Industry Information Sources

Subject Guide

Contents

Industries are groups of companies that sell the same products or services. For example, companies such as General Motors and Toyota make up the automobile manufacturing industry. Some of the sources on this guide provide short summaries of numerous industries; others analyze particular industries in detail. Some include information on buyers as well as sellers of particular products or services.

The sources on this guide are a sample of important print and online industry resources. They include books at Rod Library, online sources to which Rod Library subscribes (marked with an *), and other web sources which at this time are free or partially free. Call numbers are listed under the titles of print sources available at the library. Underlined titles can be accessed via the web. If accessing a Rod Library subscription database from off campus, you will be prompted for your last name and UNI student ID number.

Other Library User Guides go into more detail on finding information on topics such as accounting, companies, economics, finance, financial ratios, industries, management, and marketing.

Some of the databases on this guide also are available through the Rod Library Business Portal.

Finding Books top

Use UNISTAR, the online catalog, to identify and locate economic studies, trade association statistical reports, government publications, and other documents on particular industries. A wide range of subject headings can be used to find information about industries. Examples of such headings are:

If unsure of the most appropriate subject heading, use the UNISTAR keyword search, and combine terms such as industr* or market* with terms for a specific industry such as sporting goods. (The asterisk allows for retrieval of words with various endings.) Such a search would be structured as follows:

(industr* or market*) and sporting goods

Defining the Industry top

Many sources use numerical industry classification systems to organize information on industries and companies. The most commonly used ones in the U.S. are the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) scheme and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). NAICS replaced the SIC system in 1997, but many sources still use SICs. Other sources use words to define industries: air transport, apparel, banking, etc. Some industries are narrowly defined, and their scope may be understood only through study of published literature and information from the involved companies and trade associations.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual
UNI Reference HF 1041 U613 1987
This is a guide to the Standard Industrial Classification system developed by the U.S. government to standardize reporting of industry and company data. As noted above, it is being replaced by the NAICS system, but many reference sources continue to use SIC codes. A detailed alphabetical product index can help in finding the right code.

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS)
UNI Reference HF 1042 N67 1997
NAICS is a system that provides common industry definitions for the U.S., Mexico, and Canada. It is gradually replacing the SIC system in the United States. It includes a table that translates 1987 SIC codes to 1997 NAICS codes and vice versa. A detailed alphabetical product index can help in finding the right code.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys via  NetAdvantage*
UNI Stacks HC101 S73; latest online
Value Line Investment Survey*
UNI Ref Desk CBT HG 4501 V26
Other sources such as these develop their own industry categories.


How to determine the NAICSs and SICs for a particular company? Sources such as the following include the SICs (and NAICs) in company entries.


Business and Company Resource Center *
Company profiles include NAICS and SIC industries in which the company operates. The first NAICs and SICs are the primary line of business.

Industry Surveys top

The following titles provide written and numerical descriptions and analyses of numerous industries.

AICPA Audit and Accounting Guides, RIA CheckPoint
Listed under Accounting, Auditing & Corporation Finance Practice Area drop-down on left side of screen.
AICPA Audit guides for particular industries usually include history and overview of the industry. Industries covered include airlines, casinos, construction, and so on.

Business and Company Resource Center *
Indexes industry overviews and market research reports. To search this collection, go to Advanced Search and pick Industry Overviews as Content Area. The reports are from sources such as Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Global Industries, and DataMonitor Market Research Reports.

Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing
UNI Reference HD 9720.5 E53 2008
Provides overviews of 120 products, ranging from athletic shoes to cellular phones to coffee to construction machinery to ice cream to vacuum cleaners. Each article provides: product overview, market, key companies, materials & supply chain, distribution channel, key users, adjacent markets, r&d, current trends, target markets & segments, and references.

IBISWorld*
Provides analysis of nearly 700 industries at the five-digit NAICS level. Reports typically contain key industry statistics; market characteristics such as market size, demand determinants, basis of competition, and life cycle stage; product and service segments and shares; barriers to entry, cost structure, regulation and technology factors; key competitors; and forecasts.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys via NetAdvantage*
UNI Stacks HC101 S73; latest online
Library has: Oct. 1990-2004
Each of 52 industry chapters describes the current environment by profiling the industry, discussing industry trends and how the industry operates, giving industry ratios and statistics, and explaining how to analyze a company in the industry. Lists additional industry references and provides composite industry and company financial data.

Value Line Investment Survey*
HG 4501 V26 Microfilm (Oct. 1972-1979) and Microfiche (1980-2004)
Latest online.
Provides one to two page analyses of industries, including five year forecasts of industry sales and other financial factors.

Industry Statistical Sources top

Business Statistics of the United States
UNI Reference HC 101 A1313
Library has: 1947; 1951-1979; 1982- (Formerly: Statistical Supplement to the Survey of Current Business)
Includes time series data, often on a monthly or quarterly basis, for major U.S. industries.

Manufacturing & Distribution U.S.A
UNI Reference HD9721 .M3495 and online
More than 450 industry profiles include data such as number of establishments, indices of change, product share details, inputs and outputs, materials consumed in manufacturing, occupations employed in the industry, industry data by state, and leading companies.

Mergent's Industry Review
UNI Reference HG 4961 M68
Ranks 3,500 companies in 137 industries by various financial criteria such as revenues, net income, PE ratio, and operating margin. Also includes one to five year growth rates for factors such as revenue and earnings per share.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
UNI Reference Desk HA 202 U58 (most recent);
UNI Reference HA 202 U58
Library has: 1878-1892, 1894-1926, 1928-
Provides statistics on major U.S. industries.

Additional Statistical Sources: Economic Censuses and Surveys top

The U.S. Bureau of the Census conducts economic censuses during years ending in 2 and 7; it also conducts various surveys on a weekly, monthly, and annual basis. All of the following sources arrange data by SIC or NAICS code and by geographic areas such as the US, states, counties, and cities.

Annual Survey of Manufactures
Data includes number of employees, value added, and shipments.

Census Bureau Economic Programs
Links to censuses and surveys in economic sectors such as construction, manufacturing, mining, retail, services, transportation, and wholesale.

Economic Census
Includes data such as sales, number of establishments, and number of employees for retail, wholesale, manufacturing, construction, transportation, and other major industries. Done every five years; 2007 census data will be released in 2009 through 2011.

Investment and Market Reports top

Business and Company Resource Center *
Indexes industry overviews and market research reports. To search this collection, go to Advanced Search and pick Industry Overviews as Content Area. The reports are from sources such as Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Global Industries, and DataMonitor Market Research Reports.

*Mintel Reports
Contains the full text of several hundred reports on products in categories such as automotive, clothing and fashion, drink, and electronics. Some reports focus on demographic categories such as high-income households. About half of the reports cover the U.S. and other half cover other countries, mostly in Europe and Asia. Must create personal password associated with email address when log on for the first time.

Identifying Articles and Government Publications top

The tools in this section index and in many cases provide the full text of articles in scholarly journals, in general business magazines, trade journals, and in newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal.

These links go directly to the source if you are accessing from on campus. If accessing from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and UNI ID number. All of the online sources in this section are also listed under Databases A-Z and under Field of Study on the library home page. Multiple accounting and business databases can be searched simultaneously using Panther Prowler.

The search forms for these databases - ABI/INFORM, Business & Company Resource Center, and Business Source Elite - include a box that can be checked to limit results to scholarly or academic or peer-reviewed journals. This method does not work perfectly, but it will produce results that are more likely to be from academic journals.

Multiple company information databases can be searched simultaneously using Panther Prowler.

Also, many of the databases can be accessed via the Rod Library Business Portal.

ABI/INFORM Global *
Indexes periodicals in all major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. Covers academic journals, trade journals, business magazines and newspapers, doctoral dissertations, and Hoover's premium company information.

Business and Company Resource Center *
Indexes periodicals in all other major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. Covers academic journals, business magazines, trade journals, and business newspapers.

Business Source Elite*
Indexes periodicals in all major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. It also includes about 10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor; many of these include SWOT analyses.

LexisNexis Congressional *
Indexes Congressional publications such as reports, bills, and the Congressional Record; provides laws such as statutes and regulations; and also provides the transcripts of testimony before Congress. The testimony search makes it possible to search for testimony by specific executives and by representatives of particular companies and industries.

Statistics Indexes top

Fedstats
Index to statistics produced by U.S. government agencies.

LexisNexis Statistical  *
Indexes statistics from U.S. and state government sources as well as private sources.

Trade Associations and Industry Portals top

ASAE Gateway to Associations
Directory of association web pages.

Encyclopedia of Associations
UNI Reference Desk AS 22 E5 (Next latest ed. in UNI Acquisitions; third latest in UNI Stacks)
This is the most comprehensive single directory of associations. Includes pointers to web pages. Business-related associations are listed in Business & Company Resource Center.

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
UNI Reference HF 5351 E59 (Latest ed. in UNI Reference, next latest in UNI Stacks) Lists major information sources, including the most important associations and trade journals, in various industries.

Export.gov Market Research
Includes Country Commercial Guides, Industry Overviews, and Regional Reports.

Industrial College of the Armed Forces Industry Studies
ICAF Industry Studies focus on national security aspects of major industrial sectors such as agribusiness, construction, shipbuilding, and transportation.

Industry Home Pages (Polsen Enterprises)
Directory of industry oriented web sites.

Industry Information Resources
ValuationResources.com provides links to a wide range of information sources, such as trade associations, on about 320 industries, arranged by SIC codes. Some of the sources are free and others are not. Some of the sources listed as being available for a fee, such as IBISWorld, are subscribed to by Rod Library.

Yahoo Finance! Industry Center
Lists leading companies, analysts, news, and other information for covered industries.

Financial and Operating Ratios top

Another library user's guide covers financial and operating ratios.

October 1, 2010