Rod Library

Display link URLs as footnotes


Home > Library Instruction > Subject Guides > Geophysics, Volcanology, Seismology

Geophysics, Volcanology, Seismology

Source URL: http://www.library.uni.edu/library-instruction/subject-guides/geophysics-volcanology-seismology-earthquakes

  • Articles
  • Books
  • Government Documents
  • How to Locate USGS Publications
  • Maps and Atlases
  • Videos
  • Internet Resources
    (Seismology and Tectonics)
    • Associations
    • Dictionaries, Encyclopedias,
      and Glossaries
    • Digital Libraries and Data
    • Images
    • Monitoring
  • Internet Resources
    (Volcanology and Geophysics)
    • Associations
    • Dictionaries, Encyclopedias,
      and Glossaries
    • Digital Libraries and Data
    • Observatories
  • Reference Resources (Print)
  • What’s Up in the Stacks
    (Books on the Fourth Floor)

  

 Find Articles

  • Academic OneFile (InfoTrac) [1] (full text)
  • Academic Search Elite (EBSCO) [2] (full text)
  • Engineering Village 2 [3]
  • GEOBASE [4]
  • Google Scholar [5]
    [2]
  • HighWire Press [6] (some full text)
    [4]
  • ScienceDirect [7] (full text 1995-present)
    [8]
  • SpringerLink [9] (sciences) (full text)
    [5]
  • Web of Science [10] (track citations/references)
  • Wiley InterScience [11] (full text)

 

Find Books

UNISTAR [12] - The UNI Rod Library Catalog - is used to locate the books, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in this library.

Google Book Search [13] - view portions of recent books online.  Set search to "Limited preview and Full view"

OhioLink [14] and Mobius [15] - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on water not owned by the Rod Library. These systems will often search the titles of book chapters. Use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR.

WorldCat [16] - The catalog of catalogs!

 

Government Documents

There are about 1000 Government Documents in the Rod Library dealing with Volcanoes, Earthquakes, and Plate Tectonics!

To find these resources search  UNISTAR [12] and limit Location to UNI-Documents.

 

How to Locate U.S.G.S.Publications Online
[8]

Search the USGS Library Catalog - [17]http://library.usgs.gov [17]

Visit - "How to Find USGS Publications Online" - an overview on locating resources from USGS. [18]

Try Google UncleSam - http://www.google.com/unclesam [19] --- use advanced search and set "Search within a site or domain" to particular agency - e.g. usgs.gov

 

Alternatively, limit Google searches to the specific agency web addresses using the "site" command.

 

e.g.   The web address of the United States Geologic Survey is http://www.usgs.gov [20]

So to search documents on climate change within the U.S.G.S. try the following Google Search:

                                    "San Andreas Fault" and site:usgs.gov

  ... or search the U.S.G.S. for only those documents with the "San Andreas Fault" in the title of the document:

                                    intitle:"San Andreas Fault" and site:usgs.gov

 

 

Maps and Atlases

The Rod Library has over 200 maps and atlases dealing with volcanoes, earthquakes and plate tectonics.

To find these resources search  UNISTAR [12] and limit Location to UNI-MAP.

 

Videos

Earth: the Biography
Disc 1 - Volcanoes
(BBC / National Geographic)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE501 E27 - 2008 DVD

Earth Revealed
Part 13 - Volcanism

(Corporation for Community College Television)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE26.2 E35 - 1992
DVD

Eruption of Kilauea, 1959-1960
Kilauea Volcano (Hawaii)

(USGS)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE523 K5 E78 - 1961 Video

Essence of Being Japanese
1923 Earthquake (Japan)

(Films for the Humanities)
UNI Multi-Service Center
DS885 E87 - 1989 Video

Explorers of Volcanoes and Earthquakes
vol. 9 of the series "Forces of the Wild"
(Partridge Films, DOCSTAR, WNET)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QB631 F673 - 1998 Video

Geological Processes
Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument (Arizona)

(CSM Productions)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE571 G46 - 1996 Video

Great San Francisco Earthquake
1906 Earthquake (California)

(WGBH)
UNI Multi-Service Center
F869 S357 G74 - 1989 Video

Living Planet (Vol. 1): The Building of the Earth
Iceland Volcanoes
Recolonization of Krakatoa and Mount St. Helens

(BBC - David Attenborough)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QH541.13 L58 - 1988 Video

Mount Pinatubo (Philippines)
Mount Unzen (Japan)
(National Geographic)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE522 V62 - 1997 Video

Though the Earth Be Moved
1964 Alaskan Earthquake

(U.S. Office of Civil Defense)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE535.2 U6 T536 - 1992 Video

Volcano: Nature's Inferno
(National Geographic)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE522 V62 - 1997 Video
QE522 V62 - 2003 DVD

Volcanoes and the Atmosphere
(Films for the Humanities)
UNI Multi-Service Center
QE522 V64 - 1998 Video



Internet - Seismology and Tectonics Resources

Associations - Seismology - Tectonics

American Geophysical Union [21]

British Geophysical Association [22]

British Geophysical Union [23]

International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth’s Interior [24]
[23]

Seismological Society of America [25]

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Glossaries - Seismology - Tectonics

This Dynamic Earth: the Story of Plate Tectonics
by Jacqueline Kious and Robert Tilling - USGS
[26]

Earth’s Interior & Plate Tectonics
Rosanna L. Hamilton
[27]

Glossary – Plate Tectonics
Amateur Geologist
[28]

Glossary – Seismology
Southern California Earthquake Data Center
[29]
[30]

Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale
(USGS Earthquake Hazards Program)
[31]

Seismology Glossary (USGS) [32]
[33]

Richter Magnitude Scale [34]
(USGS Earthquake Hazards Program)
[34]

What is Seismology?
Michigan Tech University
[35]

Digital Libraries and Data - Seismology - Tectonics

Alaska Earthquake Information Center [36]

Cooperative New Madrid Seismic Network
Saint Louis University – University of Memphis - USGS
[37]
[38]

Earthquakes Hazard Program (USGS) [39]

EarthRef.org
(Scripps Institute)
[40]

National Geophysical Data Center [41] (NOAA)

New Madrid Fault Zone
Center for Earthquake Education and Technology Transfer Univ. of Arkansas
[42]

Northern California Earthquake Data Center [43]
[37]

Seismosurfing the Internet for Earthquake Data
Pacific Northwest Seismograph Network
[44]
[38]

Soil Liquifaction Web Site
University of Washington
[45]
[39]

Southern California Earthquake Center [46]
[42]

USGS Earthquake Information by State [47]

Images - Seismology - Tectonics

Current Seismograms
Berkley Seismology Laboratory
[48]

Dynamic Planet
(USGS - Smithsonian - U.S. Naval Research Laboratory)
[49]

Earth Science World Image Bank
American Geological Institute
[50]

Latest Quakes (USGS) [51]

Past & Historical Quakes (USGS) [52]
[51]

Weekly Seismicity Maps (Global)
Berkley Seismology Laboratory
[53]

Monitoring - Seismology - Tectonics

Historical Images of Earthquakes (by country)
Jan T Kozak – Prague, Czech Republic - Institute of Rock Structures and Mechanics
[54]

Seismic Monitor (IRIS) - ("near" real time monitor for earthquake activity) [55]
 

Internet - Volcanology and Geophysics

Associations - Volcanology and Geophysics

American Geophysical Union [21]

International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth’s Interior [56]

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Glossaries - Volcanology and Geophysics

Glossary of Volcano and Related Terminology (USGS) [57]

How Volcanoes Work
San Diego State University
[58]

Volcanoes (Online Book)
by Robert Tilling - USGS
[59]

Digital Libraries and Data - Volcanology and Geophysics

Earth Science World Image Bank
American Geological Institute
[50]

Global Volcanism Program
Smithsonian
[60]

National Geophysical Data Center [41] (NOAA)

Volcano Live
(John Seach)
[61]

Volcano World
Oregon State
[62]

Volcanoes
Volcano Hazards Program, Volcano Observatories - USGS
[59]
[61]

Volcanoes: Can We Predict the Future?
Annenberg/CPB
[63]
[62]

Volcanoes - USGS
Background information, maps, graphics, publications and reports for over 300 volcanoes.
[64]

Observatories - Volcanology and Geophysics

AVO: Alaska Volcano Observatory [65]

Cascades Volcano Observatory (USGS) [66]

Hawaii Volcano Observatory (USGS) [67]

U.S. Volcano Hazards Program (USGS) [68]
[66]

Volcano Watch: Satellite Images of the World’s Most Active Volcanoes
University of Wisconsin Madison
[69]
[67]

Yellowstone Volcano Observatory (USGS) [70]
 

Reference Resources (Print)

Geophysics, Seismology, and Volcanology

Earth Almanac: An Annual
Geophysical Review of the State of the Planet.

(Latest in reference earlier editions in the stacks.)
UNI Reference QB631 E27

Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
UNI Reference QE521 R58 2001

Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
UNI Reference QE522 E53 2000

Volcano Registry: Names, Locations, Descriptions and Histories for Over 1500 Sites
UNI Reference QE522 L46 1999

General Geology and Earth Sciences

Facts on File: Dictionary of Earth Science
UNI Reference QE5 F318 2000

Facts on File: Earth Science Handbook
UNI Reference QE5 F32 2000

Glossary of Geology
UNI Reference QE5 B38 1997

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Science
UNI Reference QE5 M32 1996 (2 volumes)

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Geology and Mineralogy
UNI Reference QE5 M3654 1997

Oxford - Dictionary of Earth Sciences
UNI Reference QE5 C66 1999

Sciences of the Earth: An Encyclopedia of Events, People, and Phenomena
UNI Reference QE11 S38 1998 (2 volumes)

World of Earth Science
UNI Reference QE5 W59 2003 (2 volumes)

 

What's Up in the Stacks (Books on the Fourth Floor [71])

Hundreds of books on earthquakes, geophysics, plate tectonics, seismology, and volcanology can be found on the top floor (fourth floor) [71] of this library:

QC801-849   Geophysics - Geomagnetism   over 100 books
         
QC509-511   Interior of the Earth - Tectonics   over 110 books
         
QC521-545   Volcanoes and Earthquakes   over 190 books
         
TN269   Geophysical/Seismic Prospecting   over 20 books
         
TA654.6 / TA658.44 / TH1095   Earthquake Engineering   over  10 books

 Floor maps [72] of the Rod Library showing call number areas of Stacks.

Last updated - 1 June 2010
Angela Cox
  • Earthquakes [73]
  • Tectonics [74]
  • Volcanoes [75]

Mailing Address & Telephone | Google Map | Diversity Matters | Privacy Statement | Admin Login | Staff Intranet
Copyright © 2010-2013, Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa. All rights reserved.
Maintained by Web Coordinator

Federal Depository Library iconFacebook iconPinterest iconTwitter iconYouTube iconSubscribe to this blog


Links:
[1] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/uni_rodit?db=AONE
[2] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=afh
[3] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.engineeringvillage2.com/
[4] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100144260;done=referer;dbname=GeoBase;FSIP
[5] http://scholar.google.com/
[6] http://highwire.stanford.edu/
[7] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/science?_ob=MiamiSearchURL&_method=requestForm&_btn=Y&_acct=C000040479&_version=1&_urlVersion=1&_userid=724663&md5=b71594a08da9d086ecbb0523c237fa9c
[8] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://web5.silverplatter.com/webspirs/start.ws?customer=c96252&databases=S%28GE,NP,SJ%29
[9] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.springerlink.com/%28dxbtxz45tzatv1e13piimm2k%29/app/home/search-articles.asp
[10] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://isiknowledge.com/WOS
[11] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/
[12] http://unistar.uni.edu/search%7ES1/X
[13] http://books.google.com/advanced_book_search
[14] http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/X
[15] http://mobius.missouri.edu/search/X
[16] http://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch
[17] http://library.usgs.gov/
[18] http://infotrek.er.usgs.gov/pubs/
[19] http://www.google.com/unclesam
[20] http://www.usgs.gov
[21] http://www.agu.org/
[22] http://www.ras.org.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=936&Itemid=124
[23] http://www.geophysics.org.uk/
[24] http://www.iaspei.org/
[25] http://www.seismosoc.org/
[26] http://pubs.usgs.gov/gip/dynamic/dynamic.html
[27] http://www.solarviews.com/eng/earthint.htm
[28] http://www.amateurgeologist.com/content/glossary/tectonics/tectonics.html
[29] http://www.data.scec.org/glossary.html
[30] http://www.seismo.unr.edu/ftp/pub/louie/class/100/mercalli.html
[31] http://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/topics/mercalli.php
[32] http://neic.usgs.gov/neis/general/glossary.html
[33] http://www.seismo.unr.edu/ftp/pub/louie/class/100/magnitude.html
[34] http://earthquake.usgs.gov/learn/topics/richter.php
[35] http://www.geo.mtu.edu/UPSeis/waves.html
[36] http://www.aeic.alaska.edu/
[37] http://www.eas.slu.edu/Earthquake_Center/NM/index.html
[38] http://www.eri.u-tokyo.ac.jp/
[39] http://earthquake.usgs.gov/
[40] http://earthref.org/
[41] http://www.ngdc.noaa.gov/
[42] http://quake.ualr.edu/public/nmfz.htm
[43] http://quake.geo.berkeley.edu/
[44] http://www.geophys.washington.edu/seismosurfing.html
[45] http://www.ce.washington.edu/%7Eliquefaction/html/main.html
[46] http://www.scec.org/
[47] http://earthquake.usgs.gov/regional/states.php?old=iowa/iowa.html
[48] http://quake.geo.berkeley.edu/bdsn/quicklook.html
[49] http://mineralsciences.si.edu/tdpmap/
[50] http://www.earthscienceworld.org/images/index.html
[51] http://earthquake.usgs.gov/eqcenter/index.php
[52] http://earthquake.usgs.gov/regional/world/historical.php
[53] http://www.seismo.berkeley.edu/seismo/weekly/
[54] http://nisee.berkeley.edu/kozak/
[55] http://www.iris.edu/seismon/
[56] http://www.iavcei.org/
[57] http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Glossary/volcano_terminology.html
[58] http://www.geology.sdsu.edu/how_volcanoes_work/
[59] http://pubs.usgs.gov/gip/volc/
[60] http://www.volcano.si.edu/
[61] http://www.volcanolive.com/contents.html
[62] http://volcano.oregonstate.edu/
[63] http://www.learner.org/exhibits/volcanoes/
[64] http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/Volcanoes/framework.html
[65] http://www.avo.alaska.edu/
[66] http://vulcan.wr.usgs.gov/home.html
[67] http://hvo.wr.usgs.gov/
[68] http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/
[69] http://www.ssec.wisc.edu/data/volcano.html
[70] http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/yvo/
[71] http://www.library.uni.edu/about-us/hours-maps/floor-maps
[72] http://www.library.uni.edu/../../../../../about-us/hours-maps/floor-maps
[73] http://www.library.uni.edu/category/tags/earthquakes
[74] http://www.library.uni.edu/category/tags/tectonics
[75] http://www.library.uni.edu/category/tags/volcanoes