- Mobile
- |
- Text Only
- |
- Site Index
- |
- Calendar
- |
- eLearning
- |
- |
- MyUNIverse
Environmental Science
|
|
Find Articles
- Academic OneFile (Use Advanced Search)
- Academic Search Elite (EBSCO)
- ACS Publications - American Chemical Society
- AGRICOLA (agriculture)
- Biological Abstracts
- BioMed Central
- CQ Researcher (basic background source)
- Dissertations and Theses Full Text
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
- EarthWire (news) (citation counts)
- Engineering Village 2 (change "All document types" to "Journal article)
- Google Scholar (citation counts)
- GreenFILE
- HighWire Press (choose "more search options")
- Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
- Public Affairs Index (public policy)
- PubMed (health - medicine) (choose "Limits" option at top of page)
- PubMed Central (smaller full text version of PubMed) (choose "Limits" option at top of page)
- ScienceDirect (choose "Advanced Search" at right side of gray toolbar)
- SpringerLink (choose "Advanced Search")
- Web of Science (citation counts)
- Wiley Online Library (choose "Advanced Search")
Find Online Reference Sources
CQ Researcher (topic overviews)
Gale Virtual Reference Library (online encyclopedias)
Opposing Viewpoints (pro and con)
Find a Book
- UNISTAR - The UNI Rod Library Catalog - is used to locate the books, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in this library.
- Google Book Search - view portions of recent books online. Set search to "Limited preview and Full view"
- OhioLinkand Mobius - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on soils not owned by the Rod Library. These systems will often search the titles of book chapters. Use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR.
- WorldCat- The catalog of catalogs!
Enviromental Law and Legislation
Laws and Legislation (United States)
Court Cases (United States)
LexisNexis Academic (Federal Code)
Click on "Legal" tab
Click on "Federal & State Codes"LexisNexis Academic (Federal Cases)
Click on "Legal" tab
Click on "Federal & State Cases"
LexisNexis Academic (State Codes)
Click on "Legal" tab (on the upper left-hand side)
Click on "Federal & State Codes"
Choose State in Question under "Sources"LexisNexis Academic (State Case Law)
Click on "Legal" tab
Click on "Federal & State Cases"
Choose State in Question under "Sources"
Laws and Legislation (Canada)
Laws and Legislation (European Union)
LexisNexis Academic (Canadian Statutes & Legislation)
Click on "Legal" tab
Click on "Canadian Legislation"LexisNexis Academic (European Union Law)
Click on "Legal" tab
Click on "European Union, Commonwealth & Foreign Nations"
Law Reviews
LexisNexis Academic (Law Reviews)
Click on "Legal" tab
Locating Online Government Publications with Google
Limit Google searches to the specific web address of an agency using the "site" command.
e.g. The web address of the Environmental Protection Agency is http://www.epa.gov/
So to search documents on climate change within the EPA try the following Google Search:
"climate change" and site:epa.gov
... or search EPA for only those documents with climate change in the title of the document:
intitle:"climate change" and site:epa.gov
Maps and Atlases
The Rod Library has over 100 maps and atlases dealing with environmental issues.
To find these resources search UNISTAR and limit Location to UNI-MAP.
Internet Resources for Environmental Science
Agencies, Associations, and Organizations
- Audubon Society
- Clean Water Network
- EPA – Environmental Protection Agency
- Global Footprint Network
- Green Parties Worldwide
- Greenpeace
- Institute of Global Environment and Society
- IPCC - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
- National Resources Conservation Service
- National Resources Defense Council
- National Wildlife Federation
- Nature Conservancy
- North American Association for Environmental Education
- PETE - Partnership for Environmental Technology Education
- Sierra Club
- UNEP - United Nations Environment Programme
- World Wildlife Fund
- African Environmental Outlook 1 (2002) (UNEP online book)
- African Environmental Outlook 2 (2006) (UNEP online book)
- Blue Carbon: The Role of Healthy Oceans in Binding Carbon (2009) (UNEP online book)
- Case for Climate Neutrality (2008) (UNEP online book)
- Clearing the Waters: A Focus on Water Quality Solutions (2010) (UNEP online book)
- Climate Change 2007: Impacts, Adaption, and Vulnerability (online report of the IPCC)
- Climate Change 2007: Mitigation of Climate Change (online report of the IPCC)
- Climate Change 2007: Physical Science Basis (online report of the IPCC)
- Climate Change 2007: Synthesis Report (online report of the IPCC)
- Climate in Peril: A Popular Guide to the Latest IPCC Reports (2009 report of the IPCC)
- Continental Shelf: The Last Maritime Zone (2009) (UNEP online book)
- Environmental Food Crisis (2009) (UNEP online book)
- Environmental Times (UNEP online newspaper)
- Fall of the Water (2004) (UNEP online book)
- Global Environment Outlook 1 (1997) (UNEP online book)
- Global Environment Outlook 2 (2000) (UNEP online book)
- Global Environment Outlook 3 (2002) (UNEP online book)
- Global Environment Outlook 4 (2007) (UNEP online book)
- Global Outlook for Ice & Snow (2007) (UNEP online book)
- In Dead Water: Merging of Climate Change With Pollution,
Over-Harvest, and Infestations in the World's Fishing Grounds (2002) (UNEP online book) - Integrated Ecosystem Management Approach to Conserve Biodiversity (2009) (UNEP online book)
- IPCC Directory of Climate Change Reports (1990 - present)
- Kick the Habit: A UN Guide to Climate Neutrality (2008) (UNEP online book)
- Last Stand of the Gorilla: Environmental Crime and Confict in the Congo Basin (2010) (UNEP online book)
- Last Stand of the Orangutan: State of Emergency: Illegal Logging, Fire and Palm Oil in Indonesia's National Parks (2007) (UNEP online book)
- Natural Fix: The Role of Ecosystems in Climate Mitigation (2009) (UNEP online book)
- Our Precious Coasts (2006) (UNEP online book)
- Planet in Peril (2006) (UNEP online book)
- Sick Water? The Central Role of Wastewater Management in Sustainable Development (2002) (UNEP online book)
- UNEP Annual Report 2009
- Vital Climate Graphics (2006) (UNEP online publication)
- Vital Forest Graphics (2009) (UNEP online publication)
- Vital Ozone Graphics 2 - Climate Link (2010) (UNEP online publication)
- Vital Water Graphics: An Overview of the State of the World's Fresh and Marine Waters (2008) (UNEP online publication)
- Advanced Technology Environmental and Energy Center (ATEEC)
- Atlas of our Changing Environment
- ATTRA: National Sustainable Agriculture Information Service
- Cooperative Institute for Research in Environmental Sciences
- Digital Library for Earth System Education (DELESE)
- EarthTrends
- Encyclopedia of the Earth
- ENVIROLINK
- Environmental & Energy Resources Library (eERL)
- Environmental Education Station
- Environmental History Resources
- Environmental Knowledge for Change
- Environmental Literacy Council
- Greenhouse Gas Online
- IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
- National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR)
- National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
- Organic Center
- Pew Center on Global Climate Change
- RealClimate
- Tiempo Climate Library (Newswatch and Portal)
- UNEP Annual Report 2010
- UNEP Annual Report 2009
- USGS – Upper Midwest Environmental Science Center
Environmental Science Search Engines
- E-Print Network (OSTI)
- EPA Advanced Search
- Scirus (limit to "Scientists homepages")
- Water and Climate Bibliography (Pacific Institute)
- Center for Global and Regional Environmental Research (CGRER) (University of Iowa)
- Iowa Department of Natural Resources
- Iowa Energy Center (Iowa State University)
- Iowa Environmental Council
- Iowa Renewable Fuels Association
- Iowa Waste Reduction Center (University of Northern Iowa)
- Iowa's Environment (CGRER)
- Iowa Natural Resources Conservation Service (USDA)
- National Ag-Based Lubricants Center (University of Northern Iowa)
- Tallgrass Prairie Center (University of Northern Iowa)
Reference Resources (Print)
- Almanacs
- Earth Almanac: an Annual Geophysical Review of the State of the Planet
UNI Reference QB 631 E27
- Earth Almanac: an Annual Geophysical Review of the State of the Planet
- Bibliographies
- Environmental Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes
UNI Reference GE 35 E58 1999
- Environmental Literature: An Encyclopedia of Works, Authors, and Themes
- Biographies
- American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
UNI Reference GE 55 B43 2000
- American Environmental Leaders: From Colonial Times to the Present
- Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Environmental Economics
UNI Reference HC 79 E5 D53 2001 - Facts of File Dictionary of Environmental Science
UNI Reference TD 9 W95 2001 - Dictionary of Environmental Economics, Science and Policy
UNI Reference HC 79 E5 G685 2001 - Historical Dictionary of the Green Movement
UNI Reference GE 195 P36 1998 - Dictionary of Environmentally Important Chemicals
UNI Reference TD 196 C45 A97 1998 - Lewis’ Dictionary of Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health
UNI Reference T55 L468 2000 - Drinking Water Dictionary
UNI Reference TD 208 D75 2001 - Longman Dictionary of Environmental Science
UNI Reference GE 10 L38 1998 - Environment: A to Z
UNI Reference GE 10 H67 2001 - Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
UNI Reference S 592 S59 2001 - Environment Dictionary
UNI Reference GE 10 K45 1998
- Dictionary of Environmental Economics
- Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (five volumes)
UNI Reference QH 313 E53 2000 - Encyclopedia of Environmental Studies
UNI Reference TD 9 A84 2001 - Encyclopedia of Global Change (two volumes)
UNI Reference GE 149 E47 2002 - Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (three volumes)
UNI Reference GF 10 E63 2004 - Encyclopedia of Ecology & Environmental Management
UNI Reference GE 300 E53 1998 - International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics
UNI Reference GE 170 I55 2002 - Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues (three volumes)
UNI Reference GE 10 E52 2000 - Pollution A to Z (two volumes)
UNI Reference TD 173 P65 2004 - Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
UNI Reference GE 10 M66 2000 - Rivers of the World: a Social, Geographical, and Environmental Sourcebook
UNI Reference GB 1201.4
- Encyclopedia of Biodiversity (five volumes)
- Handbooks
- Chemical Elements in the Environment: Factsheets for the Geochemist and Environmental Scientist
UNI Reference QE 516.4 R45 1998 - Handbook of Drinking Water Quality
UNI Reference TD 365 D49 1997 - Concise Guide to Environmental Definitions, Conversions, and Formulae
UNI Reference TD145 F55 1999 - Hazardous Waste Handbook for Health and Safety
UNI Reference TD 1052 M38 2000 - Environmental Crimes and Corporate Responsibility: a Legal Research Guide
UNI Reference KF 241 E58 H47 2001 - International Environmental Standards Handbook
UNI Reference GE 300 O38 1999 - Handbook of Environmental Impact Assessment
UNI Reference GE 145 H35 1999 - Water Resources Handbook
UNI Reference TD 345 W38 1996
- Chemical Elements in the Environment: Factsheets for the Geochemist and Environmental Scientist
Standards and Testing Annual Book of ASTM Standards 2007 Water and Environmental Technology Section 11.01 – Water (I) Section 11.02 – Water (II) Section 11.05 – Pesticides; Section 11.03 – Section 11.06 - Biotechnology Section 11.04 - Waste Management
UNI Reference TA 401 A653 2007
Environmental Assessment;
Hazardous Substances and Oil Spill Response
Ocupational Health and Safety
Biological Effects and Environmental Fate
Section 11.07 - Atmospheric Analysis
What's Up in the Stacks (Books on the Third and Fourth Floors)
Thousands of books on a wide array of environmental science topics can be found on the top two floors (third and fourth floors) of this library:
Library Floor Maps - Virtual Tour of the Library
GE 1 – GE 350
Environmental Sciences
over 500 books
GF 51 – GF 86
Environmental Influences
on Humans, Environmental Ethics
over 120 books
HM 206 – HM 208
Environment - Social Elements and Social Forces
over 40 books
JA 75.8
Green Movement
over 20 books
K 3581 – K 3593
KF3775 - KF3794
Environmental Law
over 80 books
QH 72 – QH 81
Nature Conservation, Biological Diversity, Extinction …
over 270 books
QH 544 – QH 545
Influence of Special Factors in the Environment (Ecology)
over 120 books
QK 746 – QK 756
Chemical and Physical Agents Affecting Plants
over 30 books
RA 565 – RA 600
Environmental Health
over 200 books
S 622 – S 627
Soil Conservation and Protection
over 70 books
S 900 – S 972
Conservation of Natural Resources
over 160 books
SD 411 – SD 428
Forest Conservation and Protection
over 10 books
TD 168 – TD 171.8
Environmental Protection
over 100 books
TD 171.9 – TD 193.5
Environmental Pollution
over 160 books
TD 194 – TD 195.W6
Environmental Effects of Industries and Plants
over 150 books
TD 196
Environmental Pollutants
over 70 books
TD 365 – TD 418
Water Quality Management
and Water Conservation
over 50 books
TD 419 – TD 428
Water Pollution
over 110 books
TD 495 – TD 870
Municipal Waste Treatment and Disposal, Sewage
over 200 books
TD 878 – TD 880
Soil Pollution and Soil Remediation
over 20 books
TD 881 – TD 890
Air Pollution
over 170 books
TD 891 – TD 894
Noise Pollution, Noise Control
over 20 books
TD 896 – TD 949
Industrial Waste and Disposal
over 110 books
TD 1015 – TD 1066
Hazardous Waste and Disposal
over 40 books







