a home computer or even another library computer.   (EndNote is also available in a desktop version that can be purchased by individuals at local stores.)

EndNote Web is freely available to the UNI community via our subscription to Web of Knowledge.  

Registering for Free Account

To get started, you need to register and create an account for yourself.  To do so, follow this link to Web of Science. After reaching Web of Science, click the My EndNote Web link in the upper, middle portion of the screen to go to a page to register for an account. After creating your account, you can access through Web of Science, or go directly to http://www.myendnoteweb.com   

How Do I Use EndNote Web?

The Endnote Website provides a number of helpful online tutorials that can be accessed at the following URL: http://www.endnote.com/training/ .  Select the choice for EndNote Web Basics. Each tutorial  focuses on a single task or topic in a concise and easy to follow 3 - 6 minute videos.  You can also register for webinars that are live, allowing for interaction from attendees including questions. A Quick Reference Card provides step-by-step instructions.

References can be collected in an EndNote Web account by methods such as transfers from a database or manual entry. Once in an EndNote Web account, references can be organized into folders named by the user. References can be formatted into any of dozens of bibliographic styles such as APA.

Popup blockers may need to be turned off while transferring references from a database to EndNote Web.

How can I use EndNote Web with Rod Library databases?

Many of our online databases provide marking and exporting options enabling users to export preselected citations to EndNote Web.  

Some Rod Library databases such as Web of Science, ERIC EBSCO, and PsycINFO provide a particularly convenient way to mark citations for "Direct Export to EndNote Web."

For a direct transfer of citations to your EndNote Web Account, look for and select the option "Direct Export to EndNote Web" after marking citations in Rod Library databases. Not all library databases provide the Direct Export into EndNote Web option. If the database does not offer this option,  you will need to save the citations from the database to your computer's hard drive and then import them into your EndNote Web. These steps vary from database to database.

Other EndNote Web Features

Features such as "Cite While you Write in Microsoft Word"  and  the EndNote Web browser plug-in for Internet Explorer and Firefox plug-ins will be attractive for some users. These are explained in the tutorials mentioned above.

If you have questions about EndNote Web, contact the Rod Library Ask Us! reference service.