"No one can make you feel inferior without your consent." ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
This guide outlines both print and electronic resources for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender studies to be found in the Rod Library.
Table of Contents
- Online Journals, Databases and Resources
- Finding Books
- Research Guides and Bibliographies
- Biography
- Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Almanacs
Online Journals, Databases and Resources
Rod Library has several online journals, databases and electronic resources that deal with gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgendered issues.
Online Journals
Following is a list of current journal holdings in areas of interest for gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered studies:
ACCESS Line (UNI Periodicals HQ75.A25 1992-)
The Advocate [1]
Gay and Lesbian Issues and Psychology Review (Online 2005-) [2]
Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide (Online 1999-) [3]
GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies (Online 2000-) [4]
Harvard Gay & Lesbian Review (Online 1999-) [5]
Intersections (Online 1998-) [6]
Journal of Gay and Lesbian Social Services (Online 1996-) [7]
Journal of Homosexuality (Online 1993-) [8]
researchtools.uni.edu:3210/uni [9]Lesbian News (Online 1996-)
Lesbian-Gay Law Notes (Online 1992-) [10]
Sex Roles (Online 1993-) [11]
Databases/Indexes
The following databases will be helpful in identifying articles in journals. You may find these databases by clicking on Databases A-Z under the Articles tab on the Rod Library home page [12].
Family & Society Studies Worldwide [13]
Dates Covered: 1970-
This database contains research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, and human development. Useful search terms include "homosexuality," "lesbians," "transgender," and "bisexual."
Gender Studies Database [14]
Dates Covered: 1972 (some earlier) to present.
A good source for articles on lesbianism, homosexuality, homophobia, heterosexism, gender studies, and bisexuality, and related subjects. Useful search terms include "lesbian," "bisexual," "homosexuality," and "transsexuality."
LexisNexis Academic [15]
Indexes articles in news, business, legal, medical, and reference information. Also covers U.S. and state legal cases.
MLA International Bibliogrraphy [16]
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations covering literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Search this for gender related subjects in literature.
PsycARTICLES
[17]Full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more.
PsycINFO [18]
Psychological Abstracts
UNI Index/Abstract BF 1 P65
Library has: 1927-
Dates Covered: 1887-
Useful for identifying social science research about gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered persons. Use the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms to identify appropriate subject headings.
Social Services Abstracts [19]
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,600 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
Sociological Abstracts [20]
UNI Index/Abstract HM 1 S67
Library has: 1953-
Dates covered: 1974-
See the subject headings "bisexuality," "homosexual relationships," "homosexuality," "lesbianism," "sexual preference," and "transsexualism."
[21]
Web Resources
UNI PROUD [22]: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgendered, Intersex, and Ally Union
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Health [23]
Bibliography: Lebian & Gay History, Politics and Culture [24]
Bibliography of Gay and Lesbian History [25]
Gay and Lesbian Legal Issues [26]
ONE Institute: International Gay and Lesbian Archives [27]
People with a History: An Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History [28]
Queer Resources Directory [29]
Finding Books
Use UNISTAR [30], the online library catalog, to identify and locate books and other resources about gays, lesbians, bisexuals, and transgendered persons. To ensure that you use appropriate subject terms when you search UNISTAR, consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings books located at the Reference Desk. A wide range of subject headings will lead to useful information about gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered persons. Useful subject searches include:
- Bisexuality
- Bisexuals
- Coming Out (Sexual Orientation)
- Gay Men
- Gay Liberation Movement
- Gender Identity
- Homosexuality
- Homosexuality--History
- Lesbianism
- Lesbians
- Transsexualism
- Transsexuals
To search for key words or phrases that may not be subject headings, use a keyword search in UNISTAR [30]. For example, a keyword search using the term "bisexual" retrieves, among others:
Bisexual men in culture and society
UNI Stacks HQ74.2.U5 B52 2002
Bisexual women in the twenty-first century
UNI Stacks HQ74 .B567 2002
Research Guides and Bibliographies
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture
UNI Reference HQ76.96.R68 2006
The Gay and Lesbian Movement: References and Resources
UNI Reference HQ 76.5 R53 1996
Gay and Lesbian Library Service
UNI Reference Z 711.92 G37 G37 1990
Lesbians in Print: A Bibliography of 1,500 Books with Synopses
UNI Reference HQ 75.5 G55 1995
Biography
Who's Who in Lesbian and Gay Writing
UNI Reference PN56.H57 G75 2002
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History: From Antiquity to World War II
UNI Reference HQ75.2.W47 2001
Who's Who in Contemporary Gay and Lesbian History: from World War II to the Present Day
UNI Reference HQ75.2.W46 2001
Gay and Lesbian Biography
UNI Reference HQ 75.2 G39 1997
Contemporary Lesbian Writers of the United States: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
UNI Reference PS 153 L46 C65 1993
The Gay 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential Gay Men and Lesbians, Past and Present
UNI Reference HQ 75.2 R87 1994
Biography and Genealogy Master Index [21]
This database is located in Databases A-Z [31]
UNI Index/Abstract CT 100 B475 (Library has 1980-present)
A starting point for biographical research in the library, this index refers the searcher to sources of biographical information on almost any figure of note in the contemporary world. Individuals who are/were gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered are included. In the Web version, use the extended search mode and put either "gay" or "lesbian" in the source title field.
Biography in Context
[32]Online biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and Almanacs
Historical Dictionary of Lesbian Literature
UNI Reference PN491.3.M55 2006
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian Liberation Movement: Still the Rage
UNI Reference HQ76.5.M94 2003
A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples
UNI Reference KF539.L44 2002
Cassell’s Queer Companion: A Dictionary of Lesbian and Gay Life and Culture
UNI Reference HQ 76.25 S74 1995
Completely Queer: The Gay and Lesbian Encyclopedia
UNI Reference HQ 75 H63 1998
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality
UNI Reference HQ 76.25 E53 1990
The Gay Almanac
UNI Reference HQ 76.3 U5 G367 1996
The Lesbian Almanac
UNI Reference HQ 75.6 U5 L35 1996
The Gay Decades: From Stonewall to the Present
UNI Reference HQ 76.8 U5 R88 199
Homolexis: A Historical and Cultural Lexicon of Homosexuality
UNI Reference HQ 76.25 D955 1985
Is It a Choice?: Answers to 300 of the Most Frequently Asked Questions about Gays and Lesbians
UNI Stacks HQ 76.3 U5 M35 1993






