Paleontology

 

Find Articles


Find Books

  • Google Book Search - Online books prior to 1923.  Partial view of recent books.
    (Set search to "Limited preview and full view")
  • OhioLink and Mobius - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on botany not owned by the Rod Library. These systems will often search the titles of book chapters. If you find a book the library doesn't own - use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR.

  • WorldCat - The catalog of catalogs!

 

Find Government Documents

There are about 600 Government Documents in the Rod Library dealing with Paleontology.
To find these resources search
UNISTAR and limit Location to UNI Documents.

 

Locate U.S.G.S. Publications

Search the USGS Library Catalog - http://library.usgs.gov

Visit - "How to Find USGS Publications Online" - an overview on locating resources from USGS.

Try Google UncleSam - http://www.google.com/unclesam --- use advanced search and set "Search within a site or domain" to particular agency - e.g. usgs.gov

 

Alternatively, limit Google searches to the specific agency web addresses using the "site" command.

 

e.g.   The web address of the U.S. Geological Survey is http://www.usgs.gov

So to search documents on the Devonian within the USGS try the following Google Search:

                                    Devonian and site:usgs.gov

  ... or search USGS for only those documents with "Devonian" in the title of the document:

                                    intitle:Devonian and site:usgs.gov

 

Locate Iowa Geological Survey Publications

Iowa DNR - Iowa Geological Survey

Iowa DNR List of Publications --- (Online, Free, Out of Print) Search by Geologic System, County, and Keyword

 

Internet Resources


Associations

American Quaternary Association
Palaeontological Association
Paleontological Society
Society of Vertebrate Paleontology


Dinosaurs

Age of Dinosaurs in Iowa  (Iowa Dept. of Nat. Resources)
Dinobase  (University of Bristol)
Dinosaurs  (A Meta Site by Digital Librarian)


Directories

PaleoNet Pages
Paleontology & Fossils Resources
Paleontology Portal


Early Mammals

 

Fossil Mammal Research Group (Liverpool John Moores University)
Paleocene Mammals of the World (Martin Jehle - University of Arizona)


Invertebrates

Burgess Shale (Smithsonian National Museum)
Echinoid Directory
  (Natural History Museum of London)
Fossils of the Burgess Shale  (Georgia Perimeter College)
Guide to the Orders of Trilobites  (Sam Gon)
Introduction to the Early Paleozoic  (Georgia Perimeter College)
Nebraska’s Invertebrate Fossils  (University of Nebraska – Lincoln)
Trilobites  (Western Washington University)


Iowa Fossils

Age of Dinosaurs in Iowa   (Iowa Dept. of Nat. Resources)
Ancient Amphibians Discovered in Iowa (Iowa Dept. of Nat. Resources)
Devonian Fossil Gorge  (Iowa Dept. of Nat. Resources)
Fossils of Iowa  (Iowa Dept. of Nat. Resources – Jean Prior)


Online Exhibits and Museums

American Museum of Natural History  Division of Paleontology
Chinese Dinosaurs  Australian Museum
Dawn of Animal Life Miller Museum – Queen’s University, Ontario
Dinosaur Exhibits  National Museum of Natural History (Smithsonian)
Dinosaurs and Their Relatives - Australian Museum   
Follow a Fossil  Denver Museum of Nature & Science
Prehistoric Life  Museum Victoria
UCMP Exhibit Halls University of California Museum of Paleontology


Search Engines and Digital Libraries

Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates
DLESE - Digital Library for Earth System Education
NSDL - National Science Digital Library
SCIRUS (try advanced search and perhaps limit to scientist homepages)
 

 

Reference Resources (Print)


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dinosaurs the Encyclopedia
UNI Reference QE 862 D5 G652 1997

Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs
UNI Reference QE 862 D5 C862 1997

Encyclopedia of Evolution
UNI Reference QH 360.2 E54 2002

Encyclopedia of Paleontology
UNI Reference QE 703 E52

Encyclopedia of Paleontology
UNI Reference QE 703 E523 1999

Encyclopedia of Prehistory
UNI Reference QE 26.3 L36 2002

Simon & Schuster Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs & Prehistoric Creatures
UNI Reference QE 841 M225 1999


Handbooks

Fossils of Iowa: Field Guide to Paleozoic Deposits
UNI Stacks QE 654 W77 1983

Simon & Schuster’s Guide to Fossils
UNI Reference QE 714.3 A7313 1986

Treatise on Invertebrate Paleontology
UNI Stacks QE 770 J6 (40 volumes)

 

Last updated 5/1/2010