Rod Library

Display link URLs as footnotes


Home > Library Instruction > Subject Guides > Soil

Soil

Source URL: http://www.library.uni.edu/library-instruction/subject-guides/soil

  • Articles

  • Books

  • Government Documents
     
  • Internet Resources
     
  • Locating USDA Publications

  • Locating USGS Publications

  • Soil Surveys

  • Reference Resources (Print)

  • What’s Up in the Stacks -
    (Books on the Third & Fourth Floors)

Find Articles

  • Academic OneFile Index [1] (full text)
    [2]
  • Academic Search Elite [3] (EBSCO) (full text)
  • AGRICOLA [4] (agriculture)
    [5]
  • Biological Abstracts [6]
  • Engineering Village 2 [7]
  • GEOBASE [8] (physical geography)
  • Google Scholar [9]
  • HighWire Press [10] (some full text)
    [11]
  • ScienceDirect [12] (sciences) (full text)
    [7]
  • SpringerLink [13] (sciences) (full text)
  • Wiley InterScience [14] (full text)

 

Find Books

  • UNISTAR - The UNI Rod Library Catalog [15] - is used to locate the books, journals (but not articles), and sound and video recordings found in this library.
    [16]
  • Google Book Search [17] - Online books prior to 1923.  Partial view of recent books.
    (Set search to "Limited preview and full view")
  • HathiTrust Digital Library [18]
    (Set catalog serach to "Full view only").
  • OhioLink [19] and Mobius [20] - the shared catalogs of many libraries in Ohio and Missouri respectively, can be used to find books on botany not owned by the Rod Library. These systems will often search the titles of book chapters. If you find a book the library doesn't own - use Interlibrary Loan via UNISTAR [21].

  • WorldCat [22] - The catalog of catalogs!

 

Government Documents

Agricultural Irrigation and Water Use
UNI Documents A 1.75:638

Agricultural Statistics (1936 – present)
UNI Documents A 1.47: 936
Also -
http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1063 [23]

Climatological Data – Iowa
UNI Documents C55.214/14 1926 – 1998
Also -
http://www.weather.gov/view/states.php [24]

Geological Survey Professional Papers 
UNI Documents I 19:16:
Indexed at USGS Publications Warehouse
http://pubs.er.usgs.gov/
[25]Older publications indexed by the Guide to USGS Publications
UNI Reference QE 75 A11 G85 1996

Iowa Soil Regions
ftp://ftp-fc.sc.egov.usda.gov/IA/technical/soilregionsmap.pdf [26]

Soil Surveys of Iowa Counties
UNI Documents A 57:38:
Also -
http://soils.usda.gov/survey/online_surveys/iowa/ [27]

Soil Taxonomy (1975)
UNI Documents A 1.76:436

Soil Taxonomy (1999) (USDA)  pdf
http://soils.usda.gov/technical/classification/taxonomy/ [28]

U.S. Geological Survey Bulletin
UNI Documents I 19.13:

Weekly Weather and Crop Bulletin (current)
archives 1971-present
[29]

Yearbook of Agriculture - 1894 - 1993
UNI Documents A 1.10:
Yearbook of Agriculture
1894-1937 [30]  1938-1992 [31]
Continued by Agricultural Statistics Annual 1993-present [32]

There are over 1200 Government Documents in the Rod Library dealing with Soils!
To find these resources search
UNISTAR [33] and limit Location to UNI-Documents.
 

Locating U.S.G.S. Publications

Search the USGS Library Catalog - [34]http://library.usgs.gov [34]
[35]

USGS Publications Warehouse - [25] http://pubs.er.usgs.gov/ [25]
[25]

Try Google UncleSam - http://www.google.com/unclesam [36] --- use advanced search and set "Search within a site or domain" to particular agency - e.g. usgs.gov

 

Alternatively, limit Google searches to the specific agency web addresses using the "site" command.

e.g.   The web address of the U.S. Geological Survey is http://www.usda.gov [37]  

So to search documents on the paleosols within the USGS try the following Google Search:

                                    paleosols and site:usgs.gov

 

Locating U.S.D.A. Publications

Search the National Agriculture Library [4]

Try Google UncleSam - http://www.google.com/unclesam [36] --- use advanced search and set "Search within a site or domain" to particular agency - e.g. usda.gov

Alternatively, limit Google searches to the specific agency web addresses using the "site" command.

e.g.   The web address of the U.S. Department of Agriculture is http://www.usda.gov [38]

So to search documents on the "chernozem" within the USDA try the following Google Search:

                                    chernozem and site:usda.gov

 

Soil Surveys

Many soil surveys are available online:

      • Black Hawk County Soil Survey [39]  (2006)
      • Iowa Soil Surveys [27]
      • Soil Surveys by State [40]


The Rod Library has over 160 county soil surveys in print.  To locate a "soil survey" for a particular county search
UNISTAR [33] by Keyword using the phrase "soil survey" and the name of the county of interest.

e.g.   "soil survey" and Dubuque

Iowa County Soil Surveys are found in the Government Documents collection at A 57:38


[41]
For more options try the [41]Web Soil Survey [41]
   USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service
 

Internet Resources

Associations

Canadian Society of Soil Science [42]

International Permafrost Association [43]

Soil and Water Conservation Society [44]

Soil Science Society of America [45]

Bibliographies, Directories, and Search Engines

AGRICOLA [4]

Compendium of On-Line Soil Survey Information [46]
(compiled by D. G. Rossiter)

Scirus.com [47] (search engine for the sciences - use advanced search)

USGS Publications Warehouse [25] (use advanced search)

Dictionaries

Glossary of Soil Science Terms [48]
(Soil Science Society of America)

Iowa Resources

General Guide for Crop Nutrient and Limestone Recommendations in Iowa [49]
Iowa State University Extension

Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship [50]

Iowa Soil and Land Use [51]
Iowa State University Extension

Soil Management/Environment [52]
Iowa State Agronomy Extension
[50]

Soil Temperature Maps (4 inch) [53]
Iowa State Agronomy Extension
[51]

U.S.G.S. Iowa District [54]

National Resources

AGRICOLA National Agricultural Library [4]

Climatological Data – by State [55]
Univ. of Idaho Soil Science Division 

Keys to Soil Taxonomy [56]
(11th edition, 2010)
(USDA and Natural Resources Conservation Service)

National Resources Conservation Service - Soils [57]
(United States Department of Agriculture)
[58]

NSSC Soil Survey Laboratory:
[59]Soil Characterization Database

Soil Orders - The Twelve Soil Orders [60]
University of Idaho

Soil Texture [61]
Univ. of Florida Cooperative Extension Service

U.S. Drought Monitor [58]

International Resources

Canada – National Soil Database [62]

Global Soil Moisture Data Bank [63]
Rutgers University

ISRIC – International Soil Reference and Information Centre [64]
[63]

National Resources Conservation Service – World Soil Resources [65]
(United States Department of Agriculture)
[64]

Soil Landscapes of Canada [66]

 

Reference Resources (Print)

ASTM Standards – 2001
Volumes – 4.08 & 4.09 Soil and Rock

UNI Reference – TA 401.A653 2001 SECT. 4

Dictionary of Geotechnics
UNI Reference – TA706 .S65

Dictionary of Soil Mechanics
UNI Reference – TA706 .A15 .B37

Handbook of Agriculture
UNI Reference – S493 .Y88 1999
Index to the Handbook of Agriculture [67] (links to some in full text)
[67]

Principal Soils of Iowa
UNI Reference – S544.3 .I8 .I68

Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary
UNI Reference – S592 .S59 2001

Thesaurus of Rock and Soil Mechanics
UNI Reference – Z695.1 .R63 J45 1984


What's Up in the Stacks (Books on the Third and Fourth Floors)

Thousands of books on a wide array of soil topics can be found on the top two floors (third and fourth floors) of this library:

GB 641 – GB 648   Permafrost and Frozen Ground   over 20 books
         
S 589.8 - S 591   Potting Soils and General Soil Science   over 70 books
         
S 592 - S 595   Soil Surveys, Soil Classification,
Soil Physics, and Soil Chemistry
  over 110 books
         
S 596 - S 598   Soils and Crops   over 20 books
         
S 599   Soil Descriptions by Geographic Location   over  30 books
         
S 622 – S 627   Soil Conservation and Protection   over 70 books
         
S 631 – S 667   Fertilizers and the Improvement of the Soil   over 30 books
         
TA 710 – TA 787   Soil Mechanics, Earthwork and Foundations   over  70 books
         
TD 878 – TD 880   Soil Pollution and Soil Remediation   over  20 books

 
Floor maps
[68] of the Rod Library showing call number areas of Stacks.

Last Revised: 6/2/2010
Angela Cox
  • soil [69]
  • soils [70]

Mailing Address & Telephone | Google Map | Diversity Matters | Privacy Statement | Admin Login | Staff Intranet
Copyright © 2010-2013, Rod Library, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa. All rights reserved.
Maintained by Web Coordinator

Federal Depository Library iconFacebook iconPinterest iconTwitter iconYouTube iconSubscribe to this blog


Links:
[1] http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/academic-onefile
[2] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://web5.silverplatter.com/webspirs/start.ws?customer=c96252&databases=S(GE,NP,SJ)
[3] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://search.epnet.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=afh
[4] http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/
[5] http://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=n&D=wsat
[6] http://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://apps.isiknowledge.com/BIOABS_GeneralSearch_input.do?product=BIOABS&search_mode=GeneralSearch&SID=1DPLEJ6HekfhaG3LaOB&preferencesSaved=
[7] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.engineeringvillage2.com/
[8] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100144260;done=referer;dbname=GeoBase;FSIP
[9] http://scholar.google.com/
[10] http://highwire.stanford.edu/
[11] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://uni.library.ingentaconnect.com/
[12] http://www.library.uni.edu/gateway/owl/sciencedirect
[13] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www.springerlink.com/
[14] https://login.proxy.lib.uni.edu/login?url=http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/
[15] http://unistar.uni.edu/search%7ES1/X
[16] http://www.botanicus.org/
[17] http://books.google.com/advanced_book_search
[18] http://catalog.hathitrust.org/
[19] http://olc1.ohiolink.edu/search/X
[20] http://mobius.missouri.edu/search/X
[21] https://unistar.uni.edu/illb%7ES1
[22] http://www.worldcat.org/advancedsearch
[23] http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1063
[24] http://www.weather.gov/view/states.php
[25] http://pubs.er.usgs.gov/
[26] ftp://ftp-fc.sc.egov.usda.gov/IA/technical/soilregionsmap.pdf
[27] http://soils.usda.gov/survey/online_surveys/iowa/
[28] http://soils.usda.gov/technical/classification/taxonomy/
[29] http://www.usda.gov/oce/weather/pubs/Weekly/Wwcb/index.htm
[30] http://naldr.nal.usda.gov/Exe/ZyNET.exe?User=ANONYMOUS&Password=&Client=National+Agricultural+Library+Digital+Repository&SearchBack=ZyActionL&SortMethod=h&SortMethod=-&MaximumDocuments=10&Display=hpfr&ImageQuality=r105g16%2Fr105g16%2Fx150y150g16%2Fi600&DefSeekPage=f&ZyAction=ZyActionL%7C4&Toc=YOA1&TocEntry=%7C1&QField=&QFieldYear=&QFieldMonth=&QFieldDay=&UseQField=&IntQFieldOp=1&ExtQFieldOp=1&File=&SeekPage=&Back=ZyActionL%7C4&BackDesc=Contents+page&MaximumPages=1&ZyEntry=0&Query=&SearchMethod=1&Time=&Index=AH&Index=AH2&Index=AIB&Index=BIC&Index=Books&Index=Circ&Index=ERS&Index=FB&Index=FVMNR&Index=HGB&Index=JAR&Index=LFLT&Index=MP&Index=NFC&Index=ROS&Index=Rural&Index=TB&Index=TB1&Index=TB2&Index=USDA_Div_Bulletin&Index=WPC&Index=YOA1&Index=YOA2
[31] http://naldr.nal.usda.gov/Exe/ZyNET.exe?User=ANONYMOUS&Password=&Client=National+Agricultural+Library+Digital+Repository&SearchBack=ZyActionL&SortMethod=h&SortMethod=-&MaximumDocuments=10&Display=hpfr&ImageQuality=r105g16%2Fr105g16%2Fx150y150g16%2Fi600&DefSeekPage=f&ZyAction=ZyActionL%7C4&Toc=YOA2&TocEntry=%7C1&QField=&QFieldYear=&QFieldMonth=&QFieldDay=&UseQField=&IntQFieldOp=1&ExtQFieldOp=1&File=&SeekPage=&Back=ZyActionL%7C4&BackDesc=Contents+page&MaximumPages=1&ZyEntry=0&Query=&SearchMethod=1&Time=&Index=AH&Index=AH2&Index=AIB&Index=BIC&Index=Books&Index=Circ&Index=ERS&Index=FB&Index=FVMNR&Index=HGB&Index=JAR&Index=LFLT&Index=MP&Index=NFC&Index=ROS&Index=Rural&Index=TB&Index=TB1&Index=TB2&Index=USDA_Div_Bulletin&Index=WPC&Index=YOA1&Index=YOA2
[32] http://www.nass.usda.gov/Publications/Ag_Statistics/index.asp
[33] http://unistar.uni.edu/search~S1/X
[34] http://library.usgs.gov/
[35] http://infotrek.er.usgs.gov/pubs/
[36] http://www.google.com/unclesam
[37] http://www.usda.gov
[38] http://www.usda.gov/
[39] http://soildatamart.nrcs.usda.gov/Manuscripts/IA013/0/BlackHawk_IA.pdf
[40] http://soils.usda.gov/survey/printed_surveys/
[41] http://websoilsurvey.nrcs.usda.gov/app/HomePage.htm
[42] http://www.csss.ca/
[43] http://ipa.arcticportal.org/
[44] http://www.swcs.org/
[45] https://www.soils.org/
[46] http://www.itc.nl/~rossiter/research/rsrch_ss_sources.html
[47] http://www.scirus.com/
[48] https://www.soils.org/publications/soils-glossary
[49] http://www.extension.iastate.edu/Publications/PM1688.pdf
[50] http://www.agriculture.state.ia.us/
[51] http://extension.agron.iastate.edu/soils/
[52] http://www.agronext.iastate.edu/smse/
[53] http://extension.agron.iastate.edu/NPKnowledge/soiltemphistory.html
[54] http://ia.water.usgs.gov/
[55] http://www.ncdc.noaa.gov/oa/pdfs/cd.html
[56] http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS75385
[57] http://soils.usda.gov/
[58] http://www.drought.unl.edu/dm/monitor.html
[59] http://ssldata.nrcs.usda.gov/
[60] http://soils.cals.uidaho.edu/soilorders/orders.htm
[61] http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/SS169
[62] http://sis.agr.gc.ca/cansis/nsdb/intro.html
[63] http://climate.envsci.rutgers.edu/soil_moisture/index.html
[64] http://www.isric.org/
[65] http://soils.usda.gov/use/worldsoils/
[66] http://sis.agr.gc.ca/cansis/nsdb/slc/intro.html
[67] http://www.nal.usda.gov/ref/USDApubs/aghandbk.htm
[68] http://www.library.uni.edu/about-us/hours-maps/floor-maps
[69] http://www.library.uni.edu/category/tags/soil
[70] http://www.library.uni.edu/category/tags/soils