Rod Library

Display link URLs as footnotes


Home > Library Instruction > Subject Guides > Chemistry and Biochemistry

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Source URL: http://www.library.uni.edu/library-instruction/subject-guides/organic-chemistry-biochemistry

  • Find Articles

  • Find Books
     
  • Find Theses & Dissertations

  • Internet Resources

  • Reference Resources (Print)

  • SciFinder Scholar

  • Chemistry Research Survival Kit [1]
    (Class Handout)
 

Find Articles
[2]

  • ACS Publications - American Chemical Society [3] (full text)
  • Biological Abstracts [4]
    [5]
  • DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals [6] (full text)
    [7]
  • Engineering Village 2 [8]
  • Google Scholar [9] (choose "Search Google Scholar [9]" from the library website to enable the Find it! @ UNI software)
    [10]
  • PubMed [11] (this route to PubMed [11] will enable the Find it! @ UNI software)
    [12]
  • RSC Journals - Royal Society of Chemistry [13] (full text)
    [7]
  • ScienceDirect [14] (full text)
    [7]
  • SpringerLink [7] (full text)
  • Web of Science [15] (track citations/references)
  • Wiley InterScience [16] (full text)

 

Find Books

  • UNISTAR [17] - The UNI Rod Library Catalog - is used to locate the books, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in this library.

  • Google Book Search [18] - View portions of recent books online. Set search to "Limited preview and Full view"
     
  • NetLibrary – online chemistry books
    go to UNISTAR – http://www.library.uni.edu [19] – search >>> netlibrary and chemi**


  • OhioLink [20] and Mobius [21] - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on soils not owned by the Rod Library. These systems will often search the titles of book chapters. Use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR.

  • WorldCat [22] - The catalog of catalogs!

 

Theses and Dissertations

  • Dissertations and Theses: A & I [5]

  • NDLTD - Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations [10] (full text)

     

Internet Resources

Acronyms and Abbreviations

  • Acronyms Database [23]
  • Journal Titles and Abbreviations [24]

Associations

  • American Chemical Socity [25]
  • American Chemical Society - Organic Division [26]
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers [27]
  • National Science Teachers Association
    [28]
  • Royal Society of Chemistry [29]

Chemical Properties

  • ChemIDplus - National Library of Medicine [30]
  • ChemSpider [31]
  • eMolecules [32]
  • Molecule of the Month [33]
  • NIST Chemistry WebBook [34]
  • Organic Compounds Database (Colby College) [35]
  • PubChem Advanced Structure Search [36]
  • Reciprocal Net - Common Molecules Page [37]
  • Reciprocal Net - Distributed Crystallography Network [38]
    [35]
  • Spectra Online [39]
  • Table of Isotopes [40]

Directories

  • ChemDex [41]
  • ChemWeb.com [42]
  • Electrochemical Science and Technology Information Resource [43]
  • Links for Chemists [44]
  • Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide [45]
  • Wired Chemist [46]

Name(d) Reactions and Syntheses (online)

  • Classic Organic Reactions (ChemPenSoftware) [47]
  • Name Reaction List [48]
  • Name Reactions [49]
  • Named Reactions in Organic Chemistry [50]
  • Organic Synthesis (CambridgeSoft) [requires ChemDraw Plugin] [51]

Periodical Tables of Elements

  • ACS Interactive Periodic Table [52]
  • Atomic Structure and the Periodic Table [53]
  • Dynamic Periodic Table [54]
  • Periodic Table of Videos [55]
  • Visual Elements Periodic Table [56]
  • WebElements [57]

Search Engines

  • Chemical Acronyms Database (Indiana University) [23]
  • ChemIDplus - National Library of Medicine [30]
  • eMolecules [32]
  • PubChem Advanced Structure Search [36]
  • SCIRUS
    [58]

Chemistry Software

  • On-Line Chemistry Resources (University of Southern Maine) [59]

Tutorials and Chemistry Education

  • Chem 1 Virtual Textbook (Stephen Lower - Simon Fraser University) [60]
  • Cheminformatics101 (eMolecules) [61]
  • Chemistry Lab Guide (University of Illinois at Chicago) [62]
  • ChemTube3D [63]
  • Organic Flash Cards (Ohio State University) [64]
  • O=CHem Directory (University of Southern Maine) [65]
  • Understanding Chemistry [66]
  • Virtual Chemistry (University of Oxford) [67] [66]

 

Reference Resources (Online and Print)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Chemistry: Foundations and Applications [68]
Gale Virtual Reference Library

Concise Encyclopedia of Biochemistry
UNI Reference QD 415 A25 B713 1988

Dictionary of Natural Products
UNI Reference QD 415 A25 D53 1994

Dictionary of Organic Compounds
UNI Reference QD 246 D5 1996

Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds
UNI Reference QD 411 D53 1984

Encyclopedia of Chemical Reactions
UNI Reference QD 155 J3

Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients
UNI Reference QD 415 A25 L48 1995

Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry
UNI Reference QD 5 F33 1999

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
UNI Reference QD 415 A25 O94 2000

 

Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
UNI Reference QD 65 H3 2008/2009

CRC Handbook of Data on Organic Compounds
UNI Reference QD 257.7 C73 1985

CRC Handbook of Tables for Organic Compound Identification
UNI Reference QD 291 R28 1967

Handbook of Physical Properties of Organic Chemicals
UNI Reference QD 257.7 H374 1997

Merck Index
UNI Reference RS 51 M4 2001

Polymer Handbook
UNI Reference QD 388 P65 1989

 

 

Name(d) Reactions (Books)

Advanced Organic Chemistry: Reactions, Mechanisms, and Structure
March, Jerry
New York : Wiley 1992
UNI Stacks QD251.2 .M37 1992

Comprehensive Organic Chemistry (volume 6 contains a reaction index)
UNI Reference QD 245 C65

Encyclopedia of Chemical Reactions
Jacobsen, C.A.
New York : Reinhold 1946-1959
UNI Reference QD155 .J3 (8 volumes)

Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs and Biologicals
(Organic Name Reactions section)
UNI Reference RS51 .M4 2001

Name Reactions: A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms
Li, Jie Jack
Berlin; New York : Springer 2003
UNI Reference QD291 .L5 2003

Name Reactions and Reagents in Organic Synthesis
Mundy, Bradford P.
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience 2005
UNI Reference QD291 .M86 2005

Name Reactions for Functional Groups
Li, Jie Jack and E.J. Corey
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience 2007
UNI Stacks QD262 .N36 2007

Name Reactions in Heterocyclic Chemistry
Li, Jie Jack
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience 2005
UNI Reference QD400 .N34 2005

Name Reactions in Organic Chemistry
Surrey, Alexander Robert
New York : Academic Press 1961
UNI Reference QD73 .S8 1961

Named Organic Reactions
Denney, Ronald C.
New York : Plenum Press 1969
UNI Stacks QD291 .D44 1969

Named Organic Reactions
Laue, Thomas and Andreas Plagens
Chichester; New York : Wiley 1998
UNI Reference QD291 .L35 1998


 

SciFinder Scholar - Chemical Abstracts

  • SciFinder Scholar - Registration [69]  (Create a Username and Password)
    SciFinder Scholar is available on UNI Library computers as follows: click on “Start”, then “Programs”,
    then “SciFinder Sign In”, then enter your SciFinder username and password.

     
  • SciFinder How To Guides [70]

  • SciFinder Strategies [71]

  • SciFinder Guides [72]
     
  • SciFinder e-Seminars [73]

    [74]

 

 

Last updated: 18 May 2010
Angela Cox

Mailing Address & Telephone | Google Map | Diversity Matters | Privacy Statement | Admin Login | Staff Intranet
Copyright © 2010-2013, Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa. All rights reserved.
Maintained by Web Coordinator

Federal Depository Library iconFacebook iconPinterest iconTwitter iconYouTube iconSubscribe to this blog


Links:
[1] http://www.library.uni.edu/sites/default/files/instruction/chemistryresearchsurvivalkit.pdf
[2] http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/
[3] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://pubs.acs.org/search/advanced
[4] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://isiknowledge.com/BIOABS
[5] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTNiMTAmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=8553
[6] http://www.doaj.org/
[7] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://springerlink.metapress.com/home/main.mpx
[8] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.engineeringvillage2.com/
[9] http://www.library.uni.edu/../../../../..
[10] http://www.ndltd.org/serviceproviders/scirus-etd-search
[11] http://www.library.uni.edu/../../../../../gateway/xerxes/ui/databases/alphabetical%23P
[12] http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/
[13] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.rsc.org/Publishing/Journals/fjournalsearch.asp
[14] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.sciencedirect.com/
[15] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://isiknowledge.com/WOS
[16] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/
[17] http://unistar.uni.edu/search~S1/X
[18] http://books.google.com/advanced_book_search
[19] http://www.library.uni.edu
[20] http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/X
[21] http://mobius.missouri.edu/search/X
[22] http://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch
[23] http://bl-libg-doghill.ads.iu.edu/chem-web/databases/acronyms/index.php
[24] http://www.library.ubc.ca/scieng/coden.html
[25] http://portal.acs.org/
[26] http://www.organicdivision.org/index.html
[27] http://www.aiche.org/
[28] http://www.nsta.org/
[29] http://www.rsc.org/
[30] http://chem.sis.nlm.nih.gov/chemidplus/
[31] http://www.chemspider.com/
[32] http://www.emolecules.com/
[33] http://www.chm.bris.ac.uk/motm/motm.htm
[34] http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/
[35] http://www.colby.edu/chemistry/cmp/cmp.html
[36] http://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/search/compoundsearch.html
[37] http://www.reciprocalnet.org/edumodules/commonmolecules/index.html
[38] http://www.reciprocalnet.org/
[39] http://74.208.222.205/
[40] http://ie.lbl.gov/education/isotopes.htm
[41] http://www.chemdex.org/
[42] http://www.chemweb.com/
[43] http://electrochem.cwru.edu/estir/
[44] http://www.liv.ac.uk/Chemistry/Links/links.html
[45] http://www.organicworldwide.net/
[46] http://www.wiredchemist.com/
[47] http://www.chempensoftware.com/organicreactions.htm
[48] http://www.monomerchem.com/display4.html
[49] http://www.organic-chemistry.org/frames.htm?http://www.organic-chemistry.org/namedreactions/
[50] http://orgchem.chem.uconn.edu/namereact/named.html
[51] http://www.orgsyn.org/
[52] http://acswebcontent.acs.org/games/pt.html
[53] http://www.chem1.com/acad/webtext/atoms/
[54] http://www.ptable.com/
[55] http://www.periodicvideos.com
[56] http://www.rsc.org/chemsoc/visualelements/index.htm
[57] http://www.webelements.com/
[58] http://www.scirus.com/
[59] http://www.usm.maine.edu/~newton/Chy251_253/Download.html
[60] http://www.chem1.com/acad/webtext/virtualtextbook.html
[61] http://www.emolecules.com/doc/cheminformatics-101.php
[62] http://tigger.uic.edu/~magyar/Lab_Help/lghome.html
[63] http://www.chemtube3d.com/
[64] http://www.chemistry.ohio-state.edu/organic/flashcards/
[65] http://www.usm.maine.edu/~newton/Chy251_253/Topics.html
[66] http://www.chemguide.co.uk/orgmenu.html
[67] http://www.chem.ox.ac.uk/vrchemistry/
[68] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/eBooks?ste=22&docNum=CX3400999999&q=un_irodit
[69] http://www.library.uni.edu/library-instruction/subject-guides/scifinder-scholar-1
[70] http://www.cas.org/support/academic/sf/htg/index.html
[71] http://www.cas.org/support/scifi/strategies/
[72] http://www.cas.org/support/academic/index.html
[73] http://www.cas.org/support/academic/sf/eseminarlisting.html
[74] http://www.library.uni.edu/library-instruction/handouts/scifinder-scholar-tutorials