- Text Only
- |
- Site Index
- |
- Calendar
- |
- eLearning
- |
- |
- MyUNIverse

The Rod Library subscribes to about 20 newspapers in print. In addition, the library can provide access and/or indexing to articles from many more newspapers and news periodicals in databases and serve as a gateway to newspapers and news sources located on the Internet.
"Newspapers are acquired by UNI to support the teaching and research needs of the University and to support current awareness by providing access to information on events and news at the local, state, national and international levels." - Rod Library Newspaper Collection Policy.
You may search for a specific newspaper title (via UNISTAR) to determine if Rod Library subscribes to it by clicking on Collections in the left menu on the Rod Library Home Page and then on Newspaper Collection. Enter a title in the search box. You may also browse the titles by clicking on Browse Print and Electronic Newspaper Titles in Library Catalog on that page. You may also look specifically for newspapers available electronically or Internet news sources by selecting Electronic Newspapers or Other News Sources the same page.
Recent newspapers may be browsed in the Newspaper Room located on the first floor behind the main staircase. Some newspapers and classified advertisements are located on the first floor at the MultiService Center's Periodicals Desk.
Past issues of some newspapers are available on microfilm on the first floor of the library in the Microforms Room. Microfilmed volumes/issues of newspapers are filed alphabetically by their title in the microform drawers. Check the Lib. Has ( Library Has) statement in the UNISTAR record for your title to find out which volumes/issues the library has and which are on microfilm. Many newspapers have gone through title changes so be sure to check for a Continues or Cont'd by (Continued by) statement in the UNISTAR record which indicates the existence of previous or newer titles by which the newspaper was/is known.
There are also several directories on the Internet that can help you find a specific news source or news sources on specific subjects. Here are some examples:
Newspapers.com
Contains over 10,000 newspapers links including major U.S. newspapers and links to World Newspapers.
Newslink
Located here are links to newspapers, magazines, and radio/TV sources. Newspaper sources include the U.S., world regions, and campus papers. Radio and television links are limited to the U.S. Network links are U.S. and "Non-U.S."
OnlineNewspapers.Com
This site has links to thousands of newspapers from across the world.
U.S. News Archives on the Web
This site is maintained by the News Division of the Special Libraries Association. The "Other Sources" page on this site provides additional links to sites with newspaper archives.
Yahoo Directory - Newspapers
A listing of newspapers on the web which may or may not be searched for no charge.
For additional news directories, U.S., regional, and international newspapers see: Electronic Newspapers.
The Rod Library has identified many newspapers available electronically which cover specific geographic areas. On the Rod Library home page,
Newspapers covering certain geographic areas may also be identified in UNISTAR by selecting the Specialized Search tab at the top. You may then enter a geographic area and select Newspapers from the Specialized Formats area. This will only identify newspapers to which Rod Library has a subscription - either in paper or electronic.
The following are reliable world news coverage sources available on the Internet.
BBC News
On the left menu, click on an area of the world. Some audio and video are available. Translations of the web site into five languages are available.
CNN.com
You can click on World and then select from Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East. Translations of the web site into six languages are available.
National Public Radio
Click on News from the top menu and then choose from U.S. news, World news, Business & High Tech, Health & Science, and Arts. This site has some audio recordings of news stories.
Iowa Public Radio (KUNI Radio, local NPR station)
An hour-by-hour schedule of the week is available on the KUNI web site. NPR's Morning Edition provides world news for several hours ending with 30 minutes of business and financial news.
NewsVoyager
Click on a state on the map and then on an individual newspaper.
World News Network
This source includes 9 regional areas of the world plus current events from news sources in 35 major cities in the world and separate categories for Sport, Business, Entertainment, Society, Language and Science.
Identifying news articles can be accomplished in several ways. One way is to search the paper or electronic indexes of paper or electronic newspapers owned by the Rod Library. The first five below are paper indexes.
The Christian Science Monitor Index
UNI Index/Abstract Al 21.C46
The New York Times Index
UNI Index/Abstract Al 21.N45
The Time Index (London)
UNI Index/Abstract Al 21.T46
The Washington Post Index
UNI Index/Abstract Al 21.W33
Index to the Waterloo Courier
UNI Index/Abstract Al 21.W37
For additional information on searching paper indexes to newspapers, check the front of the index or see the Library Guide: Newspapers and Indexes available on the Subject Guides page of the Rod Library home page.
The next sources provide electronic indexing to newspapers owned by the Rod Library. If you are unable to access these sources from an area remote from UNI, please see Accessing E-Resources from Off Campus.
The Des Moines Register
This title is available on ProQuest. Years 1991 through 2001 of the index are also available on CD-Rom. Select the Des Moines Register (under programs) from the start menu on the library computers. In addition to the above indexes, UNI's Rod Library staff is currently compiling a Des Moines Register Index September 1965 - June 1976.
IndexUNI (for the Northern Iowan)
Go to the the Rod Library Homepage. Click on Collections. Next, click on Special Collections & University Archives. Then, click on "IndexUNI." If you choose to search by "Advanced KEYWORD Search," you may then limit your search to only the Northern Iowan newspaper.
A second way to identify news articles is to search indexes that index many news sources. The following databases are examples of these indexes and are available through the Rod Library home page.
Also included under News are the following categories: Wire Service Stories; Transcripts; Book, Movie, Play and Video Reviews; Non-English Language News; Web Blogs; and University Wire stories among other sources.
Americas Newspapers (Newsbank)
Select from the following categories: Iowa News Sources, America's News Magazines, the World, and United States.
Ethnic Newswatch
This source contains the full text of newspapers, magazines and journals of ethnic, minority and native presses.
A third way to identify news items is to search for news on the Internet. Remember, searching an Internet newspaper for a specific article, once you are on its home page, will be limited to how well its search engine works, its coverage, and how many years in the past are included in its database. Look for "News" on the home page of a search engine or on a menu or directory on the search engine's home page. The following two search engines are examples:
Yahoo News
News topic categories included on the "News" page are: Top Stories, World, Business, Politics, Entertainment, Technology, Local, Sports, Opinion/Editorial among others.
Google
Click on "Directory" on the Google home page and then click on "News." You may then click on "By Subject" if desired. 23 different subject categories are listed, included among which are Autos, Aviation, Crime, Disabilities, Environment, Ethnicity, Health, Human Rights, Labor Movement, Law, and Military.
Copyright 2009, Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa.
1227 West 27th Street, Cedar Falls, Iowa 50613-3675 - (319) 273-2838.
Maintained by Web Coordinator. Staff Intranet.
