Maps

Subject Guide

Table of Contents

Maps:

Astronomical  |  Environmental  |  Geographical  |  Geophysical  |  Historical/Cultural  |  Literary  | 
Administrative/Political |  Recreational/Landmarks  |  Sociological   |  Time & Date

Rod Library Map Collection Wytfliet's Map of the Southern Continent, 1597

Iowa Links

Map Collections

Locating/Purchasing Maps

Understanding Maps & Cartography

Cartographic Organizations

Maps

Astronomical

Free Sky Maps - Cities around the World: http://space.about.com/od/skymaps/a/skymapcities.htm
Click on a city to see the star map for that day.

Mag-7 Star Atlas Project http://www.cloudynights.com/item.php?item_id=1052
20 primary charts and one supplemental chart.
 

Environmental

Encyclopedia of Earth: http://www.eoearth.org/ (EoE)
"Emphasis on the interaction between society and the natural spheres of the Earth."

Federation of Earth Science Information Partners http://gos2.geodata.gov/wps/portal/gos
"...a network of researchers and associated groups that collects, interprets and develops applications for satellite-generated Earth observation information."
Includes administrative, geological, environmental, and sociological categories as well as many more topics of immediate concern such as hurricanes and wildfires.

Green Map Atlas: http://greenatlas.org/ (Green Map System)
Promotes sustainable communities.

Renewable Energy Atlas of Alaska
http://www.aidea.org/aea/Reports%20and%20Presentations/EnergyAtlas2007.pdf(Alaska Energy Authority)
A 28 page pdf highlighting the various energy sources in Alaska.

3D Nature: http://3dnature.com/EarthDay2007.html
3D Lanscape Design & Visualization software. See free images for Earth Day. http://3dnature.com/EarthDay2007.html

Geographical

TerraServer (Online Imagery): http://www.terraserver.com/

Census 2000 U.S. Gazetteer Files: http://www.census.gov/geo/www/gazetteer/places2k.html
Place names from Census 2000 Sumary Tabe File 1.

Digital Map Resources: http://www.mapresources.com/ (MapResources.com)
Fully editable downloadable maps.

Geobase: http://www.geobase.ca/geobase/en/index.html (Canadian Council of Geomatics)
Provides up-to-date geospatial data for all of Canada.

Google Earth http://earth.google.com/

Holy Land Maps: http://www.jnul.huji.ac.il/dl/maps/pal/html/ (Jewish National & University Library)

Maine State Geoarchives: http://www.maine.gov/sos/arc/geoarchives.html (State of Maine) Geographic, geologic and political maps of Maine.

Maps of Africa: http://www.library.northwestern.edu/govinfo/collections/mapsofafrica/ (Northwestern University Library)

National Library of Scotland Maps: http://www.nls.uk/maps/

NGA GEOnet Names Server: http://earth-info.nga.mil/gns/html/index.html (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency)
International place names

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/ (University of Texas Libraries)
Political and physical maps of different areas of the world. One section highlights maps of areas of current interest such as the Middle East.

Presentation Maps: http://www.presentationmaps.com/
Downloadable maps for presentations. Five formats are available.

USGS Geographic Names Information Service: http://geonames.usgs.gov/pls/gnispublic/ (U.S. Geological Survey)
U.S. and Antarctic place names.

View USGS Maps and Aerial Photo Images Online http://nationalmap.gov/gio/viewonline.html (U.S. Geological Survey)
 

Geophysical

Surf Your Watershed http://cfpub1.epa.gov/surf/locate/index.cfm (Environmental Protection Agency)
You may enter a zip code or select a state and click on an area of the state to find the watershed for that area.

GISDATA Map Studio http://gisdata.usgs.net/ (US Geologic Survey (USGS) and Earth Resources Observation & Science (EROS))
"Our goal is to introduce seamless browse and delivery of the National Elevation Dataset, the National Land Cover Dataset, and the National Hydrography Dataset."

MetaCarta GeoIntel for Petroleum http://geointel.metacarta.com/
Indexes maps related to the energy industry. Users may enter a topic and location. [lots of journal articles related to the energy industry]
 

Historical/Cultural

Bible Geocoding: http://www.openbible.info/geo/ (OpenBible.Info)
The location of every identifiable place mentioned in the Bible.

Charting the Nation: http://www.chartingthenation.lib.ed.ac.uk/index.html (Edinburgh University Library)
Historical maps of Scotland 1550 - 1740.

David Rumsey Map Collection http://www.davidrumsey.com/ (Cartographic Associates)
This collection includes over 15,800 maps focusing on "rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials.

his-GIS.net http://www.his-gis.net/
Gateway for historical Geographical Information Systems (GIS) in history, for historical cartography and for historical geography.  A new site for historical uses of GIS. Includes sections on events/conferences and jobs/fellowships.

Historical Maps Overview: http://www.culturalresources.com/Maps.html (Cultural Resources, Inc.)
Maps grouped by historical period and also by geography.

Indian Culture: http://www.mapsofindia.com/culture/ (Maps of India)
Dance, culture, languages, religions and crafts of India.

Maps & Charts Documenting the Expansion of Christianity 
(Yale University Divinity School Library)

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection - Historical Maps http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/historical/index.html (University of Texas Libraries)
Includes historical maps of all areas of the world.

Tony Campell's Map History site: http://www.maphistory.info/ (WWW-Virtual Library - History)
A non-commercial site helpful in locating maps. The Images of Early Maps on the Web page includes many links to sites with digitized images of early maps.

U.S. Geological Survey Map Catalog: Culture & History

For historical maps of a military nature, see Digitized Primary American History Sources: The U.S. in Conflict
 

Literary

Dickens’ London http://www.charlesdickenspage.com/dickens_london_map.html (David A. Perdue)

Language of the land : The Library of Congress book of literary maps - Martha Hopkins and Michael Buscher
UNI Documents LC 5.2:L26/2
More than 230 literary maps from the Library of Congress

Moby Dick Literary Map http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/treasures/tri064.html (Library of Congress)

Zoom into Maps http://frontiers.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/features/maps/index.html (Library of Congress)
Literary maps featuring images of authors, their works and associated geographical features were popular in the 20th century. Because of their purpose, these maps may not be correct geographically.
 

Administrative/Political

Archiwum Map: http://english.mapywig.org/news.php (Wojskowego Instytutu Geograficznego)
Scanned "maps and geographic materials published by the Wojskowy Instytut Geograficzny (WIG) in 1919 - 1939."

Holy Land Maps: http://www.jnul.huji.ac.il/dl/maps/pal/html/ (Jewish National & University Library)

NHGIS - National HIstorical Geographic Information System: http://www.nhgis.org/ Contains "aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000. "

Social Explorer: http://www.socialexplorer.com/pub/home/home.aspx (Queens College of the City University of New York)
Census maps.
 

Recreational/Landmarks

National Park Service Interactive Map Center http://maps.nps.gov/
Maps of and information about the national parks
 

Sociological

BioMapping.net http://www.biomapping.net/index.htm (Christian Nold)
This project involves community members mapping their community by connecting Galvanic Skin Response (GSR) data of community members to their visual images of the community they are walking through.

Candanian census information: http://geodepot.statcan.ca/Diss/Data/Data_e.cfm (Statistics Canada)
Maps and data from the 2001 Canadian census.

Google Earth http://earth.google.com/

Maps in American Factfinder: http://factfinder.census.gov/jsp/saff/SAFFInfo.jsp?_pageId=gn7_maps (U.S. Census bureau)
Includes tutorial on "creating and using maps."

Worldmapper: http://www.sasi.group.shef.ac.uk/worldmapper/index.html (SASI Group (University of Sheffield) & Mark Newman (University of Michigan)).
Maps drawn according to topics instead of land mass. Example: In this map of Illiterate young women, areas of the world with the most illiterate young women appear larger than those areas with fewer illiterate young women. Maps cover a wide range of social, economic and environmental topics from bicycle imports to yellow fever victims to carbon emissions.
 

Time & Date

International Date Line http://geography.about.com/od/physicalgeography/a/idl.htm (Matt Rosenburg)
Explains the date line.

World Time Zone.com http://www.worldtimezone.com/
Interactive time zone map.

World Time Zone Map http://www.usno.navy.mil/USNO/astronomical-applications/astronomical-information-center/world-tzones (U.S. Naval Observatory)

 

Rod Library Map Collection

Locating Maps in Rod Library

Rod Library Map Collection Layout Word Document

 

Iowa

Average Annual Precipitation - Iowa: http://www.wrcc.dri.edu/pcpn/ia.gif (Oregon Climate Service)

City to City Distance: http://www.iowadotmaps.com/distance.asp (Iowa DOT) Select cities to "start from" and "end at" to see distance calculated.

Iowa and United States Maps Links: http://www.netstate.com/states/maps/ia_maps.htm (Netstate.com)
Outline and landform maps.

Iowa County Selection Map: http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/maps/iowa_map.html (U.S. Census Bureau)
Map showing county names. When clicked on, the U.S. census information for that county appears.

Iowa D.O.T. Maps (Iowa Department of Transportation)

Transportation map of Iowa http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/pdf/transmap.html
State Maps http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/state.html
County and City Maps http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/index.html
Transportations Map for Bicylists http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/pdf/bikemappdf.html
Iowa Historical Maps http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/historical/index.html

Iowa Geographic Map Server: http://ortho.gis.iastate.edu/ (Iowa State University Geographic Information Systems Support & Research Facility)
Iowa maps and aerial photos.

Iowa Highway Map: http://www.sitesatlas.com/Flash/USCan/static/IAFH.htm (World Sites Atlas)

Iowa State Map Collection: http://geology.com/state-map/iowa.shtml (Geology.com) Maps showing relief, elevation, rivers, counties and roads.

Maps: http://www.iowa.gov/state/main/maps.html (Official State of Iowa Website)

Maps: http://www.iowadatacenter.org/maps (State Data Center of Iowa)
Reference and thematic maps.

Maps of Iowa: http://iowa.statesite.com/ia_maps.html (Harlan Jacobsen)
Various city and topographic maps as well as weather, gardening, health, and agriculture maps.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection -Iowa Maps http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/iowa.html (University of Texas Libraries)
Maps of state, city (topographic), historic, national monuments and state parks.

Sanborn Maps - State Library of Iowa
You must first apply for a State Library card.  Click here for information.  You may then login to Digital Sanborn Maps.

Satellite Image Map of Iowa: http://geology.com/satellite/iowa-satellite-image.shtml (Geology.com)

Science in Your Backyard: Iowa: http://www.usgs.gov/state/state.asp (U.S. Geological Survey)
Includes maps of Iowa showing groundwater, stream flow, flooding, drought, earthquakes, etc.

Transportation Map - http://www.iowadotmaps.com/msp/pdf/transmap.html (Iowa D.O.T.)
Also includes detailed maps of select cities.

Travel Information map: http://www.511ia.org/ (Iowa D.O.T.)
Road conditions map.

 

Map Collections

Alexandria Digital Library Geospatial Network http://clients.alexandria.ucsb.edu/webclient/index.jsp (David Valentine, Davidson Library, Map and Imagery Lab, )
Over 15, 000 holdings of maps, images and datasets.)

American Geographical Society Library: http://www.uwm.edu/Libraries/AGSL/

Broer Map Library: http://www.broermapsonline.org/members/

Map Division, NYPL: http://nypl.org/research/chss/map/map.html

NGDA Globetrotter http://clients.alexandria.ucsb.edu/globetrotter/ National Geospatial Digital Archive; University of California, Santa Barbara
Searchable cache of over 15,000 cartographic materials in a variety of formats.

Stanford Map Collection Index: http://cgi.stanford.edu/dept/SUL/library/cgi-bin/depts/branner/show.cgi

The University of Chicago Library Map Collection http://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/su/maps/
This is a guide to the maps contained in library. There is a sizable collection of digitized maps of Chicago and additional locations.

 

Locating/Purchasing Maps

East View Cartographic: http://www.cartographic.com/
"Browse, buy and search online from more than 7,000,000 worldwide maps, geospatial data products, and geographic locations."  Choices include: topographic, Digital Elevation Models (DEM), vector, imagery, atlases/books, geological/thematic, and nautical.

GIS Digital Spatial Data Clearinghouse: http://www4.uwm.edu/libraries/AGSL/agsgis/gislksA-Jdsd.cfm
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Index Maps: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/ams.html
Index maps of maps put out by the U.S. Army Map Service (AMS) and the Great Britain, War Office, General Staff: Geographical Section (GSGS). Order numbers of the maps highlighted on the index maps are given. It is not clear whether these maps are still available for ordering.

MapRecord Publications: http://www.maprecord.com/
A reference work describing antique maps and listing their values.

National Geographic Magazine Map Collection: http://www.ngmapcollection.com/
Contains maps which accompanied the National Geographic Magazine for the last 100 years. Maps can be seen but this collection is designed to be used as a source for ordering copies of these maps. Many are topical.

The Royal Geographical Society: http://www.rgs.org/HomePage.htm (London) The image library includes maps which are both historical and modern and can be purchased.

USGS Topographic Maps http://topomaps.usgs.gov/
7.5 minute quadrangles for sale
 

Understanding Maps and Cartography

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing (Regents of the University of California) http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/EART/abbrev.html

Gallery of Map Projections: http://www.galleryofmapprojections.com/ (Paul B. Anderson)
Includes maps showing different types of map projections. Also includes publications and presentations by map professionals.

GeoCoder.ca: http://geocoder.ca/
"Geocode any North American location."

How to convert decimal degrees into degrees, minutes, seconds (Matt Rosenberg) http://geography.about.com/c/ht/00/07/How_Convert_Decimal_Degrees0962932697.htm

How to Measure Distances on a Map http://geography.about.com/od/understandmaps/ht/htscale1.htm (Matt Rosenberg)

Isolines: http://geography.about.com/library/misc/blisoline.htm (About.com: geography)

Journal of Spatial Science http://www.mappingsciences.org.au/journal.htm (Mapping Sciences Institute, Australia)

Map History: The History of Cartography http://www.maphistory.info/ (WWW-Virtual Library History)
This site covers journals and newsletters related to the history of cartography.

Mathematical Data for Bibliographic Descriptions of Cartographic Material and Spatial Data :
http://www.kb.nl/skd/mathemat.html (by Jan Smits)
Includes a section on "Petermann's bar scale values" that lists ways of measuring distance by country and gives the metric equivalent.

Mathematics of Cartography: http://math.rice.edu/~lanius/pres/map/ (Cynthia Lanius)

Relief Shading: http://www.reliefshading.com/
Provides information about shaded relief in mapping.

Shaded Relief: http://www.shadedrelief.com/ (Tom Patterson, U.S. National Park Service) Examples, articles and tutorials of shaded relief mapping.

Topographic Map Symbols: http://egsc.usgs.gov/isb/pubs/booklets/symbols/ (U.S. Geological Survey)
Assists in understanding topographic maps.
 

Cartographic and Mapping Organizations

Association of American Geographers http://www.csun.edu/~hfgeg003/csg/

North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS): http://www.nacis.org/ Professional organization. Produces the journal Cartographic Perspectives (UNI Periodicals GA 101 C334)
Includes a list of university cartographers and cartographic labs in the U.S.

Last updated: Wednesday, May 20, 2009