- Finding Books
- Foreign Language Dictionaries
- Representative Journals
- Human Resources
- Finding Articles
- International Management
- Statutes, Regulations, and Court Cases
- Careers and Graduate Management Education
- Business and Company History
- Other Internet Resources
- Company Documents and Publications
- University of Northern Iowa
- Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
The sources on this guide are a sample of important print and online management resources. They include books at Rod Library, online sources to which Rod Library subscribes (marked with an *), and other Web sources which at this time are free or partially free. Call numbers are listed under the titles of print sources available at the library. Underlined titles can be accessed via the Web. If accessing a Rod Library subscription database from off campus, you will be prompted for your last name and UNI ID number.
Other Library User Guides go into more detail on finding information on topics such as accounting , companies , economics , finance , financial ratios , industries , management,  and marketing . The companies and industries pages may be particularly helpful for students taking Business Policy.
Some of the databases on this guide also are available through the Rod Library Business Portal .
Finding Books top
Use UNISTAR, the Rod Library online catalog, to identify books and other resources on the various aspects of management. A wide range of subject headings can be used to find information about the various topics covered in UNI management courses; here are a few examples of relevant subject headings to try in the UNISTAR Subject index:
- Business communication 
- Labor laws and legislation 
- Personnel management 
- Business ethics 
- Management 
- Production management 
- Business law 
- Management information systems 
- Strategic planning 
- Business logistics 
- Operations research 
- Total quality management 
Another approach is to use the UNISTAR Keywords index to look for terms which may occur in titles and contents notes as well as in subject headings. For example, this search - (personnel or employee*) and privacy  - retrieves records with either personnel or employee* as well as the word privacy. (Putting the asterisk after employee allows for variation in word endings.)
Most of the Rod Library book collection is in print, but there are several hundred business-related e-books distributed by netLibrary. To find examples, do a UNISTAR Keywords search such as management and netlibrary .
Representative Journals top
The following table lists several examples of management journals to which Rod Library subscribes. Some of these journals cover many areas of management, while others focus on specific fields such as MIS.
Use the search forms on this page  to determine whether the library subscribes to a particular journal in print or online and which years are available. Accounting journals in print are located on the bottom floor of the library and are arranged by call number. Use the indexes listed in the Finding Articles section of this guide to locate articles on particular subjects or by particular authors.
- Academy of Management Journal
- Journal of Business Ethics
- American Business Law Journal
- Journal of Education for Business
- Business Communication Quarterly
- Journal of Management Information Systems
- HRMagazine Production Planning and Control
- Human Resource Management
- Strategic Management Journal
- Information Systems Management
- Supply Chain Management
Finding Articles top
The tools in this section index and in many cases provide the full text of articles in scholarly journals, in general business magazines, and in newspapers such as the Wall Street Journal. The last three tools below cover journals from specific publishers: MCB (Emerald), Kluwer, and Elsevier.
These links go directly to the source if you are accessing from on campus. If accessing from off campus, you will be prompted to enter your last name and UNI ID number. All of the online sources in this section are also listed under Databases A-Z and under Field of Study on the library home page.
Multiple databases can be searched simultaneously using Panther Prowler .
Also, many of the databases can be accessed via the Rod Library Business Portal .
The search forms for these databases - ABI/INFORM, Business & Company Resource Center, and Business Source Elite - include a box that can be checked to limit results to scholarly or academic or peer-reviewed journals. This method does not work perfectly, but it will produce results that are more likely to be from academic journals.
ABI/INFORM Global *
Indexes periodicals in management and all other major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. Covers academic journals, trade journals, business magazines and newspapers, doctoral dissertations, and Hoover's premium company information.
Business & Company Resource Center *
Indexes periodicals in all major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. Covers academic journals, business magazines, trade journals, and business newspapers. Also includes investment analyst reports and company and industry information from various other reference sources.
Business Source Elite *
Indexes periodicals in all major business disciplines; provides article full text or image online in many cases. It also includes about 10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor; many of these include SWOT analyses.
LexisNexis Academic *
Includes articles from general business magazines, some academic journals, newspapers, and reference sources.
Indexes journals and some books and book chapters in the various areas of psychology, including industrial and organizational psychology. A related database is PsycArtcles, which contains the full text of about 60 journals published by the American Psychological Assocation. PsycArticles is listed under Databases A-Z on the library home page.
*Wall Street Journal via *ABI/INFORM 
*Wall Street Journal Asia and Wall Street Journal Europe via Library PressDisplay 
The ABI/INFORM database contains the full text of articles from the Wall Street Journal back to 1984. Today's issue is available early in the morning. After logging on, do a Publication Search to go to particular issues of the Journal. Alternatively, go to Advanced Search and specify that Wall Street Journal must be in the Publication Title.
Library PressDisplay has the latest 60 days of the Wall Street Journal Asia and Europe editions.
Emerald Library *
Searchable database of MCB University Press journals in areas such as human resources, marketing, and operations. Provides full image online.
Searchable database of Kluwer Academic Publishers online journals, including topics such as management.
Despite its title, this source from Elsevier covers journals in various business areas such as MIS and organizational behavior. Provides full image online.
Associations are organized groups of individuals or companies that share a common interest. The first two sources below are directories, and the rest are examples of major management-related associations.
Encyclopedia of Associations
UNI Reference Desk AS22 .E5
Provides basic data on more than 23,000 state, U.S., and international associations. Largest single directory of associations. Business & Company Resource Center includes a sub-set of these associations related to business; use Advanced search, Content Area drop down for Associations.
ASAE Gateway to Associations 
Directory of association Web pages.
Academy of Management Online 
American Management Association 
American Production & Inventory Control Society 
American Society for Quality
American Society for Training and Development 
Association for Information Systems 
Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences
National Management Association 
Society for Human Resource Management 
The sources in this section provide biographical information ranging from a paragraph to a few pages about current and historical business leaders. Company web sites sometimes include biographical information about their executives.
American Business Leaders : From Colonial Times to the Present
UNI Reference HC102.5.A2 H36 1999
Contains two page profiles of business leaders.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index *
Online index to more than 13 million biographical sketches appearing in hundreds of biographical sources. Covers living and deceased individuals from around the world.
Contemporary American Business Leaders
UNI Reference HC102.5.A2 I534 1990
Contains long essays on U.S. business leaders since World War II. Appendices list leaders by industry, company, and place of birth; also lists African-American and women leaders.
International Directory of Business Biographies
via *Gale Virtual Reference Library 
About 60 percent of entries are Americans, and the rest are other nationalities. Most are current or recent chief executives of large companies.
Standard & Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives via NetAdvantage *
Include short biographical sketches of business executives and directors. See the Publications drop-down.
Who's Who in Finance and Business
UNI Reference HF3023.A2 W515
Includes short biographical sketches of business leaders.
Business and Company History top
The sources in this section provide historical information about companies and industries. Additional books and articles can be found by consulting UNISTAR and the journal indexes described above. Corporate web sites usually have some history about the company.
Business & Company Resource Center *
Includes entries from International Directory of Company Histories and from Notable Corporate Chronologies. Available from Histories tab in Company Profiles or Advanced Search/Histories Content Area.
Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography
This series includes books on industries such as: airlines, automobiles, banking and finance, iron and steel, and railroads. A UNISTAR keyword search for Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography  retrieves a list of the titles. One specific example is The Automobile Industry, 1920-1980 (UNI Reference HD9710.U52 A816 1989).
International Directory of Company Histories
UNI Reference HD2721 .D36 Also included in Business & Company Resource Center Multivolume set with two to three page histories of leading companies; pages on companies in particular industries such as Transport Services are grouped together. See index to all volumes at back of latest edition.
Company Documents and Publications top
The sources in this section include or point to various types of documents prepared by companies. Company web sites include various types of information and documents about the company.
Annual Reports to Shareholders, SEC Filings, and Conference Calls
The Company Information Sources Library User's Guide provides details about accessing these kinds of documents and presentations.
Provides sample business plans, marketing plans, and web site plans.
Business Plans Handbook
UNI Reference HD62.7 .B865 and via *Gale Virtual Reference Library 
Contains actual business plans developed by small businesses in the U.S. and Canada. Names are changed in most cases to preserve confidentiality.
Complete Company Policies and Procedures Manual
UNI Reference HD30.33 .C64 1992
Contains more than 260 policies and procedures in areas such as human resources, production, and purchasing.
Corporate Statements : The Official Missions, Goals, Principles and Philosophies of Over 900 Companies
UNI Reference HD30.285 .H37 1998
Actual statements from named public and private companies, mostly in the U.S.
Mission Statements : A Guide to the Corporate and Nonprofit Sectors
UNI Reference HD30.28 .G697 1994
Contains mission statements from more than 600 U.S. and Canadian firms.
Organization Charts : Structures of 230 Businesses and Non-profit Organizations
UNI Reference HD38.153 O74 2000
PR Newswire 
Compilation of press releases from participating companies. Company web sites often provide recent press releases as well.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office 
Searchable databases of company patents and trademarks.
Companies Online 
Directory of company web sites. Company web sites often include corporate mission, press releases, affiliated companies, and investor information.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks top
Management dictionaries and related tools provide specialized, authoritative definitions and overviews of concepts in the discipline.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management (series title)
UNI Reference HD30.15 .B455 2005
Multi-volume set covers topics such as management information systems, operations management, and human resource management.
Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Encyclopedia
UNI Reference HF5548.8 .E498 2007
Encyclopedia of Knowledge Management
UNI Reference HD30.2 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Management
UNI Reference HD30.15 .E49 2006
Essays on some 350 management topics.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Labor
UNI Reference HD8066 .H57 2004
The Human Resources Glossary
UNI Reference HF5549.A23 T73 1998
Short definitions of 8,500 terms.
Human Resources Management & Development Handbook
UNI Reference HF5549.5.M3 H85 1994
Contains scholarly essays on various topics in human resource management.
The IEBM Handbook of Information Technology in Business
UNI Reference HF5548.2 .I154 2000
Provides scholarly essays on business information technology and systems relative to the business environment, conceptual support, hardware and software, and strategy.
Labor, Employment, and the Law
UNI Reference KF3317 .A54 1997
Defines legal aspects of terms related to labor and employment.
Foreign Language Dictionaries top
The Rod Library collection includes business-related foreign language dictionaries as well as general language dictionaries. Check the library catalog, UNISTAR, for holdings, using Keyword index search strategies such as english and russian and dictionar* .
Accounting dictionary. English-Spanish, Spanish-English, Spanish-Spanish = Diccionario de contabilidad. Inglés-español, español-inglés, español-español
UNI Reference HF5621 .S26 2003
Japanese Business Dictionary English to Japanese
UNI Reference HF1002 .D45 1991
Langenscheidt Routledge German Dictionary of Business, Commerce and Finance
UNI Reference HF1002 .L358 2003
Le Robert & Collins du management : dictionnaire français-anglais, anglais-français, French-English, English-French dictionary
UNI Reference HF1002.R54 1992
Webster's New World English-Spanish/Spanish-English Business Dictionary
Reference HF1002 .K375 2006
Human Resources top
The sources in this section discuss types of skills required for various jobs, provide expert commentary, and contain statutes, regulations, and court cases in human resource areas such as compensation and employment relations.
O*NET Online 
The O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles
UNI Reference HB2595 .O16 1998/99, UNI Career Ref & UNI Career HB2595 .O16 1998/99
Describes skills, abilities, knowledge, and work activities for 950 occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook 
UNI Reference HF5381.A1 O36, UNI Career Ref & UNI Career HF5381.A1 O36
Provides information on specific occupations; for example, nature of the work, training and other qualifications, job outlook, and salary.
United States National Labor Relations Board 
Home page of the independent federal agency administering the National Labor Relations Act which governs private sector employer and union relationships. Provides in-depth information about NLRB
organization and services as well as access to text of rules and regulations, decisions, forms, press releases, public notices, manuals, and other publications.
United States Occupational Safety & Health Administration 
Home page of the U.S. government agency serving to ensure safe and healthful work environments in the United States. Provides comprehensive information about OSHA organization, regulations, programs, services, publications, and events.
International Management top
The sources in this section discuss cultural and technical factors related to doing business in other countries as well as international aspects of management concepts. See International Business & Economics  guide for additional sources on doing business in other countries.
Country Commercial Guides via U.S. Commercial Services 
Prepared annually by U.S. embassies, these guides report on the economic, political, and market environments of numerous countries. Pick Country Commercial Guides as Report Type on search form.
CultureGrams: The Nations Around Us
UNI Reference GT150 .C85
Guide to manners and customs of the nations.
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management
UNI Reference HF1001 .I53 1996
Six volume set that addresses numerous management topics from an international frame of reference. Some topics are international per se, such as international finance, while others cover international aspects of business functions, such as banking in Japan.
Regional Encyclopedia of Business and Management
UNI Reference HF1001 .R44 2000
Four volume set that contains essays on management in the Americas, Asia, Europe, and emerging countries.
Statutes, Regulations, and Court Cases top
The tools in the next section lead to the full text of state and federal statutes, regulations, and court cases. Search features vary from tool to tool.
LexisNexis Academic *
The legal section of this title includes search forms for U.S. state and federal court cases, statutes passed by the U.S. Congress and state legislatures, and U.S. regulations (Code of Federal Regulations).
LexisNexis Congressional *
Contains database of Congressional publications such as reports, testimony before Congressional committee hearings, bills, laws, and also U.S. government regulations.
Iowa Administrative Rules 
Contains rules and regulations issued by various Iowa agencies such as the Dept. of Commerce.
Iowa General Assembly 
Official site. Includes bill tracking features as well as statutes and codes.
Careers and Graduate Management Education top
This collection includes materials on specific careers, career planning, resume writing, interviewing, and job hunting. It is located in a room north of the reference desk in Rod Library.
Cracking the GMAT, with DVD
UNI Stacks HF1118 .C733; most recent on Reserve
UNI Reserve HF1118 .G52
Study guide produced by the Kaplan Educational Center.
The Official Guide for GMAT Review
UNI Reserve HF1118 .O33 & earlier editions in stacks
Prepared for the Graduate Management Admission Council by the Educational Testing Service.
Doctoral Programs in Business and Management
UNI Reference HF1131 .D638 2001
Graduate Management Programs in the USA
UNI Reference HD30.42.U5 G73
Other Internet Resources top
The following are well-organized collections of links to various resources in areas such as competitive intelligence, human resources, MIS, and supply chain management. Some of the resources on these sites are free, some are available for a fee.
Business Plan Archive 
Business Ethics Resources on WWW 
CI Strategies & Tools (Fuld) 
Competitive Intelligence Resource Center 
Decision Support Systems Resources 
HR Internet Guide 
ITtoolbox Supply Chain Management 
Labor Research Portal 
Operations Management Center